Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 30, 2014

    Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



    Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside African American Studies- General
1 Hawthorne Humor- General
25 Local Warehouse Humor- Anthologies
25 Remote Warehouse Humor- General

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

How to Be Black

by

How to Be Black Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

  • Have you ever been called "too black" or "not black enough"?
  • Have you ever befriended or worked with a black person?
  • Have you ever heard of black people?
  • If you answered yes to any of these questions, this book is for you. Raised by a pro-black, Pan-Afrikan single mother during the crack years of 1980s Washington, DC, and educated at Sidwell Friends School and Harvard University, Baratunde Thurston has more than over thirty years' experience being black. Now, through stories of his politically inspired Nigerian name, the heroics of his hippie mother, the murder of his drug-abusing father, and other revelatory black details, he shares with readers of all colors his wisdom and expertise in how to be black. Beyond memoir, this guidebook offers practical advice on everything from "How to Be the Black Friend" to "How to Be the (Next) Black President" to "How to Celebrate Black History Month."

    Synopsis:

    The Onions Baratunde Thurston shares his 30-plus years of expertise in being black, with helpful essays like “How to Be the Black Friend,” “How to Speak for All Black People,” “How To Celebrate Black History Month,” and more, in this satirical guide to race issues—written for black people and those who love them. Audacious, cunning, and razor-sharp, How to Be Black exposes the mass-medias insidiously racist, monochromatic portrayal of black cultures richness and variety. Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness, and Ending Racism in About an Hour will be captivated, uplifted, incensed, and inspired by this hilarious and powerful attack on Americas blacklisting of black culture: Baratunde Thurstons How to Be Black.

    About the Author

    Baratunde Thurston is the director of digital at The Onion, the cofounder of Jack & Jill Politics, a stand-up comedian, and a globe-trotting speaker. He was named one of the 100 most influential African-Americans of 2011 by The Root and one of the 100 most creative people in business by Fast Company magazine. Baratunde resides in Brooklyn and lives on Twitter (@baratunde).

    Product Details

    ISBN:
    9780062003225
    Author:
    Thurston, Baratunde
    Publisher:
    Harper Paperbacks
    Author:
    rston, Baratunde
    Author:
    Thu
    Subject:
    General Humor
    Subject:
    HUMOR / Parodies
    Subject:
    Humor-Anthologies
    Edition Description:
    Trade PB
    Publication Date:
    20121030
    Binding:
    Paperback
    Language:
    English
    Pages:
    272
    Dimensions:
    8 x 5.3125 x 0.612613 in 7.1 oz

    Other books you might like

    1. Classical Poems by Arab Women: A... New Trade Paper $18.50
    2. Lauriat: A Filipino-Chinese... New Trade Paper $23.75

    Related Subjects

    Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Anthologies
    Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
    Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Parodies
    Biography » General
    History and Social Science » African American Studies » General
    History and Social Science » Ethnic Studies » General

    How to Be Black New Trade Paper
    0 stars - 0 reviews
    $14.99 In Stock
    Product details 272 pages Harper Paperbacks - English 9780062003225 Reviews:
    "Synopsis" by , The Onions Baratunde Thurston shares his 30-plus years of expertise in being black, with helpful essays like “How to Be the Black Friend,” “How to Speak for All Black People,” “How To Celebrate Black History Month,” and more, in this satirical guide to race issues—written for black people and those who love them. Audacious, cunning, and razor-sharp, How to Be Black exposes the mass-medias insidiously racist, monochromatic portrayal of black cultures richness and variety. Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness, and Ending Racism in About an Hour will be captivated, uplifted, incensed, and inspired by this hilarious and powerful attack on Americas blacklisting of black culture: Baratunde Thurstons How to Be Black.
    spacer
    spacer
    • back to top

    FOLLOW US ON...

         
    Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.