The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer

Going Postal (Discworld Novels)

by

Going Postal (Discworld Novels) Cover

ISBN13: 9780060502935
ISBN10: 0060502932
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $5.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Suddenly, condemned arch-swindler Moist von Lipwig found himself with a noose around his neck and dropping through a trapdoor into...a government job?

By all rights, Moist should be meeting his maker rather than being offered a position as Postmaster by Lord Vetinari, supreme ruler of Ankh-Morpork. Getting the moribund Postal Service up and running again, however, may prove an impossible task, what with literally mountains of decades-old undelivered mail clogging every nook and cranny of the broken-down post office. Worse still, Moist could swear the mail is talking to him. Worst of all, it means taking on the gargantuan, greedy Grand Trunk clacks communication monopoly and its bloodthirsty piratical headman. But if the bold and undoable are what's called for, Moist's the man for the job — to move the mail, continue breathing, get the girl, and specially deliver that invaluable commodity that every being, human or otherwise, requires: hope.

Review:

"British fantasist Pratchett's latest special-delivery delight, set in his wonderfully crazed city of Ankh-Morpork, hilariously reflects the plight of post offices the world over as they struggle to compete in an era when e-mail has stolen much of the glamour from the postal trade. Soon after Moist von Lipwig (aka Alfred Spangler), Pratchett's not-quite-hapless, accidental hero, barely avoids hanging, Lord Havelock Vetinari, the despotic but pretty cool ruler of Ankh-Morpork, makes him a job offer he can't refuse — postmaster general of the Ankh-Morpork Post Office. The post office hasn't been open for 20 years since the advent of the Internet-like clacks communication system. Moist's first impulse is to try to escape, but Mr. Pump, his golem parole officer, quickly catches him. Moist must then deal with the musty mounds of undelivered mail that fill every room of the decaying Post Office building maintained by ancient and smelly Junior Postman Groat and his callow assistant, Apprentice Postman Stanley. The place is also haunted by dead postmen and guarded by Mr. Tiddles, a crafty cat. Readers will cheer Moist on as he eventually finds himself in a race with the dysfunctional clacks system to see whose message can be delivered first. Thanks to the timely subject matter and Pratchett's effervescent wit, this 29th Discworld novel (after 2003's Monstrous Regiment) may capture more of the American audience he deserves. Agent, Ralph M. Vicinanza. (On sale Sept. 28) Forecast: Despite sales of more than 35 million copies of his books worldwide, Pratchett has yet to become a U.S. bestseller. This one may finally break him out of category." Publishers Weekly (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"[A] deeply satisfying comedy about a man sent to a fate worse than death: the post office....Sharp-edged humor — and wonderfully executed." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Instead of revisiting old characters, Pratchett again takes on the task of further rounding out his already beautifully imagined Discworld, doing it with his usual blending of good laughs and unexpected depths." Booklist

Review:

"The author's inventiveness seems to know no end, his playful and irreverent use of language is a delight, and there is food for thought in his parody of fantasyland....[A] surefire hit for fans of Douglas Adams and Monty Python." School Library Journal

Review:

"The incredibly prolific Pratchett does it again....This novel will be greedily welcomed by Pratchett fans and should garner new ones." VOYA

Review:

"It is guided by a conscience, and, despite the fact that it moves quite rapidly and very deviously, the novel never loses its way. Going Postal is a truly Dickensian novel for our dizzyingly paced Information Age." Dallas Morning News

Review:

"Going Postal may be Terry Pratchett's most ingenious fictional invention yet. His satiric wit is honed to a fine edge..." BookReporter.com

Synopsis:

The newest entry in Pratchett's internationally bestselling series is a splendid send-up of government, the postal system, and everything that lies in between.

Synopsis:

Arch-swindler Moist Van Lipwig never believed his confidence crimes were hanging offenses — until he found himself with a noose tightly around his neck, dropping through a trapdoor, and falling into...a government job?

About the Author

With sales of over 40 million copies, Terry Pratchett's brilliantly funny and subtly wise books have been translated into more than 33 languages.

In addition to his novels about the fantastic flat planet Discworld, Mr. Pratchett has written several children's books, including the Bromeliad Trilogy and the books about Johnny Maxwell: Only You Can Save Mankind, Johnny and the Bomb, and Johnny and the Dead.

Mr. Pratchett won the Carnegie Medal for his first young adult novel set in Discworld, The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents, which was also named an ALA Best Book for Young Adults, one of the New York Public Library's 100 Books for Reading and Sharing, and a Bank Street College Children's Book Committee Book of Outstanding Merit.

Mr. Pratchett lives in the English chalk country.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

jacksoboy2, January 15, 2010 (view all comments by jacksoboy2)
This was the first discworld I read and it was fantastic! Pratchett "drops" into the shoes of trickster Moist von Lipwig as he suddenly finds himself in a government job, running the post office in the wonderful city of ankh-morpork. The best fantasy book I have read in my life!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
Anne Anderson, January 2, 2010 (view all comments by Anne Anderson)
Another brilliant satire from Terry Pratchett. Also a good primer on political maneuverng, a management tutorial and just funny, funny, funny!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
crowyhead, October 23, 2007 (view all comments by crowyhead)
A very funny account of what happens when the Ankh-Morpork postal service is revived by a known felon (well, known to some people). It was completely enjoyable and, as usual, made me cackle out loud a good many times.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(6 of 10 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060502935
Author:
Pratchett, Terry
Publisher:
HarperTorch
Author:
by Terry Pratchett
Subject:
Humorous
Subject:
Civil Service
Subject:
Postal service
Subject:
Fantasy - General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Fantasy fiction
Subject:
Satire
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-Fantasy
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass Market PB
Series:
Discworld Novels
Series Volume:
33
Publication Date:
September 2005
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
6.74x4.26x1.10 in. .44 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Good omens
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  2. The Golden Compass: His Dark...
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  3. Twilight (Twilight Saga #1)
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  4. Smoke and Mirrors: Short Fictions...
    Used Mass Market $5.50
  5. Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  6. The Other Wind Used Mass Market $4.95

Related Subjects

» Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
» Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
» Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » General

Going Postal (Discworld Novels) Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 416 pages HarperTorch - English 9780060502935 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "British fantasist Pratchett's latest special-delivery delight, set in his wonderfully crazed city of Ankh-Morpork, hilariously reflects the plight of post offices the world over as they struggle to compete in an era when e-mail has stolen much of the glamour from the postal trade. Soon after Moist von Lipwig (aka Alfred Spangler), Pratchett's not-quite-hapless, accidental hero, barely avoids hanging, Lord Havelock Vetinari, the despotic but pretty cool ruler of Ankh-Morpork, makes him a job offer he can't refuse — postmaster general of the Ankh-Morpork Post Office. The post office hasn't been open for 20 years since the advent of the Internet-like clacks communication system. Moist's first impulse is to try to escape, but Mr. Pump, his golem parole officer, quickly catches him. Moist must then deal with the musty mounds of undelivered mail that fill every room of the decaying Post Office building maintained by ancient and smelly Junior Postman Groat and his callow assistant, Apprentice Postman Stanley. The place is also haunted by dead postmen and guarded by Mr. Tiddles, a crafty cat. Readers will cheer Moist on as he eventually finds himself in a race with the dysfunctional clacks system to see whose message can be delivered first. Thanks to the timely subject matter and Pratchett's effervescent wit, this 29th Discworld novel (after 2003's Monstrous Regiment) may capture more of the American audience he deserves. Agent, Ralph M. Vicinanza. (On sale Sept. 28) Forecast: Despite sales of more than 35 million copies of his books worldwide, Pratchett has yet to become a U.S. bestseller. This one may finally break him out of category." Publishers Weekly (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "[A] deeply satisfying comedy about a man sent to a fate worse than death: the post office....Sharp-edged humor — and wonderfully executed."
"Review" by , "Instead of revisiting old characters, Pratchett again takes on the task of further rounding out his already beautifully imagined Discworld, doing it with his usual blending of good laughs and unexpected depths."
"Review" by , "The author's inventiveness seems to know no end, his playful and irreverent use of language is a delight, and there is food for thought in his parody of fantasyland....[A] surefire hit for fans of Douglas Adams and Monty Python."
"Review" by , "The incredibly prolific Pratchett does it again....This novel will be greedily welcomed by Pratchett fans and should garner new ones."
"Review" by , "It is guided by a conscience, and, despite the fact that it moves quite rapidly and very deviously, the novel never loses its way. Going Postal is a truly Dickensian novel for our dizzyingly paced Information Age."
"Review" by , "Going Postal may be Terry Pratchett's most ingenious fictional invention yet. His satiric wit is honed to a fine edge..."
"Synopsis" by , The newest entry in Pratchett's internationally bestselling series is a splendid send-up of government, the postal system, and everything that lies in between.
"Synopsis" by , Arch-swindler Moist Van Lipwig never believed his confidence crimes were hanging offenses — until he found himself with a noose tightly around his neck, dropping through a trapdoor, and falling into...a government job?
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.