We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | June 8, 2015

    Owen Sheers: IMG Powell's Q&A: Owen Sheers



    Describe your latest book. I Saw a Man is a contemporary novel set between London, New York, Nevada, and Wales. The book opens with Michael Turner,... Continue »
    1. $18.17 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      I Saw a Man

      Owen Sheers 9780385529075

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.50
List price: $16.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's Middle Readers- General

Ungifted

by

Ungifted Cover

ISBN13: 9780061742668
ISBN10: 006174266x
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $11.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel in which one middle-school troublemaker accidentally moves into the gifted and talented program—and changes everything. For fans of Louis Sachar and Jack Gantos, this funny and touching underdog story is a lovable and goofy adventure with robot fights, middle-school dances, live experiments, and statue-toppling pranks!

When Donovan Curtis pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks hes finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up by one of the administrators, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a special program for gifted and talented students.

Although it wasnt exactly what Donovan had intended, the ASD couldnt be a more perfectly unexpected hideout for someone like him. But as the students and teachers of ASD grow to realize that Donovan may not be good at math or science (or just about anything), he shows that his gifts may be exactly what the ASD students never knew they needed. 

Review:

"Too much homogeneity is never a good thing. In this funny and insightful middle-grade novel from Korman (Pop), eighth-grader Donovan Curtis is a reckless boy with 'poor impulse control,' whose classmates have voted him 'Most Likely to Wind Up in Jail.' After Donovan's gift for chaos causes an especially costly accident at school, a paperwork mix-up sees him transferred to his town's Academy for Scholastic Distinction, instead of being expelled. Donovan is woefully out of place among the ASD's young geniuses and scholars, but his normality proves something his new classmates desperately need: as he grows academically, the gifted kids grow socially just from being around him. Donovan, his classmates, and his teachers take turns narrating, and while Korman uses basic archetypes to start (from Donovan's goofball friends at his old school to the awkward nerds at the ASD), he gradually humanizes each of them, revealing them as complex, changing, and surprising individuals. As Donovan's classmate Chloe puts it, 'The whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Especially if one of those parts is Donovan.' Ages 10 — up. Agent: Elizabeth Harding, Curtis Brown. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

The word gifted has never been applied to a kid like Donovan Curtis. It's usually more like Don't try this at home. So when the troublemaker pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks he's finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up by one of the administrators, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction (ASD), a special program for gifted and talented students.

It wasn't exactly what Donovan had intended, but there couldn't be a more perfect hideout for someone like him. That is, if he can manage to fool people whose IQs are above genius level. And that becomes harder and harder as the students and teachers of ASD grow to realize that Donovan may not be good at math or science (or just about anything). But after an ongoing experiment with a live human (sister), an unforgettably dramatic middle-school dance, and the most astonishing come-from-behind robot victory ever, Donovan shows that his gifts might be exactly what the ASD students never knew they needed.

About the Author

Gordon Korman has written more than fifty middle-grade and teen novels. Favorites include the #1 New York Times bestseller The 39 Clues: One False Note, Son of the Mob, and Schooled. Though he didn't play football in high school, Gordon's been a lifelong fan and season ticket holder. He says, "I've always been fascinated by the 'culture of collision' in football, and wanted to explore it—not just from the highlight films, but from its darker side as well." Gordon lives with his family on Long Island, New York.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Beverly B, March 17, 2015 (view all comments by Beverly B)
Ungifted is a silly, entertaining story with a strong message delivered in a humorous comedy of errors misadventure. Donovan is the class troublemaker. He is not malicious, just impulsive and unable to see consequences until it is too late. When he accidentally destroys the school statue and half the gym, he is quickly nabbed by the superintendent himself. Luckily for Donovan, in his haste to attend to the disaster, the superintendent accidentally adds Donovan's name to the list of students being transferred to a special school for the highly gifted. Donovan sees the transfer as a way to hide from authorities until things calm down. Donovan's futile attempts to fit in with a class of super geniuses are laugh out loud funny. It is hard to fake being smart when you don't understand what your classmates are talking about. Ungifted is one of those humor stories where the secondary characters are far more interesting than the protagonist. Noah, Chloe and Katie are stereotypical super smart geeks, but they are likable and memorable. What they teach Donovan has nothing to do with academics, but much to do with being a better person. Ungifted is not supposed to be realistic fiction. It is slapstick. Exaggerated stereotypes and hyperbole are part of slapstick. Middle grade readers are sophisticated enough to recognize and appreciate Gordon Korman's cartoonish style as a fun way to deliver a serious message about loyalty, friendship and respect.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061742668
Author:
Korman, Gordon
Publisher:
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Subject:
School & Education
Subject:
Children s humor
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20120831
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 5
Language:
English
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 17.78 oz
Age Level:
from 10

Other books you might like

  1. The Dark Unwinding New Trade Paper $9.99
  2. The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  3. Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Extra... Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. Rot & Ruin #03: Flesh & Bone Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  5. Cardboard Used Trade Paper $8.00
  6. A Midsummer Tights Dream
    New Trade Paper $9.99

Related Subjects


Children's » General
Children's » Humor
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Sale Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship

Ungifted Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.50 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - English 9780061742668 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Too much homogeneity is never a good thing. In this funny and insightful middle-grade novel from Korman (Pop), eighth-grader Donovan Curtis is a reckless boy with 'poor impulse control,' whose classmates have voted him 'Most Likely to Wind Up in Jail.' After Donovan's gift for chaos causes an especially costly accident at school, a paperwork mix-up sees him transferred to his town's Academy for Scholastic Distinction, instead of being expelled. Donovan is woefully out of place among the ASD's young geniuses and scholars, but his normality proves something his new classmates desperately need: as he grows academically, the gifted kids grow socially just from being around him. Donovan, his classmates, and his teachers take turns narrating, and while Korman uses basic archetypes to start (from Donovan's goofball friends at his old school to the awkward nerds at the ASD), he gradually humanizes each of them, revealing them as complex, changing, and surprising individuals. As Donovan's classmate Chloe puts it, 'The whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Especially if one of those parts is Donovan.' Ages 10 — up. Agent: Elizabeth Harding, Curtis Brown. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , The word gifted has never been applied to a kid like Donovan Curtis. It's usually more like Don't try this at home. So when the troublemaker pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks he's finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up by one of the administrators, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction (ASD), a special program for gifted and talented students.

It wasn't exactly what Donovan had intended, but there couldn't be a more perfect hideout for someone like him. That is, if he can manage to fool people whose IQs are above genius level. And that becomes harder and harder as the students and teachers of ASD grow to realize that Donovan may not be good at math or science (or just about anything). But after an ongoing experiment with a live human (sister), an unforgettably dramatic middle-school dance, and the most astonishing come-from-behind robot victory ever, Donovan shows that his gifts might be exactly what the ASD students never knew they needed.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.