Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
List price: $9.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General

13 Little Blue Envelopes

by

13 Little Blue Envelopes Cover

ISBN13: 9780060541439
ISBN10: 0060541431
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Inside little blue envelope 1 are $1,000 and instructions to buy a plane ticket.

In envelope 2 are directions to a specific London flat.

The note in envelope 3 tells Ginny: Find a starving artist.

Because of envelope 4, Ginny and a playwright/thief/bloke-about-town called Keith go to Scotland together, with somewhat disastrous — though utterly romantic — results. But will she ever see him again?

Everything about Ginny will change this summer, and it's all because of the 13 little blue envelopes.

Review:

"This is a girl's book....Boys will find the males in the story a bit silly, but girls will find it delightful." Children's Literature

Review:

"As she comes to the last of the letters, Ginny has grown from the shy teenager she was to one who is more independent, more invested in the life around her." KLIATT

Review:

"[T]he novel drives home the importance of family, love, and the value of connections that you make with people. It is a quick read that will interest high school girls." School Library Journal

Review:

"Johnson's writing is sophisticated and humorous, her characterizations pitch perfect." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

From the acclaimed author of The Key to the Golden Firebird. When Ginny receives 13 little blue envelopes with instructions to buy a plane ticket to London, she's soon on an adventure that will change her in more ways than one.

Synopsis:

An all-day scavenger hunt in the name of eternal small-town glory

With only a week until graduation, there's one last thing Mary and her friends must do together: participate in the Oyster Point High Official Unofficial Senior Week Scavenger Hunt. And Mary is determined to win.

Mary lost her spot at Georgetown to self-professed "it" bully Jake Barbone, and she's not about to lose again. But everyone is racing for the finish line with complicated motives, and the team's all-night adventure becomes all-night drama as shifting alliances, flared tempers, and crushing crushes take over. As the items and points pile up, Mary and her team must reinvent their strategy--and themselves--in order to win.

Synopsis:

A dying teen learns to live in this heart-wrenching debut, perfect for fans of If I Stay

Campbell Cooper has never been in love. And if the doctors are right, she'll never have the chance. So when she's told she needs a miracle, her family moves 1,500 miles north to Promise, Maine--a place where amazing, unexplainable events are said to occur--like it or not. And when a mysterious envelope arrives, containing a list of things for Cam to do before she dies, she finally learns to believe--in love, in herself, and maybe even in miracles, as improbable as they may seem.

About the Author

Maureen Johnson is the author of The Key to the Golden Firebird, 13 Little Blue Envelopes, The Bermudez Triangle, and Devilish. She lives in New York City.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 8 comments:

cortneynicole, August 4, 2012 (view all comments by cortneynicole)
Possibly the best teen novel I have ever picked up! It is very eventful and inspiring. I would recommend this novel to any girl that enjoys reading.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
auntiesash, September 1, 2011 (view all comments by auntiesash)
I'm a big fan of young adult fiction and this is a great example of why! Characters that I cared about. Adventures that I coveted. Beautiful language and dialogue that didn't distract me by its beauty. I was delightfully surprised, after reading the book, to find that there was a sequel.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
bookgirl94, June 13, 2011 (view all comments by bookgirl94)
I had a lot of fun reading this. It's a great summery fun read with a fun story line and good characters.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 8 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060541439
Author:
Johnson, Maureen
Publisher:
HarperTeen
Author:
by Maureen Johnson
Author:
Wunder, Wendy
Author:
Altebrando, Tara
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Artists
Subject:
Grief
Subject:
Social Issues - Adolescence
Subject:
Social Issues - General
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Europe
Subject:
Voyages and travels
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-General
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Situations / Emotions & Feelings
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20101221
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
None
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
12-17

Other books you might like

  1. Poison Used Hardcover $4.95
  2. Confessions of a Not It Girl
    Used Hardcover $1.48
  3. Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception... Used Hardcover $2.50
  4. Frostbite (Vampire Academy Series)
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  5. If I Have a Wicked Stepmother,...
    Used Hardcover $1.50
  6. Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident Used Book Club Paperback $2.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Situations » General
Young Adult » General

13 Little Blue Envelopes Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 368 pages HarperCollins Publishers - English 9780060541439 Reviews:
"Review" by , "This is a girl's book....Boys will find the males in the story a bit silly, but girls will find it delightful."
"Review" by , "As she comes to the last of the letters, Ginny has grown from the shy teenager she was to one who is more independent, more invested in the life around her."
"Review" by , "[T]he novel drives home the importance of family, love, and the value of connections that you make with people. It is a quick read that will interest high school girls."
"Review" by , "Johnson's writing is sophisticated and humorous, her characterizations pitch perfect."
"Synopsis" by , From the acclaimed author of The Key to the Golden Firebird. When Ginny receives 13 little blue envelopes with instructions to buy a plane ticket to London, she's soon on an adventure that will change her in more ways than one.
"Synopsis" by ,
An all-day scavenger hunt in the name of eternal small-town glory

With only a week until graduation, there's one last thing Mary and her friends must do together: participate in the Oyster Point High Official Unofficial Senior Week Scavenger Hunt. And Mary is determined to win.

Mary lost her spot at Georgetown to self-professed "it" bully Jake Barbone, and she's not about to lose again. But everyone is racing for the finish line with complicated motives, and the team's all-night adventure becomes all-night drama as shifting alliances, flared tempers, and crushing crushes take over. As the items and points pile up, Mary and her team must reinvent their strategy--and themselves--in order to win.

"Synopsis" by ,
A dying teen learns to live in this heart-wrenching debut, perfect for fans of If I Stay

Campbell Cooper has never been in love. And if the doctors are right, she'll never have the chance. So when she's told she needs a miracle, her family moves 1,500 miles north to Promise, Maine--a place where amazing, unexplainable events are said to occur--like it or not. And when a mysterious envelope arrives, containing a list of things for Cam to do before she dies, she finally learns to believe--in love, in herself, and maybe even in miracles, as improbable as they may seem.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.