The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 4, 2014

Edward E. Baptist: IMG The Two Bodies of The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism



My new book, The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism, is the story of two bodies. The first body was the new... Continue »
  1. $24.50 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
List price: $26.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Beaverton ADV- THRILLERS

Tiger's Claw

by

Tiger's Claw Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The fight for the Pacific begins

When China increases its naval presence in the Pacific and develops advanced weapon technology that targets American ships with lethal accuracy, it imperils American military superiority. Can the United States, in the wake of an economic recession and decreased military spending, compete with its cash-rich Chinese enemy? This question can be answered only when U.S.-China tensions blow up in an epic battle for supreme dominion of the Pacific.

When China launches the first successful test of its Dong Feng-21D antiship ballistic missile, the future looks bleak for America. Fearing the U.S. will lose its naval supremacy in the Pacific if it does not counter this Chinese threat, President Kenneth Phoenix finds himself in a compromised position. New technology requires money, but the country is recovering from a massive recession, and the president has slashed the military budget to reduce the national debt. Without the funds to compete with China's advancing technology, are the country's days of naval preeminence in the Pacific running out?

Retired U.S. Air Force Lieutenant General Patrick McLanahan refuses to accept this fate. The government may lack money, but McLanahan reasons that the United States can afford to refurbish old but potent long-range B-1B Lancer bombers to promote the AirSea Battle strategy that will push back against Chinese aggression. President Phoenix commissions McLanahan to lead this effort, and soon America stands ready to deploy an AirSea Battle task force in the South China Sea.

The People's Liberation Army recognizes that this growing air threat will jeopardize its air and naval superiority in the South China Sea. They aggressively deploy advanced fighters, land-based antimissiles, three aircraft carriers, and exotic, top secret directed energy weapons against their neighbors, hoping to convince the U.S. Navy to stay away. But Patrick McLanahan is finally given the green light to lead his force westward to challenge the Chinese threat head-on.

New York Times bestselling author Dale Brown is at the top of his game with Tiger's Claw. Once again he brings to life a thrilling and dramatic story that is right out of what could be the headlines of the not-so-distant future.

Review:

"Following 2011's A Time for Patriots, China is the bad guy in the 18th entry of Brown's long-running Patrick McLanahan series, set in 2014 & 2015. A 21st century Cold War looms after the Chinese test a new ballistic missile, and tensions ratchet up further when a US reconnaissance plane disappears somewhere over the South China Sea. The crisis tests the mettle of President Kenneth Phoenix, who fears that he's presiding over a 'failed republic'. Saving the day falls to Bradley McLanahan, son of 'the hero of the American Holocaust, space hero, the greatest strategic bombing expert since General Curtis LeMay.' Even though his father is retired from service, he naturally lends a hand as the clock ticks down to the prospect of all-out war and the threat of nuclear weapons hovers over the continental US. The assured writing and deft plotting keep things moving forward, and Brown again proves that he's a more-than-adequate substitute for Tom Clancy. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Former Air Force captain and New York Times bestselling author Dale Brown is an acknowledged master when it comes to bringing military action to breathtaking life and he has received glowing accolades since his debut publication, Flight of the Old Dog.

Tigers Claw proves once again that every rave has been well deserved. Set in the near future, Tigers Claw imagines a scenario in which tensions escalate between an economically powerful China and a United States weakened by a massive economic downfall, bringing the two superpowers to the brink of total destruction. Browns popular protagonist, retired Air Force lieutenant-general Patrick McLanahan (of A Time for Patriots, Rogue Forces, and other Brown bestsellers), is back and preparing for the impending apocalyptic clash of men and military technology.

The incomparable Dale Brown scores again with a frighteningly possible story of war and global politics thats ideal for fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor.

Video

About the Author

Dale Brown, a former U.S. Air Force captain, was born in Buffalo, New York, and now lives in Nevada. He graduated from Penn State University with a degree in Western European history and received a U.S. Air Force commission in 1978. He was still serving in the Air Force when he wrote his highly acclaimed first novel, Flight of the Old Dog. Since then he has written a string of New York Times bestsellers, including most recently Shadow Command, Rogue Forces, Executive Intent, and A Time for Patriots.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061990014
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Brown, Dale
Author:
Le
Author:
Brown, D. a.
Publisher:
William Morrow
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
War
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Contemporary Thrillers
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Military
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20120904
Binding:
Hardback
Language:
English
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.33 in 22.8 oz

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Adventure
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Military
Religion » Comparative Religion » General

Tiger's Claw Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 432 pages William Morrow & Company - English 9780061990014 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Following 2011's A Time for Patriots, China is the bad guy in the 18th entry of Brown's long-running Patrick McLanahan series, set in 2014 & 2015. A 21st century Cold War looms after the Chinese test a new ballistic missile, and tensions ratchet up further when a US reconnaissance plane disappears somewhere over the South China Sea. The crisis tests the mettle of President Kenneth Phoenix, who fears that he's presiding over a 'failed republic'. Saving the day falls to Bradley McLanahan, son of 'the hero of the American Holocaust, space hero, the greatest strategic bombing expert since General Curtis LeMay.' Even though his father is retired from service, he naturally lends a hand as the clock ticks down to the prospect of all-out war and the threat of nuclear weapons hovers over the continental US. The assured writing and deft plotting keep things moving forward, and Brown again proves that he's a more-than-adequate substitute for Tom Clancy. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , Former Air Force captain and New York Times bestselling author Dale Brown is an acknowledged master when it comes to bringing military action to breathtaking life and he has received glowing accolades since his debut publication, Flight of the Old Dog.

Tigers Claw proves once again that every rave has been well deserved. Set in the near future, Tigers Claw imagines a scenario in which tensions escalate between an economically powerful China and a United States weakened by a massive economic downfall, bringing the two superpowers to the brink of total destruction. Browns popular protagonist, retired Air Force lieutenant-general Patrick McLanahan (of A Time for Patriots, Rogue Forces, and other Brown bestsellers), is back and preparing for the impending apocalyptic clash of men and military technology.

The incomparable Dale Brown scores again with a frighteningly possible story of war and global politics thats ideal for fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.