Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 21, 2014

Richard Bausch: IMG Why Literature Can Save Us



Our title is, of course, a problem. "Why Literature Can Save Us." And of course the problem is one of definition: what those words mean. What is... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Before, During, After

    Richard Bausch 9780307266262

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

The Cure: How a Father Raised $100 Million -- And Bucked the Medical Establishment -- In a Quest to Save His Children

by

The Cure: How a Father Raised $100 Million -- And Bucked the Medical Establishment -- In a Quest to Save His Children Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The remarkable true story of one father's race against time to found a business that would cure his sick children.

John and Aileen Crowley were on top of the world. With a brand-new Harvard Business School degree, three beautiful children, a new house, and a great job, they thought that they had just entered the best years of life. Then doctors diagnosed their two youngest children with Pompe disease, and everything changed.

Fifteen-month-old Megan and five-month-old Patrick were given only months to live. Pompe disease, the Crowleys were told, was so rare that no company had bothered spending the money needed to sponsor research. There was no cure, no treatment — only the gradual degeneration of muscle so that at the end, the children would be unable to walk, eat, or even breathe on their own. It was a nightmare the Crowleys could hardly comprehend.

But John Crowley refused to accept this death sentence — and in the absence of other options, he made his own. Determined to find scientists who could develop a replacement enzyme that would keep the disease at bay and his children alive, Crowley quit his job as a financial consultant and invested himself and his life savings in a biotechnology start-up company. In just over a year, Novazyme Pharmaceuticals, Inc., went from an endowment of $37,000 to $27 million, and was sold to Genzyme Corp. soon thereafter for a news-breaking $137.5 million. But the struggle wasn't over yet, and scientific setbacks, accusations of conflict of interest, business troubles, and the children's own worsening condition would test the limits of John and Aileen's minds and hearts as they fought towards a cure.

With deft prose and devastating clarity, Pulitzer Prize-winning Wall Street Journal reporter Geeta Anand weaves together the disparate threads of this remarkable story of cutting-edge science; of business acumen and daring; and of the indomitable fighting spirit of a family that refuses to give in.

Heart-wrenching yet triumphant, The Cure takes readers from the boardrooms and laboratories to hospital beds and kindergarten classrooms. With its captivating and ultimately deeply uplifting narrative, The Cure is a wholly American story of commerce and technology, of determination and daring, and of family and the power of a belief in happy endings.

Review:

"Anand...delivers a detailed and heart-wrenching account of a father's extraordinary efforts to save his children and find a cure for a debilitating and life-threatening disease." Booklist

Review:

"[A] well-researched, skillfully written, and inspiring account....Anand has written an inspirational story about business, medical science, and one father's refusal to give up hope." Boston Globe

Synopsis:

“Amazing….Explores human courage under the most trying circumstances.” —New York Post

 

“An inspirational story about business, medical science, and one fathers refusal to give up hope.” —Boston Globe

 

The book that inspired the movie, Extraordinary Measures, starring Harrison Ford, Brendan Fraser, and Keri Russell, The Cure by Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Geeta Anand is the remarkable true story of one fathers determination to find a cure for his terminally sick children even if it meant he had to build a business from scratch to do so. At once a riveting story of the birth of an enterprise—ala Tracy Kidders The Soul of a New Machine—and a inspiring tale of the indomitable human spirit in the vein of Erin Brockovich and A Civil Action, The Cure is a testament to ingenuity, unflagging will, and unconquerable love.

About the Author

Bombay-born Geeta Anand is a Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative reporter and feature writer for the Wall Street Journal. Formerly a political reporter for the Boston Globe, she now specializes in health and biotechnology. She lives in Manhattan with her husband and two young daughters.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060734398
Subtitle:
How a Father Raised $100 Million--And Bucked the Medical Establishment--In a Quest to Save His Children
Publisher:
William Morrow
Author:
Anand, Geeta
Author:
by Geeta Anand
Author:
by Geeta Anand
Subject:
General
Subject:
Treatment
Subject:
Children with Special Needs
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Glycogen storage disease type II
Subject:
General Business & Economics
Subject:
Crowley, John
Subject:
Glycogen storage disease type II - Treatment
Subject:
Medical - General
Subject:
Business
Subject:
Diseases - Genetic
Subject:
Biography/Medical
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20060829
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.16252 in 22.4 oz

Related Subjects


Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Politics of Health Care

The Cure: How a Father Raised $100 Million -- And Bucked the Medical Establishment -- In a Quest to Save His Children
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 352 pages William Morrow & Company - English 9780060734398 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Anand...delivers a detailed and heart-wrenching account of a father's extraordinary efforts to save his children and find a cure for a debilitating and life-threatening disease."
"Review" by , "[A] well-researched, skillfully written, and inspiring account....Anand has written an inspirational story about business, medical science, and one father's refusal to give up hope."
"Synopsis" by ,

“Amazing….Explores human courage under the most trying circumstances.” —New York Post

 

“An inspirational story about business, medical science, and one fathers refusal to give up hope.” —Boston Globe

 

The book that inspired the movie, Extraordinary Measures, starring Harrison Ford, Brendan Fraser, and Keri Russell, The Cure by Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Geeta Anand is the remarkable true story of one fathers determination to find a cure for his terminally sick children even if it meant he had to build a business from scratch to do so. At once a riveting story of the birth of an enterprise—ala Tracy Kidders The Soul of a New Machine—and a inspiring tale of the indomitable human spirit in the vein of Erin Brockovich and A Civil Action, The Cure is a testament to ingenuity, unflagging will, and unconquerable love.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.