The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Powell's Q&A | September 3, 2014

Emily St. John Mandel: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Emily St. John Mandel



Describe your latest book. My new novel is called Station Eleven. It's about a traveling Shakespearean theatre company in a post-apocalyptic North... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Station Eleven

    Emily St. John Mandel 9780385353304

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
List price: $24.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside African American Studies- General

How to Be Black

by

How to Be Black Cover

ISBN13: 9780062003218
ISBN10: 0062003216
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $10.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

If You Don't Buy This Book, You're a Racist.

Have you ever been called "too black" or "not black enough"?

Have you ever befriended or worked with a black person?

If you answered yes to any of these questions, this book is for you.

Raised by a pro-black, Pan-Afrikan single mother during the crack years of 1980s Washington, DC, and educated at Sidwell Friends School and Harvard University, Baratunde Thurston has over thirty years' experience being black. Now, through stories of his politically inspired Nigerian name, the heroics of his hippie mother, the murder of his drug-abusing father, and other revelatory black details, he shares with readers of all colors his wisdom and expertise in how to be black.

Beyond memoir, this guidebook offers practical advice on everything from "How to Be The Black Friend" to "How to Be The (Next) Black President" to "How to Celebrate Black History Month."

To provide additional perspective, Baratunde assembled an award-winning Black Panel—three black women, three black men, and one white man (Christian Lander of Stuff White People Like)—and asked them such revealing questions as:

"When Did You First Realize You Were Black?"

"How Black Are You?"

"Can You Swim?"

The result is a humorous, intelligent, and audacious guide that challenges and satirizes the so-called experts, purists, and racists who purport to speak for all black people. With honest storytelling and biting wit, Baratunde plots a path not just to blackness, but one open to anyone interested in simply "how to be."

Review:

"In this hilarious blend of razor-sharp satire and memoir, Onion editor and cofounder of the Jack & Jill Politics blog Thurston muses on how, generally, to be black in today's ever-changing world. He's quick to point out that his book is not a magic potion that will make readers instantly black (it is not How to Become a Black Person If You Are Not Already Black). Instructive chapters include 'How to Be The Black Friend' and its corollaries, 'How to Speak for All Black People' and 'How to Be The Black Employee.' Thurston's life was shaped by his mother, a force of nature who instilled in him a love of camping and bicycling, along with a fiercely radical spirit. As a teen, he participated in the Ankobia program in D.C. taught by Pan-African black American activists. This same woman also enrolled him in the prestigious Sidwell Friends school (home to Chelsea Clinton and President Obama's daughters) and cheered at his Harvard graduation. In order to get a fuller picture of blackness in America today, Thurston assembles 'The Black Panel,' consisting of artists and stand-up comedians who address race in their work. Questions he poses to panel include when the members first realized they were black (most were very young), if they ever wished not to black (very few did), and what they thought of the idea of 'post-racial America.' Using his own story and humor, Thurston demonstrates that the best way to 'be' anything is to simply be yourself. Agent: Gary Morris." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

The Onions Baratunde Thurston shares his 30-plus years of expertise in being black, with helpful essays like “How to Be the Black Friend,” “How to Speak for All Black People,” “How To Celebrate Black History Month,” and more, in this satirical guide to race issues—written for black people and those who love them. Audacious, cunning, and razor-sharp, How to Be Black exposes the mass-medias insidiously racist, monochromatic portrayal of black cultures richness and variety. Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness, and Ending Racism in About an Hour will be captivated, uplifted, incensed, and inspired by this hilarious and powerful attack on Americas blacklisting of black culture: Baratunde Thurstons How to Be Black.

About the Author

Baratunde Thurston is the director of digital at The Onion, the cofounder of Jack & Jill Politics, a stand-up comedian, and a globe-trotting speaker. He was named one of the 100 most influential African-Americans of 2011 by The Root and one of the 100 most creative people in business by Fast Company magazine. Baratunde resides in Brooklyn and lives on Twitter (@baratunde).

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Rachel Philip, January 1, 2013 (view all comments by Rachel Philip)
This is a great book; funny, insightful, and sharp commentary on race & society. Get it if you like humor and social justice.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Saundra Carroll, August 4, 2012 (view all comments by Saundra Carroll)
Race is never an easy topic of discussion. Thurston brings his ingenious humor to a subject that is often less than humorous.
In How To Be Black you will learn the importance of the "Good Black Friend," and why it is important to criticize your own inner racist. All laughing aside, this is an excellent recount of Baratunde's own experiences as a Black American and the circumstances he faced growing up and into his adult life as the trusted source of all things Black.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062003218
Author:
Thurston, Baratunde
Publisher:
Harper
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Humor
Subject:
Humor : General
Subject:
HUMOR / Parodies
Subject:
Humor-Anthologies
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20120131
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 x 0.89 in 22.8 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Curses and Wishes: Poems
    Used Trade Paper $5.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Anthologies
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Parodies
Biography » General
History and Social Science » African American Studies » General
Reference » Science Reference » General

How to Be Black Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Harper - English 9780062003218 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this hilarious blend of razor-sharp satire and memoir, Onion editor and cofounder of the Jack & Jill Politics blog Thurston muses on how, generally, to be black in today's ever-changing world. He's quick to point out that his book is not a magic potion that will make readers instantly black (it is not How to Become a Black Person If You Are Not Already Black). Instructive chapters include 'How to Be The Black Friend' and its corollaries, 'How to Speak for All Black People' and 'How to Be The Black Employee.' Thurston's life was shaped by his mother, a force of nature who instilled in him a love of camping and bicycling, along with a fiercely radical spirit. As a teen, he participated in the Ankobia program in D.C. taught by Pan-African black American activists. This same woman also enrolled him in the prestigious Sidwell Friends school (home to Chelsea Clinton and President Obama's daughters) and cheered at his Harvard graduation. In order to get a fuller picture of blackness in America today, Thurston assembles 'The Black Panel,' consisting of artists and stand-up comedians who address race in their work. Questions he poses to panel include when the members first realized they were black (most were very young), if they ever wished not to black (very few did), and what they thought of the idea of 'post-racial America.' Using his own story and humor, Thurston demonstrates that the best way to 'be' anything is to simply be yourself. Agent: Gary Morris." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , The Onions Baratunde Thurston shares his 30-plus years of expertise in being black, with helpful essays like “How to Be the Black Friend,” “How to Speak for All Black People,” “How To Celebrate Black History Month,” and more, in this satirical guide to race issues—written for black people and those who love them. Audacious, cunning, and razor-sharp, How to Be Black exposes the mass-medias insidiously racist, monochromatic portrayal of black cultures richness and variety. Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness, and Ending Racism in About an Hour will be captivated, uplifted, incensed, and inspired by this hilarious and powerful attack on Americas blacklisting of black culture: Baratunde Thurstons How to Be Black.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.