The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.50
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy

The Colossus Rises (Seven Wonders #1)

by

The Colossus Rises (Seven Wonders #1) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

One Boy

Jack McKinley is an ordinary kid with an extraordinary problem. In a few months, he's going to die.

One Mission

Jack needs to find seven magic loculi that, when combined, have the power to cure him.

One Problem

The loculi are the relics of a lost civilization and haven't been seen in thousands of years.

Seven Wonders

Because they're hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.

The thrills begin in The Colossus Rises, the first installment in the epic seven-book adventure series Seven Wonders, from master storyteller and bestselling 39 Clues series author Peter Lerangis. The highly anticipated series has received early praise from Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series, who says, "A high-octane mix of modern adventure and ancient secrets, The Colossus Rises is Lerangis's most gripping work yet. Young readers will love this story. I can't wait to see what's next in the Seven Wonders series!"

Review:

"In this action-packed first novel in the Seven Wonders series, Jack McKinley, an imaginative kid with a penchant for Rube Goldberg — style devices, is kidnapped and brought to a mysterious island. There he learns that he and three other 13-year-olds carry a rare, often fatal gene; if they survive, the gene will confer superpowers on them and mark them as distantly descended from Atlantis. That ancient kingdom, they discover, was destroyed when its rulers misused the enormous power they wielded. Jack and his new friends have been recruited to rediscover the lost repositories of that power, which are connected to the wonders of the ancient world, such as the Colossus of Rhodes and the Lighthouse of Alexandria. Their survival, though, is far from guaranteed. Lerangis, contributor to the 39 Clues series, has created a real page-turner, and while the characters are somewhat one-dimensional (particularly the adults), there's a genuine sense of mystery and even a touch of grandeur to this tale. Lerangis aims squarely at the legions of Percy Jackson fans and hits his target. Ages 8 – 12. Agent: George Nicholson, Sterling Lord Literistic." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Review:

"The Seven Wonders series debuts with a bang: 13-year-old Jack McKinley will die unless he can locate the magic Loculi containing the ancient powers of Atlantis....Fans of Riordan, Rowling, and ancient myths and legends will welcome this new, if derivative opportunity for adventure and enchantment." Kirkus Reviews

About the Author

Peter Lerangis is the author of more than one hundred and sixty books, including two books in the New York Times bestselling 39 Clues series (The Sword Thief and The Viper's Nest) and one book in the 39 Clues: Cahills vs. Vespers series (The Dead of Night). Together, his books have sold more than five million copies and have been translated into twenty-eight different languages, Peter is a Harvard graduate with a degree in biochemistry. He has run a marathon and gone rock climbing during an earthquake — though not on the same day. He lives in New York City with his wife, musician Tina deVaron, and their two sons, Nick and Joe. In his spare time, he likes to eat chocolate.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062070401
Author:
Lerangis, Peter
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Illustrator:
Reagan, Mike
Illustrator:
Norstrand, Torstein
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Children s-Adventure Stories
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Series:
Seven Wonders
Publication Date:
20130231
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 3 up to 7
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 22.8 oz
Age Level:
from 8 up to 12

Other books you might like

  1. Delirium #03: Requiem
    Used Hardcover $6.95
  2. Undeadly (Reaper Diaries) Used Trade Paper $6.95
  3. Emeraldalicious New Mass Market $11.50
  4. Flyte: Septimus Heap#02 Used Hardcover $4.50
  5. The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus #01)
    Used Hardcover $4.95
  6. 39 Clues: Cahills vs. Vespers #06:... Used Hardcover $8.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Folk Tales » Mythical Creatures
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Middle Readers » New Arrivals
Children's » New Arrivals
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Featured Titles » Staff Favorites

The Colossus Rises (Seven Wonders #1) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.50 In Stock
Product details 368 pages HarperCollins - English 9780062070401 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this action-packed first novel in the Seven Wonders series, Jack McKinley, an imaginative kid with a penchant for Rube Goldberg — style devices, is kidnapped and brought to a mysterious island. There he learns that he and three other 13-year-olds carry a rare, often fatal gene; if they survive, the gene will confer superpowers on them and mark them as distantly descended from Atlantis. That ancient kingdom, they discover, was destroyed when its rulers misused the enormous power they wielded. Jack and his new friends have been recruited to rediscover the lost repositories of that power, which are connected to the wonders of the ancient world, such as the Colossus of Rhodes and the Lighthouse of Alexandria. Their survival, though, is far from guaranteed. Lerangis, contributor to the 39 Clues series, has created a real page-turner, and while the characters are somewhat one-dimensional (particularly the adults), there's a genuine sense of mystery and even a touch of grandeur to this tale. Lerangis aims squarely at the legions of Percy Jackson fans and hits his target. Ages 8 – 12. Agent: George Nicholson, Sterling Lord Literistic." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Review" by , "The Seven Wonders series debuts with a bang: 13-year-old Jack McKinley will die unless he can locate the magic Loculi containing the ancient powers of Atlantis....Fans of Riordan, Rowling, and ancient myths and legends will welcome this new, if derivative opportunity for adventure and enchantment."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.