Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 22, 2014

Nick Harkaway: IMG The Florist-Assassins



The three men lit up in my mind's eye, with footnotes. They were converging on me — and on the object I was carrying — in a way that had... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Tigerman

    Nick Harkaway 9780385352413

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
List price: $13.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Mystery- A to Z
2 Hawthorne Mystery- A to Z

This title in other editions

And Only to Deceive

by

And Only to Deceive Cover

ISBN13: 9780061148446
ISBN10: 006114844x
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From gifted new writer Tasha Alexander comes a stunning novel of historical suspense set in Victorian England, meticulously researched and with a twisty plot that involves stolen antiquities, betrayal, and murder...

And Only to Deceive

For Emily, accepting the proposal of Philip, the Viscount Ashton, was an easy way to escape her overbearing mother, who was set on a grand society match. So when Emily's dashing husband died on safari soon after their wedding, she felt little grief. After all, she barely knew him. Now, nearly two years later, she discovers that Philip was a far different man from the one she had married so cavalierly. His journals reveal him to have been a gentleman scholar and antiquities collector who, to her surprise, was deeply in love with his wife. Emily becomes fascinated with this new image of her dead husband and she immerses herself in all things ancient and begins to study Greek.

Emily's intellectual pursuits and her desire to learn more about Philip take her to the quiet corridors of the British Museum, one of her husband's favorite places. There, amid priceless ancient statues, she uncovers a dark, dangerous secret involving stolen artifacts from the Greco-Roman galleries. And to complicate matters, she's juggling two very prominent and wealthy suitors, one of whose intentions may go beyond the marrying kind. As she sets out to solve the crime, her search leads to more surprises about Philip and causes her to question the role in Victorian society to which she, as a woman, is relegated.

Review:

"In this charming late Victorian romantic suspense novel, Emily, a young and beautiful widow, regrets her husband's African hunting expedition death less than is proper. The late Philip, Viscount Ashton, had a passion for classical antiquity, and Emily, in an attempt to get to know her husband postmortem, uses her newfound independence in London to study it. In the process, she forms a friendship with Cecile du Lac, a Parisian of a certain age, and realizes that there was more to Philip than she realized — including his genuine passion and love for her. The charming Colin Hargreaves may have been involved with Philip in art forgeries, and Andrew Palmer proposes to Emily and then offers evidence that Philip is still alive. By this time, Emily and Cecile are a well-practiced team of amateur sleuths: Phillip's secrets begin to emerge, and travel to Greece provides the possibilities of a new life. Alexander makes Emily light but sympathetic, and conveys period flavor without being ponderous. Her knowledge of the ethical dilemmas posed by Victorian etiquette is considerable; sexual chemistry in particular is handled with exquisite delicacy. The archeological background will lure readers who like to dig for their clues." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"This engaging, witty mix of Victorian cozy and suspense thriller draws its dramatic spark from the endearingly headstrong heroine's growth in life and love. A memorable debut." Booklist

Review:

“An entertaining debut.” Nashville Scene

Review:

“Fans of Anne Perry and Elizabeth Peters will welcome this debut novel.” Denver Post

Review:

“Engagingly suspenseful and rich with period detail.” BookPage

Review:

“The story spans genres, appealing to lovers of suspense, history and romance...historically correct and beautifully done.” South Bend Tribune

About the Author

Tasha Alexander is a graduate of Notre Dame, where she signed on as an English major in order to have a legitimate excuse for spending all of her time reading. Following graduation, she played nomad for several years, eventually settling with her family in Tennessee. When not reading, she can be found hard at work on her next book featuring Emily Ashton.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Cathy from Olympia, Washington, November 27, 2006 (view all comments by Cathy from Olympia, Washington)
Lady Emily Bromley turned down several suitors and proposals of marriage, enduring her mother's constant harping on the duty of a daughter to marry well. After her mother comes after her with a measuring tape to determine whether Emily is gaining weight and therefore reducing future marriage prospects, Emily can take no more and accepts the proposal of Viscount Phillip Ashton. Emily finds herself a widow after six months of marriage, and belatedly begins to learn what she can of her late husband. She discovers in herself a love of antiquities and learning. She also uncovers disturbing signs that her husband may have had an unsavory past, and is determined to uncover the truth.

I found as I read this that I did not want to put the book down, especially once I was in the last half. I also didn't want the book to end! As J.A. Konrath said, the novel is a "compelling melange of murder, intrigue, romance and sleuthing." Altogether a very satisfying novel. I look forward to reading future works by Tasha Alexander.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(28 of 46 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061148446
Author:
Alexander, Tasha
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Author:
by Tasha Alexander
Author:
by Tasha Alexander
Subject:
Espionage/Intrigue
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20061031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.10x5.28x.86 in. .58 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. What Angels Fear: A Sebastian St.... Used Mass Market $5.50
  2. The Sultan's Seal Used Hardcover $2.95
  3. One Shot
    Used Mass Market $3.95
  4. The Secret History of the Pink Carnation
    Used Trade Paper $1.50
  5. A Darkness More Than Night
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  6. One Fine Day the Rabbi Bought a Cross Used Mass Market $3.95

Related Subjects


Featured Titles » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Featured Titles
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Sale Books
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Technothrillers

And Only to Deceive Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages HarperCollins Publishers - English 9780061148446 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this charming late Victorian romantic suspense novel, Emily, a young and beautiful widow, regrets her husband's African hunting expedition death less than is proper. The late Philip, Viscount Ashton, had a passion for classical antiquity, and Emily, in an attempt to get to know her husband postmortem, uses her newfound independence in London to study it. In the process, she forms a friendship with Cecile du Lac, a Parisian of a certain age, and realizes that there was more to Philip than she realized — including his genuine passion and love for her. The charming Colin Hargreaves may have been involved with Philip in art forgeries, and Andrew Palmer proposes to Emily and then offers evidence that Philip is still alive. By this time, Emily and Cecile are a well-practiced team of amateur sleuths: Phillip's secrets begin to emerge, and travel to Greece provides the possibilities of a new life. Alexander makes Emily light but sympathetic, and conveys period flavor without being ponderous. Her knowledge of the ethical dilemmas posed by Victorian etiquette is considerable; sexual chemistry in particular is handled with exquisite delicacy. The archeological background will lure readers who like to dig for their clues." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "This engaging, witty mix of Victorian cozy and suspense thriller draws its dramatic spark from the endearingly headstrong heroine's growth in life and love. A memorable debut."
"Review" by , “An entertaining debut.”
"Review" by , “Fans of Anne Perry and Elizabeth Peters will welcome this debut novel.”
"Review" by , “Engagingly suspenseful and rich with period detail.”
"Review" by , “The story spans genres, appealing to lovers of suspense, history and romance...historically correct and beautifully done.”
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.