Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Brian Doyle: IMG The Rude Burl of Our Masks



One day when I was 12 years old and setting off on my newspaper route after school my mom said will you stop at the doctor's and pick up something... Continue »
  1. $13.27 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Children and Other Wild Animals

    Brian Doyle 9780870717543

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $6.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
5 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General
4 Hawthorne Children's Middle Readers- General
3 Local Warehouse Children's Middle Readers- General

Warriors Series: Fire and Ice (Warriors #02)

by

Warriors Series: Fire and Ice (Warriors #02) Cover

ISBN13: 9780060525590
ISBN10: 0060525592
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The powerful second book in this epic series continues the saga of the ferocious Thunderclan. Firepaw has been promoted, and is now Fireheart, a full-fledged warrior cat — but trouble still lurks in the forest. The balance of power between the clans remains fragile, and a fierce battle seems inevitable. In the midst of this turmoil, Fireheart must confront new questions of loyalty and identity, as he faces the possibility of betrayal from within his own clan.

Review:

"Characters remain true to their feline natures, adding to the plausibility of events in this tension-filled story. Readers will be happy to learn that another episode is in the works." Booklist

Review:

"[A] fast-paced animal adventure....Recommend this series to fans of animal fantasies such as Redwall and Dark Portal." VOYA

Review:

"Hunter ratchets up the tension....With enough backstory for newcomers to find their way, established fans will be on edge for the next title." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"The characterizations of the animals are somewhat flat, although it is possible to tell them apart, and the plot's twists and turns seem mapped out and predictable." School Library Journal

Review:

"The story is flat, repetitious, much too long, and in the end unsatisfying except perhaps to devoted cat lovers or readers who revel in invented worlds." Children's Literature

Synopsis:

Fireheart is a ThunderClan warrior cat now, but danger still lurks in the forest — and possibly closer than he thinks. With the chill of winter setting in, the cats of rival RiverClan are growing restless, while WindClan is weak and facing threats from all sides.

As tensions build to an explosive climax, Fireheart faces not only imminent battle, but betrayal from within his own Clan.

Synopsis:

For fans of Nancy Farmer and Lloyd Alexander comes international bestselling author Michelle Pavers second novel in the Bronze Age adventure series.

 

While searching for his kidnapped sister, Outsider Hylas takes a dangerous detour when hes captured as a slave and sent to the copper mines of Thalakrea. Hylas faces brutal overseers and lethal cave-ins while evading his enemies, the Crows. With the aid of an orphaned lion cub and his friend Pirra, Hylas must escape the mines and shatter the power of the Crows for good. But the prophecy is still at work and Hylas cannot escape its grasp, especially when the anger of the oldest god is awakened.

About the Author

Erin Hunter is inspired by a love of cats and a fascination with the ferocity of the natural world. As well as having a great respect for nature in all its forms, Erin enjoys creating rich mythical explanations for animal behavior, shaped by her interest in astrology and standing stones.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 6 comments:

Daylight4449, December 29, 2008 (view all comments by Daylight4449)
This book is very good! The series is great for any cat lover. The dialogue uses cat language; hissed, growled, purred instead of using words like said angrily, talked, etc. You are dropped into a world of four cat clans in the forest. Their rivalries over territories and customs. It is written in the eyes of Fireheart a Thunder Clan warrior.The fighting scenes are very descriptive. I hate it when the fights scenes do not conclude with the chapter. I HAVE TO read more....
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)
cloudkit, July 5, 2008 (view all comments by cloudkit)
whats up?Are you going to read fire and ice to?Well you should!Know why,because its.................
Awsome!well,bye im going too go read it again!yah lets read!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)
Leafpelt, May 14, 2008 (view all comments by Leafpelt)
this a really great book but not the best. erin hunter should never stop righting now whos with me on that opinion.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(7 of 10 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 6 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060525590
Author:
Hunter, Erin
Publisher:
Avon Books
Author:
Hunter, Erin W.
Author:
Hunter, Erin L.
Author:
Hunter, Erin
Author:
Richardson, Owen
Author:
by Erin Hunter
Author:
Stevenson, Dave
Author:
Paver, Michelle
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - Fantasy
Subject:
Animals - Cats
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Cats
Subject:
Fantasy
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Copyright:
Edition Number:
Reprint ed.
Edition Description:
Paperback
Series:
Gods and Warriors
Series Volume:
02
Publication Date:
June 2004
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 5
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
10-14

Other books you might like

  1. Warriors: The New Prophecy #4:...
    Used Hardcover $3.95
  2. Warriors Series: Into the Wild...
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  3. Warriors: The New Prophecy #3: Dawn...
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  4. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows...
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  5. Deptford Histories #02: Oaken Throne Used Hardcover $5.95
  6. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Animals » Cats
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Series
Young Adult » General

Warriors Series: Fire and Ice (Warriors #02) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Avon Books - English 9780060525590 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Characters remain true to their feline natures, adding to the plausibility of events in this tension-filled story. Readers will be happy to learn that another episode is in the works."
"Review" by , "[A] fast-paced animal adventure....Recommend this series to fans of animal fantasies such as Redwall and Dark Portal."
"Review" by , "Hunter ratchets up the tension....With enough backstory for newcomers to find their way, established fans will be on edge for the next title."
"Review" by , "The characterizations of the animals are somewhat flat, although it is possible to tell them apart, and the plot's twists and turns seem mapped out and predictable."
"Review" by , "The story is flat, repetitious, much too long, and in the end unsatisfying except perhaps to devoted cat lovers or readers who revel in invented worlds."
"Synopsis" by , Fireheart is a ThunderClan warrior cat now, but danger still lurks in the forest — and possibly closer than he thinks. With the chill of winter setting in, the cats of rival RiverClan are growing restless, while WindClan is weak and facing threats from all sides.

As tensions build to an explosive climax, Fireheart faces not only imminent battle, but betrayal from within his own Clan.

"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Nancy Farmer and Lloyd Alexander comes international bestselling author Michelle Pavers second novel in the Bronze Age adventure series.

 

While searching for his kidnapped sister, Outsider Hylas takes a dangerous detour when hes captured as a slave and sent to the copper mines of Thalakrea. Hylas faces brutal overseers and lethal cave-ins while evading his enemies, the Crows. With the aid of an orphaned lion cub and his friend Pirra, Hylas must escape the mines and shatter the power of the Crows for good. But the prophecy is still at work and Hylas cannot escape its grasp, especially when the anger of the oldest god is awakened.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.