The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Nature Studies- Ornithology

More copies of this ISBN

An Eagle Named Freedom: My True Story of a Remarkable Friendship

by

An Eagle Named Freedom: My True Story of a Remarkable Friendship Cover

ISBN13: 9780061826740
ISBN10: 006182674x
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $10.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the moment Jeff Guidry saw the emaciated baby eagle with broken wings, his life was changed. For weeks he and the staff at Sarvey Wildlife Care Center tended to the grievously injured bird. Miraculously, she recovered, and Jeff, a center volunteer, became her devoted caretaker.

Though Freedom would never fly, she had Jeff as her wings. And after Jeff was diagnosed with stage 3 non-Hodgkin's lymphoma in 2000, Freedom returned his gift. Between sessions of debilitating chemotherapy, Jeff went back to Sarvey and began taking Freedom for walks that soothed his spirit and gave him the strength to fight. When he learned he was cancer free, Jeff's first stop was Sarvey to walk with Freedom. Somehow this special bird seemed to understand the significance of the day. For the very first time she wrapped both her wings around Jeff, enveloping him in an avian hug.

In March 2008, Jeff shared his extraordinary experience with his friend Gayle in an e-mail of eight hundred words:

When Freedom came in she could not stand. Both wings were broken, her left wing in 4 places.... We here at the Sarvey Wildlife Care Center made the decision to give her a chance at life....

That e-mail would unexpectedly circle the globe and inspire countless fans eager to know more. In An Eagle Named Freedom, Jeff tells the full story of his bond with Freedom and introduces the other wildlife and volunteers who have been saved by Sarvey. A tender tale of hope, love, trust, and life, this moving true story is an affirmation of the spiritual connection that humans and animals share.

Review:

"Guidry is a gifted wordsmith who...vividly describes the breathtaking beauty of the landscape and the dedicated staff who expend their time, energies, and, in some cases, their fortunes rescuing wildlife." Library Journal

Review:

"This inspirational memoir of mutual courage and compassion is sure to have wide appeal." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

Guidry nurtured an eaglet with two broken wings back to health at Sarvey Wildlife Care Center, and, then, when Guidry began fighting his own battle against non-Hodgkins lymphoma, the eagle guided him to fight for his own life.

Synopsis:

“A hauntingly beautiful story of rescue and rehabilitation….[A] gorgeous tale of redemption.”
—Susan Richards, New York Times bestselling author of Chosen by a Horse

“I could not put this book down.”
—Stacey O'Brien, New York Times bestselling author of Wesley the Owl

In the tradition of A Lion Called Christian and Alex and Me comes An Eagle Named Freedom, Jeff Guidrys remarkable story of how he rehabilitated a severely damaged bald eagle back to health—and how the majestic bird later inspired the author to triumph over cancer. Animal lovers and readers fascinated by the spiritual ties between animals and humans will not soon forget this beautiful, inspiring true tale of an extraordinary friendship.

About the Author

Jeff Guidry is a rock and rhythm-and-blues guitarist who has played with such artists as Brian Wilson of the Beach Boys and guitarist Roy Buchanan. He spends his spare time volunteering for the Sarvey Wildlife Care Center in Washington State. He lives in Monroe, Washington.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Phoenix, January 7, 2011 (view all comments by Phoenix)
At its heart this is a love story between a rock musician & a baby eagle with broken wings. Guidry tells of the true friendship he developed with the bird who was given the name Freedom, & how it changed both their lives. When he was later diagnosed with cancer, his bond with Freedom became one of his greatest supports.

The author writes of his work at a wildlife rescue centre. I found his stories genuinely moving & often funny. While easy to read, the depth of respect Guidry shows for the animals in his life is rare. I greatly enjoyed this unique book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061826740
Subtitle:
My True Story of a Remarkable Friendship
Author:
Guidry, Jeff
Author:
Brown, Margaret Wise
Author:
Guidry, Jef
Author:
F .
Author:
Hurd, Clement
Publisher:
William Morrow
Subject:
Birds
Subject:
Birds & Birdwatching - General
Subject:
Veterinary Medicine - General
Subject:
Bald eagle -- Washington (State)
Subject:
Guidry, Jeff
Subject:
Animals - Birds
Subject:
Essays
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
General-General
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20100504
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from PreS
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
5 x 5.875 in 7.92 oz
Age Level:
to 3

Other books you might like

  1. The Signal Used Trade Paper $6.95
  2. War
    Used Trade Paper $7.50

Related Subjects

Pets » General
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Birds » Ornithology
Science and Mathematics » Ornithology » Birds of Prey

An Eagle Named Freedom: My True Story of a Remarkable Friendship Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 224 pages William Morrow & Company - English 9780061826740 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Guidry is a gifted wordsmith who...vividly describes the breathtaking beauty of the landscape and the dedicated staff who expend their time, energies, and, in some cases, their fortunes rescuing wildlife."
"Review" by , "This inspirational memoir of mutual courage and compassion is sure to have wide appeal."
"Synopsis" by , Guidry nurtured an eaglet with two broken wings back to health at Sarvey Wildlife Care Center, and, then, when Guidry began fighting his own battle against non-Hodgkins lymphoma, the eagle guided him to fight for his own life.
"Synopsis" by , “A hauntingly beautiful story of rescue and rehabilitation….[A] gorgeous tale of redemption.”
—Susan Richards, New York Times bestselling author of Chosen by a Horse

“I could not put this book down.”
—Stacey O'Brien, New York Times bestselling author of Wesley the Owl

In the tradition of A Lion Called Christian and Alex and Me comes An Eagle Named Freedom, Jeff Guidrys remarkable story of how he rehabilitated a severely damaged bald eagle back to health—and how the majestic bird later inspired the author to triumph over cancer. Animal lovers and readers fascinated by the spiritual ties between animals and humans will not soon forget this beautiful, inspiring true tale of an extraordinary friendship.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.