Minecraft Adventures B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | August 14, 2015

    Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz: IMG The Blind Spot of United States History



    The most frequent question readers ask about An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States is "Why hasn't this book been written before?" I'm... Continue »
    1. $11.20 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.95
List price: $13.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Psychology- Jung and Jungians
1 Hawthorne Psychology- Jung and Jungians

The Fisher King and the Handless Maiden: Understanding the Wounded Feeling Function in Masculine and Feminine Psychology

by

The Fisher King and the Handless Maiden: Understanding the Wounded Feeling Function in Masculine and Feminine Psychology Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

It is very dangerous when a wound is so common in a culture that hardly anyone knows there is a problem. Such is the case right now with our wounded feeling function — our inability to find joy, worth, and meaning in life. Robert A. Johnson, the celebrated author of He, She, and We, revisits two medieval tales and illuminates how this feeling function has become a casualty of our modern times.

Johnson tells the story of the Wounded Fisher King from the Grail Myth to illustrate the anxiety and loneliness that plague men. From the folktale of the Handless Maiden, he explains the very different frustrations of women and describes how these disparities in the way we suffer account for much of the tension and miscommunication between men and women. His insightful analysis shows that these two stories, created centuries ago, are even more relevant today.

Review:

"In this slender book, [Johnson] mines two important tales for what they can tell us about feeling not simply emotion but a grounded sense of values....A solid contribution to Jungian thought." Pat Monaghan, Booklist

Synopsis:

It is very dangerous when a wound is so common in a culture that hardly anyone knows there is a problem. Such is the case right now with our wounded feeling function- our inability to find joy, worth, and meaning in life. Robert A. Johnson, the celebra

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Annie Dillard and Natalie Goldberg, this resource for writers and non-writers alike shows the act of writing to be a dynamic means of knowing, healing, and creating the body, mind, and spirit.

About the Author

Robert A. Johnson, a noted lecturer and Jungian analyst, is also the author of He, She, We, Inner Work, Ecstasy, Transformation, and Owning Your Own Shadow.

Table of Contents

Introduction 1
The Fisher King 13
The Handless Maiden 53
Conclusion 99

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062506481
Author:
Johnson, Robert A
Publisher:
HarperOne
Author:
Johnson, Robert
Author:
Johnson, Robert A.
Author:
by Robert A. Johnson
Subject:
General
Subject:
Psychology
Subject:
Methodology
Subject:
Feminism & Feminist Theory
Subject:
Human Sexuality
Subject:
Masculinity (psychology)
Subject:
Masculinity
Subject:
Femininity.
Subject:
Methodology x
Subject:
Movements - Behaviorism
Subject:
General Self-Help
Subject:
Psychology : General
Copyright:
Edition Number:
Reprint ed.
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
April 15, 1995
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
128
Dimensions:
7.95x5.24x.36 in. .31 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. We: Understanding the Psychology of... Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. The Hero with a Thousand Faces
    Used Trade Paper $9.95
  3. Inner Work: Using Dreams and...
    Used Trade Paper $8.50
  4. Meeting the Shadow (New... Used Trade Paper $7.95
  5. Bollingen Series #0054: Amor and... Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Cognitive Science
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Jung and Jungians
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
Religion » Comparative Religion » General

The Fisher King and the Handless Maiden: Understanding the Wounded Feeling Function in Masculine and Feminine Psychology Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.95 In Stock
Product details 128 pages HarperSanFrancisco - English 9780062506481 Reviews:
"Review" by , "In this slender book, [Johnson] mines two important tales for what they can tell us about feeling not simply emotion but a grounded sense of values....A solid contribution to Jungian thought."
"Synopsis" by , It is very dangerous when a wound is so common in a culture that hardly anyone knows there is a problem. Such is the case right now with our wounded feeling function- our inability to find joy, worth, and meaning in life. Robert A. Johnson, the celebra
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Annie Dillard and Natalie Goldberg, this resource for writers and non-writers alike shows the act of writing to be a dynamic means of knowing, healing, and creating the body, mind, and spirit.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.