Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | October 21, 2014

    Katha Pollitt: IMG My Bookstore Fantasy — No Customers Necessary



    "Let's open a bookstore," I say to my husband every now and then. "A used bookstore. With a few new books we really like." I'm picturing an... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$2.95
List price: $3.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's- Early Readers
1 Burnside Children's- Early Readers

Owl at Home (I Can Read Books)

by

Owl at Home (I Can Read Books) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Celebrated author and illustrator Arnold Lobel welcomes you to Owl's cozy home in this Level 2 I Can Read book. Parents and beginning readers who enjoy Lobel's Frog and Toad series will fall in love with these warm stories featuring Owl. Owl lives by himself in a warm little house. But whether Owl is inviting Winter in on a snowy night or welcoming a new friend he meets while on a stroll, Owl always has room for visitors! This beloved classic was created for kids who read on their own but still need a little help.

Supports the Common Core Learning Standards

Synopsis:

Whether Owl is inviting Winter in on a snowy night or welcoming a new friend he meets while on a stroll, Owl always has room for visitors!

Synopsis:

"The picture book set will instantly warm to Owl, a plump little homebody, who makes 'Tear-water Tea, ' finds a friend in the moon, etc., in these five endearing stories".--School Library Journal. Three-color illustrations.

About the Author

During his distinguished career Arnold Lobel wrote and/or illustrated over 70 books for children. To his illustrating credit, he had a Caldecott Medal book — Fables (1981) — and two Caldecott Honor Books-his own Frog and Toad are Friends (1971) and Hildilid's Night by Cheli Duran Ryan (1972). To his writing credit, he had a Newbery Honor Book — Frog and Toad Together (1973). But to his greatest credit, he had a following of literally millions of young children with whom he shared the warmth and humor of his unpretentious vision of life.

Though he was a born storyteller — he began making up stories extemporaneously to entertain his fellow second-graders in Schenectady, New York, where he grew up in the care of his grandparents. Mr. Lobel called himself a "lucky amateur" in terms of his writing. Viewing himself as a professionally trained illustrator (he received a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from Pratt Institute), he said, "I know how to draw pictures. With writing, I don't really know what I'm doing. It's very intuitive."

In addition to the Frog and Toad books, Owl at Home, Mouse Tales, The Book of Pigericks, and many other popular books he created, Mr. Lobel also illustrated other writers' texts that captured his fancy. He viewed this as "something different and challenging." Often his illustrations for those books showed a different aspect of his personality and his artistic expertise, ranging from his meticulous dinosaurs in Dinosaur Time by Peggy Parish to his chilling pen-and-ink drawings in Nightmares: Poems to Trouble Your Sleep by Jack Prelutsky, about which Booklist wrote, "Young readers will be amazed that the gentle Lobel of Frog and Toad fame can be so comfortably diabolic."

In 1977 Mr. Lobel and his wife, Anita, a distinguished children's book author and artist in her own right, collaborated on their first book, How the Rooster Saved the Day, chosen by School Library Journal as one of the Best Books of the Year, 1977. They then collaborated on three more books, A Treeful of Pigs, a 1979 ALA Notable Book; On Market Street, a 1982 Caldecott Honor Book; and The Rose in My Garden, a 1984 Boston Globe/Horn Book Honor Book.

Arnold Lobel died in 1987.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780064440349
Author:
Lobel, Arnold
Publisher:
HarperTrophy
Author:
by Arnold Lobel
Location:
New York, N.Y. :
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Children's fiction
Subject:
Readers - Beginner
Subject:
Children's 4-8 - Fiction - General
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Animals - Birds
Subject:
Owls
Subject:
Owls -- Juvenile fiction.
Subject:
Children s humor
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback
Series:
I Can Read Book 2
Series Volume:
no. 740
Publication Date:
19820931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from K up to 3
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
64
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 0.1875 in 4 oz
Age Level:
06-08

Other books you might like

  1. Frog and Toad Are Friends (I Can... Used Trade Paper $2.50
  2. Frog and Toad All Year (I Can Read...
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  3. Frog and Toad Together (I Can Read... Used Trade Paper $2.95
  4. Night of the Ninjas (Magic Tree... Used Trade Paper $2.95
  5. Greg's Microscope (Science I Can... Used Trade Paper $2.50
  6. Pompeii--Buried Alive! (Step Into...
    New Trade Paper $3.99

Related Subjects

Children's » Animals » Birds
Children's » Beginning Readers » General
Children's » Early Readers
Children's » Humor
Children's » Series » I Can Read
Featured Titles » General

Owl at Home (I Can Read Books) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$2.95 In Stock
Product details 64 pages HarperTrophy - English 9780064440349 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Whether Owl is inviting Winter in on a snowy night or welcoming a new friend he meets while on a stroll, Owl always has room for visitors!
"Synopsis" by , "The picture book set will instantly warm to Owl, a plump little homebody, who makes 'Tear-water Tea, ' finds a friend in the moon, etc., in these five endearing stories".--School Library Journal. Three-color illustrations.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.