Magnificent Marvel Supersale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | March 26, 2015

    Kyle Boelte: IMG Selfies, Memoir, and the World Beyond the Self



    When I was a teenager in Colorado during the late '90s, I liked to climb 14ers — 14,000-foot mountains. I'd often hike with friends, and at... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.50
List price: $14.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Hood

by

Hood Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A tale of grief and lust, frustration and hilarity, death and family

Penelope OGrady and Cara Wall are risking disaster when, like teenagers in any intolerant time and place—here, a Dublin convent school in the late 1970s—they fall in love. Yet Cara, the free spirit, and Pen, the stoic, craft a bond so strong it seems as though nothing could sever it: not the bickering, not the secrets, not even Caras infidelities.

But thirteen years on, a car crash kills Cara and rips the lid off Pens world. Pen is still in the closet, teaching at her old school, living under the roof of Caras gentle father, who thinks of her as his daughters friend. How can she survive widowhood without even daring to claim the word? Over the course of one surreal week of bereavement, she is battered by memories that range from the humiliating, to the exalted, to the erotic, to the funny. It will take Pen all her intelligence and wit to sort through her tumultuous past with Cara, and all the nerve she can muster to start remaking her life.

Synopsis:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Room,Emma Donoghue, Hood is a graceful tale of a young woman who must come toterms with love and loss in the wake of her partners sudden passing. The NewYork Times Book Review calls Hood “utterly charming,” writing that,“Ms. Donoghue displays her confidence by avoiding the grandiose and the showy,and dipping into the ordinary with control and the occasional sustainingdescriptive flashes of a born writer.” For readers of Jeanette Wintersons Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit and JoyceCarol Oatess The Widows Story, Donoghues Hood is a masterfullycrafted narrative of relationships and a daring, deft exploration of the lovesimperfection—and how it can nonetheless dominate our lives as we grow andchange.

About the Author

EMMA DONOGHUE has published six novels, including the internationally acclaimed and bestselling Slammerkin, Life Mask and The Sealed Letter, which was longlisted for the Giller Prize. Her most recent book, Room, won the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and was a finalist for the Governor General’s Award and the Man Booker Prize. Born in Ireland, Donoghue lives in London, Ontario, with her partner and their two children. Visit the author online at <>.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062117106
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Donoghue, Emma
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Gay and Lesbian-Lesbian Fiction
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20111011
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8 x 5.3125 x 0.756757 in 9.3 oz

Other books you might like

  1. James Herriot's Dog Stories Used Mass Market $3.50
  2. All Things Wise and Wonderful Used Mass Market $2.50
  3. Growing Organic Vegetables West of... Used Trade Paper $8.95
  4. Heartland Used Trade Paper $8.50

Related Subjects

» Featured Titles » New Arrivals
» Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
» Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Featured Titles
» Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Sale Books
» Gay and Lesbian » Fiction and Poetry » Gay Fiction
» Gay and Lesbian » Fiction and Poetry » Lesbian Fiction

Hood Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.50 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Harper Perennial - English 9780062117106 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , From the New York Times bestselling author of Room,Emma Donoghue, Hood is a graceful tale of a young woman who must come toterms with love and loss in the wake of her partners sudden passing. The NewYork Times Book Review calls Hood “utterly charming,” writing that,“Ms. Donoghue displays her confidence by avoiding the grandiose and the showy,and dipping into the ordinary with control and the occasional sustainingdescriptive flashes of a born writer.” For readers of Jeanette Wintersons Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit and JoyceCarol Oatess The Widows Story, Donoghues Hood is a masterfullycrafted narrative of relationships and a daring, deft exploration of the lovesimperfection&#8212;and how it can nonetheless dominate our lives as we grow andchange.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.