Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | November 28, 2014

    Eleanor Catton: IMG Eleanor Catton: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Humor- Narrative
1 Local Warehouse Humor- Narrative

Why I'm Like This: True Stories

by

Why I'm Like This: True Stories Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"I wonder if there is any way I can tell this story and have it seem like I did it in the name of those dolphins that get caught in the tuna nets."

Meet Cynthia Kaplan, whose debut collection of personal stories is so much fun to read because of her complete and utter willingness to tell the God's honest truth.

And it isn't pretty.

Kaplan takes us on a hilarious and sometimes heartbreaking journey through her unique, uncensored world, from her first bungled romantic encounters (No, really, what was I supposed to do?) to her terrifying tropical honeymoon. From her first, unsung theatrical experiences at summer camp (I opened the script and saw that I had only one line for the entire first half of the play, and that line consisted of one word, wawa) to a starring role in an independent film (Two months after the film screens in New York, my father-in-law passes away...and it is intimated to me more than once that seeing me locked in an erotic embrace with a black woman hastened his decline).

We also meet Kaplan's family, almost lovingly rendered in her razor-sharp prose: Her gadget-obsessed father; her mother, who, if you should want to know, is Fine; her eccentric Florida grandmother (I want you to have this. And this. One day. When I'm dead); her New York grandmother, with whom she discovers she shares an innate sense of spite (Seething is something one can reasonably do for a lifetime, if one is so inclined); her fearless husband, whom she engages in an ongoing battle over which of them is the most popular person in their apartment; and finally, her vengeful, power-hungry, one-year-old son.

Kaplan has a wonderfully original voice, almost painfully precise, and yet, it's a lot like the one in our heads, the one that most of us are only willing to listen to late at night, in the dark, maybe locked in a closet. So what a relief it is that someone finally admits that she is afraid of nearly everything under the sun, including moths; that she is jealous even of people whose lives are on the verge of collapse; and that she has, at times, tried to pass for a gentile (I didn't like carrying the burden of two thousand years of persecution around while everyone else looked so fancy free.)

After reading Why I'm Like This, you might just take a good look at your life, (or at the life of a truffle pig, as Kaplan does), and realize that even though it's not perfect, it's yours, and that's something.

Review:

"Kaplan consistently amuses while cutting surprisingly deep." Booklist

Review:

"A fresh voice with a bright future." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"One of downtown's coolest actors...you'll laugh until you can't breathe." Time Out New York

Review:

"Cynthia Kaplan is very funny. These piece are very, very funny." Laura Zigman, author of Animal Husbandry and Her

Review:

"Why I'm Like This is an impressive debut and Kaplan has a wonderfully natural comedic style." Detroit Free Press

Review:

"When Kaplan is funny, she's very funny....Well worth reading." New Orleans Times-Picayune

Review:

"Quick?witted, neatly written and unapologetically grandiose..in the spirit of Dorothy Parker...[Kaplan] renders weird and rowdy scenarios with style." New York Times Book Review

Review:

"This is a charming collection of essays in the spirit of David Sedaris..." John Searles, The Early Show on CBS

Review:

"Why I'm Like This is a collection of personal essays that are as funny as they are poignant." Paper Magazine

Review:

"Knee-slapping hilarious...Fans of David Sedaris or Anne Lamott will appreciate [Kaplan's] quirky way of looking at life's intricacies." USA Today

Review:

"Funny, sweet, weirdly life-affirming and painfully true..." Jerry Stahl, author of Permanent Midnight

Review:

"Cynthia Kaplan's gift is her ability to take on life's absurdities and come out a winner." Debra Ginsberg, author of Waiting and Raising Blaze

Synopsis:

Comprised of 21 autobiographical tales, Why I'm Like This begins with a hilarious send-up of Kaplan's last year at "Queechy Lake Camp" and ends with a tour-de-force about the cruelly unfufilled life of the truffle pig.

Synopsis:

Cynthia Kaplan takes us on a hilarious and sometimes heartbreaking journey through her unique, uncensored world — her bungled romantic encounters and unsung theatrical experiences; her gadget-obsessed father and her mother, who, if you should want to know, is fine; her pill-popping therapist, eccentric grandmothers, and fearless husband, whom she engages in an ongoing battle over which of them is the most popular person in their apartment; and, of course, her vengeful, power-hungry, one-year-old son.

Kaplan's voice is a lot like the one in our heads — the one that most of us are only willing to listen to late at night . . . maybe while locked in a closet. What a relief it is that someone finally admits that she is afraid of nearly everything; that she is jealous even of people whose lives are on the verge of collapse; and that she has, at times, tried to pass for a gentile.

About the Author

Cynthia Kaplan is a writer and an actress. She lives in New York City with her husband and son.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060512613
Author:
Kaplan, Cynthia
Publisher:
HarpPeren
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Women
Subject:
Topic - Family
Subject:
Entertainers
Subject:
General Biography
Edition Number:
1st Perennial ed.
Edition Description:
TradePB
Series Volume:
3603
Publication Date:
20030603
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
5 5/16 x 8

Other books you might like

  1. We Thought You Would Be Prettier:... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  2. The Lace Reader
    Used Hardcover $2.95
  3. Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff,...
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  4. 1000 Recordings to Hear Before You Die
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  5. The Curious Incident of the Dog in... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  6. The Elegant Gathering of White Snows
    Used Trade Paper $0.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Narrative
Biography » Women
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Memoirs

Why I'm Like This: True Stories Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Perennial - English 9780060512613 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Kaplan consistently amuses while cutting surprisingly deep."
"Review" by , "A fresh voice with a bright future."
"Review" by , "One of downtown's coolest actors...you'll laugh until you can't breathe."
"Review" by , "Cynthia Kaplan is very funny. These piece are very, very funny."
"Review" by , "Why I'm Like This is an impressive debut and Kaplan has a wonderfully natural comedic style."
"Review" by , "When Kaplan is funny, she's very funny....Well worth reading."
"Review" by , "Quick?witted, neatly written and unapologetically grandiose..in the spirit of Dorothy Parker...[Kaplan] renders weird and rowdy scenarios with style."
"Review" by , "This is a charming collection of essays in the spirit of David Sedaris..."
"Review" by , "Why I'm Like This is a collection of personal essays that are as funny as they are poignant."
"Review" by , "Knee-slapping hilarious...Fans of David Sedaris or Anne Lamott will appreciate [Kaplan's] quirky way of looking at life's intricacies."
"Review" by , "Funny, sweet, weirdly life-affirming and painfully true..."
"Review" by , "Cynthia Kaplan's gift is her ability to take on life's absurdities and come out a winner."
"Synopsis" by , Comprised of 21 autobiographical tales, Why I'm Like This begins with a hilarious send-up of Kaplan's last year at "Queechy Lake Camp" and ends with a tour-de-force about the cruelly unfufilled life of the truffle pig.
"Synopsis" by , Cynthia Kaplan takes us on a hilarious and sometimes heartbreaking journey through her unique, uncensored world — her bungled romantic encounters and unsung theatrical experiences; her gadget-obsessed father and her mother, who, if you should want to know, is fine; her pill-popping therapist, eccentric grandmothers, and fearless husband, whom she engages in an ongoing battle over which of them is the most popular person in their apartment; and, of course, her vengeful, power-hungry, one-year-old son.

Kaplan's voice is a lot like the one in our heads — the one that most of us are only willing to listen to late at night . . . maybe while locked in a closet. What a relief it is that someone finally admits that she is afraid of nearly everything; that she is jealous even of people whose lives are on the verge of collapse; and that she has, at times, tried to pass for a gentile.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.