Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Contributors | November 26, 2014

    Chris Faatz: IMG The Collected Poems of James Laughlin



    Fall has brought us a true gift in the publication of the massive The Collected Poems of James Laughlin, published by New Directions in an... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Other titles in the Make Lemonade Trilogy series:

This Full House

by

This Full House Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Each discovery disturbs the arrangements of the known world, and it is our job to stay alert to all possibilities.

LaVaughn believes she is keeping alert to all possibilities. She has made it through the projects, she's gotten over heartbreak, she's grown up, and now she's been admitted to the Women in Science program that might finally be her ticket to COLLEGE. But the discoveries she makes during her senior year in high school — two girls pregnant, with very few options — disturb everything in her known world. And in an effort to bring together people who should love each other, she jeopardizes the one prize she has sought her whole life long.

When do you know whether you're doing the right thing? What happens when you can't find a way to make lemonade out of lemons? Virginia Euwer Wolff takes on the biggest questions — about life and love, certainly, but also about girls and women, sacrifice and compassion — and has something quite rev-elatory to say about them in this full house.

Review:

"Fans of Make Lemonade and True Believer have been eager for the final episode of this verse trilogy, to see where Wolff takes her protagonist, LaVaughn. For a while it seems as if LaVaughn's good heart and tenacity have been cleanly rewarded: she wins a spot in a highly selective program for underprivileged girls planning on careers in medical science. Although focused on her future, she remains acutely aware of others' struggles: her friend Annie gets pregnant; she learns that Jolly, the single mother whose children she babysits, was abandoned in infancy; and she regrets spurning brilliant Patrick ('And I never found out if he forgave me/ for being mean and childish and not noticing I was'). Even Dr. Moore, the inspiring woman who founded the medical science program, turns out to have a blistering secret in her past. Struggling to 'act according to your conscience/ even when you don't want to,' LaVaughn finds herself in murky ethical waters when Wolff contrives a very big coincidence for her to address. The steady, sympathetic characterizations more than compensate for the unlikely plot twist, however, and the trilogy closes warmly, sagely and, yes, even triumphantly. Ages 14 — up." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

The final verse novel in the award-winning "Make Lemonade" trilogy follows LaVaughn in her senior year at an inner-city school. To further her dream of attending college, this smart, plucky girl has just completed a summer science program and been selected for Women in Medical Science, an enrichment course at the city hospital. Rumors swirl around Dr. Moore, the instructor. It's said she founded WIMS... Washington Post Book Review (read the entire Washington Post review)

About the Author

Virginia Euwer Wolff is the distinguished author of six books for young readers. Her books have won the National Book Award, the Michael L. Printz Honor, the Golden Kite Award, the International Reading Association Children's Book Award, the Jane Addams Book Award, the PEN-West Book Award, and the Oregon Book Award, among many other honors. Critics have called make lemonade and true believer, the previous two books in this trilogy, "triumphant" (School Library Journal), "transcendent" (ALA Booklist), and "groundbreaking" (Publishers Weekly). Virginia Euwer Wolff lives and works in Oregon City, Oregon.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061583049
Author:
Wolff, Virginia Euwer
Publisher:
HarperTeen
Author:
by Virginia Euwer Wolff
Author:
by Virginia Euwer Wolff
Subject:
Conduct of life
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Social Issues - Pregnancy
Subject:
Health & Daily Living - General
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Situations / Pregnancy
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Pregnancy
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20090127
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Pages:
496
Dimensions:
10 x 10 x 0.25 in 14.72 oz
Age Level:
from 14

Other books you might like

  1. Anything But Typical Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. The Kind of Friends We Used to Be Used Hardcover $3.95
  3. You Know Where to Find Me Used Hardcover $2.95
  4. Sara's Face Used Hardcover $2.75
  5. The Reformed Vampire Support Group Used Hardcover $8.95
  6. Theories of Relativity
    Used Hardcover $2.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Health » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Poetry
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Pregnancy
Young Adult » General

This Full House Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 496 pages HarperTeen - English 9780061583049 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Fans of Make Lemonade and True Believer have been eager for the final episode of this verse trilogy, to see where Wolff takes her protagonist, LaVaughn. For a while it seems as if LaVaughn's good heart and tenacity have been cleanly rewarded: she wins a spot in a highly selective program for underprivileged girls planning on careers in medical science. Although focused on her future, she remains acutely aware of others' struggles: her friend Annie gets pregnant; she learns that Jolly, the single mother whose children she babysits, was abandoned in infancy; and she regrets spurning brilliant Patrick ('And I never found out if he forgave me/ for being mean and childish and not noticing I was'). Even Dr. Moore, the inspiring woman who founded the medical science program, turns out to have a blistering secret in her past. Struggling to 'act according to your conscience/ even when you don't want to,' LaVaughn finds herself in murky ethical waters when Wolff contrives a very big coincidence for her to address. The steady, sympathetic characterizations more than compensate for the unlikely plot twist, however, and the trilogy closes warmly, sagely and, yes, even triumphantly. Ages 14 — up." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.