Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Brian Doyle: IMG The Rude Burl of Our Masks



One day when I was 12 years old and setting off on my newspaper route after school my mom said will you stop at the doctor's and pick up something... Continue »
  1. $13.27 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Children and Other Wild Animals

    Brian Doyle 9780870717543

spacer

Mozart's Last Aria (P.S.)

by

Mozart's Last Aria (P.S.) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Award-winning author Matt Rees takes readers to 18th centuryAustria, where Mozarts estranged sister Nannerl stumblesinto a world of ambition, conspiracy, and immortal music while attempting touncover the truth about her brothers suspicious death. Did Mozarts life endin murder? Nannerl must brave dire circumstances tofind out, running afoul of the secret police, the freemasons, and even theAustrian Emperor himself as she delves into a scandal greater than she had everimagined. With captivating historical details, compelling characters, and areal-life mystery upon which everything hinges, Rees—the award-winning authorof the  internationally acclaimed Omar Yussefcrime series—writes in the tradition of Irvin YalomsWhen Nietzsche Wept, Louis Bayards The Pale Blue Eye, andPhillip Singtons The Einstein Girl to achievethe very best in historical fiction with Mozarts Last Aria.

Review:

"In this engaging, well-paced book from crime novelist and journalist Rees (The Collaborator of Bethlehem), Mozart's estranged sister, Madame Maria Anna Berchtold von Sonnenburg (called Nannerl by her family), travels to Vienna to investigate the mysterious circumstances of her brother's sudden death. According to Nannerl's sister-in-law Constanze, Mozart had premonitions of murder before he died. In Vienna, Nannerl finds a web of deception, scandal, and fear revolving around the colorful, dangerous Freemasons, implicating Mozart in shadowy activities and pointing to his death by poison. Meanwhile, Nannerl's own musical career — once overshadowed by her prodigy brother's — is revived as she pays tribute to his compositions. Despite her reservations, she finds herself drawn to a powerful baron, himself caught up in all the intrigue. Combining Dan Brown or Elizabeth Kostova — style historical conspiracy theory with cozy detective novel, Rees's latest offers a genuinely felt reverence for the power of Mozart's music and its lasting impact in the world." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

The news arrives in a letter to his sister, Nannerl, in December 1791. But the message carries more than word of Nannerls brothers demise. Two months earlier, Mozart confided to his wife that his life was rapidly drawing to a close . . . and that he knew he had been poisoned.

In Vienna to pay her final respects, Nannerl soon finds herself ensnared in a web of suspicion and intrigue—as the actions of jealous lovers, sinister creditors, rival composers, and Mozarts Masonic brothers suggest that dark secrets hastened the genius to his grave. As Nannerl digs deeper into the mystery surrounding her brothers passing, Mozarts black fate threatens to overtake her as well.

Transporting readers to the salons and concert halls of eighteenth-century Austria, Mozarts Last Aria is a magnificent historical mystery that pulls back the curtain on a world of soaring music, burning passion, and powerful secrets.

About the Author

Matt Rees is an award-winning crime novelist and foreign correspondent. He is the author of the internationally acclaimed Omar Yussef crime series, including The Collaborator of Bethlehem. He is also the author of Cains Field, a nonfiction account of Israeli and Palestinian society. Matt lives in Jerusalem.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062015860
Author:
Rees, Matt
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Series:
P.S.
Publication Date:
20111131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8 x 5.3125 x 0.756757 in 8.8 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Cabin Fever (Diary of a Wimpy Kid #6)
    Used Hardcover $7.95
  2. Amulet #04: The Last Council Used Trade Paper $8.95
  3. The English Assassin Used Mass Market $3.95
  4. I Am Half-Sick of Shadows (Flavia de...
    Sale Hardcover $9.98
  5. Here on Earth: A Natural History of... New Trade Paper $16.00
  6. Authentic Happiness: Using the New...
    Used Trade Paper $7.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Mozart's Last Aria (P.S.) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Harper Perennial - English 9780062015860 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this engaging, well-paced book from crime novelist and journalist Rees (The Collaborator of Bethlehem), Mozart's estranged sister, Madame Maria Anna Berchtold von Sonnenburg (called Nannerl by her family), travels to Vienna to investigate the mysterious circumstances of her brother's sudden death. According to Nannerl's sister-in-law Constanze, Mozart had premonitions of murder before he died. In Vienna, Nannerl finds a web of deception, scandal, and fear revolving around the colorful, dangerous Freemasons, implicating Mozart in shadowy activities and pointing to his death by poison. Meanwhile, Nannerl's own musical career — once overshadowed by her prodigy brother's — is revived as she pays tribute to his compositions. Despite her reservations, she finds herself drawn to a powerful baron, himself caught up in all the intrigue. Combining Dan Brown or Elizabeth Kostova — style historical conspiracy theory with cozy detective novel, Rees's latest offers a genuinely felt reverence for the power of Mozart's music and its lasting impact in the world." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , The news arrives in a letter to his sister, Nannerl, in December 1791. But the message carries more than word of Nannerls brothers demise. Two months earlier, Mozart confided to his wife that his life was rapidly drawing to a close . . . and that he knew he had been poisoned.

In Vienna to pay her final respects, Nannerl soon finds herself ensnared in a web of suspicion and intrigue—as the actions of jealous lovers, sinister creditors, rival composers, and Mozarts Masonic brothers suggest that dark secrets hastened the genius to his grave. As Nannerl digs deeper into the mystery surrounding her brothers passing, Mozarts black fate threatens to overtake her as well.

Transporting readers to the salons and concert halls of eighteenth-century Austria, Mozarts Last Aria is a magnificent historical mystery that pulls back the curtain on a world of soaring music, burning passion, and powerful secrets.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.