Nonficionado Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | May 12, 2015

    Mark Bittman: IMG Six Things You Can Do to Join the Food Movement Today



    People ask me all the time what they can do to help improve the food system. Given that some of the problems that need fixing (like unsustainable... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
List price: $16.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's Middle Readers- General

Other titles in the Madison Kincaid Mysteries series:

Vanishing Acts

by and

Vanishing Acts Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

It’s the middle of the night before the first day of junior high...and Madison Kincaid jolts awake to the sound of a phone call from the jailhouse. It’s a new client for her father, a renowned defense attorney: it's a man accused of murdering his wife, though no body has been found. Madison’s instantly intrigued, and she’s determined to help her dad crack the case.

But at school the next day, Madison finds she’s got not one but two mysteries on her plate. Her best friend, Ann, is nowhere to be found, and phone calls and text messages aren’t getting through. Madison knows that Ann would never just disappear like that — and she’s seriously worried about what might have happened to her. With the help of Jake Stephenson, a new boy — and a fellow soccer player — at Pettygrove Junior High, Madison hits the sidewalks of Portland, Oregon, ready to find out just what’s behind these two vanishing acts.

In his first book for young readers, New York Times bestselling thriller author Phillip Margolin, writing with his daughter, Ami Margolin Rome, delivers a fast-paced, compelling mystery that’s perfect for reluctant readers and sure to appeal to fans of Masterpiece, The Calder Game, and Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer.

Synopsis:

A fast-unfolding mystery causes twelve-year-old Madison Kincaid to don her detective’s cap in Vanishing Acts, the first middle-grade novel from New York Times bestselling author Phillip Margolin and his daughter, Ami Margolin Rome.

Synopsis:

From tracking down her best friend, whos nowhere to be found, to secretly helping her attorney father solve a missing-person case, Madison Kincaid is a busy seventh-grade sleuth. Teaming up with new classmate Jake, she hits the sidewalks of Portland, Oregon, determined to find out whats behind two mysterious vanishing acts.

In his first book for young readers, New York Times bestselling author Phillip Margolin and his daughter, Ami Margolin Rome, deliver a fast-paced, compelling mystery thats perfect for reluctant readers and sure to appeal to fans of Masterpiece, The Calder Game, and Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer.

About the Author

Phillip Margolin has written more than a dozen New York Times bestselling mysteries for adults, including Gone, But Not Forgotten; Executive Privilege; and Wild Justice. With Vanishing Acts, he is achieving two firsts — his first book for young readers and his first book writing with his daughter, Ami Margolin Rome. You can visit him online at www.phillipmargolin.com.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061885563
Author:
Phillip Margolin and Ami Margolin Rome
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Author:
Rome, Ami Margolin
Author:
MARGOLIN, PHILLIP
Author:
Margolin, Phillip M.
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Law & Crime
Subject:
Children s-Adventure Stories
Subject:
Children s Middle Readers-General
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20111011
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 3 to 7
Language:
English
Pages:
176
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 17.78 oz
Age Level:
from 8 to 12

Other books you might like

  1. Change Anything: The New Science of... Sale Trade Paper $8.98

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Middle Readers » New Arrivals
Children's » Pacific Northwest » Young Adult Fiction

Vanishing Acts Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 176 pages HarperCollins - English 9780061885563 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , A fast-unfolding mystery causes twelve-year-old Madison Kincaid to don her detective’s cap in Vanishing Acts, the first middle-grade novel from New York Times bestselling author Phillip Margolin and his daughter, Ami Margolin Rome.
"Synopsis" by , From tracking down her best friend, whos nowhere to be found, to secretly helping her attorney father solve a missing-person case, Madison Kincaid is a busy seventh-grade sleuth. Teaming up with new classmate Jake, she hits the sidewalks of Portland, Oregon, determined to find out whats behind two mysterious vanishing acts.

In his first book for young readers, New York Times bestselling author Phillip Margolin and his daughter, Ami Margolin Rome, deliver a fast-paced, compelling mystery thats perfect for reluctant readers and sure to appeal to fans of Masterpiece, The Calder Game, and Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.