Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 18, 2014

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $8.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Airport Children's Young Adult- General
1 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General

The Burning Bridge (Ranger's Apprentice #02)

by

The Burning Bridge (Ranger's Apprentice #02) Cover

ISBN13: 9780142408421
ISBN10: 0142408425
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $4.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For years, the Kingdom of Araluen has prospered, with the evil lord Morgarath safely behind the impassable mountains. For years, its people have felt secure. but the scheming hand of the dark lord has not been idle....on a special mission for the rangers, will and his friend Horace, an apprentice knight, travel to a neighboring village and discover the unsettling truth: All the villagers have either been slain or captured. but why? Could it be that Morgarath has finally devised a plan to bring his legions over the supposedly insurmountable pass? if so, the kings army is in imminent danger of being crushed in a fierce ambush. And will and Horace are the only ones who can save them.

Review:

"This is an enticing new series that will capture the imagination of both boys and girls in the middle school range who are looking for fantasy selections." Children's Literature

Review:

"[A] surprise twist will keep readers on pins and needles waiting for the next book." VOYA

Review:

"[A] winning formula that should prove out to a long, steady run for this above average series." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

In this rousing sequel to The Ruins of Gorlan, the Rangers brace for a final clash with the evil Morgarath, and choose Will, along with his friend Horace, as special envoys to Celtica. But the simple mission soon takes an unsettling turn.

Synopsis:

Ranger's Apprentice, the international sensation, comes to a close in this twelfth installment.

For fans of Tolkien, Redwall, Game of Thrones, and T.H. White, RANGER'S APPRENTICE delivers fantasy-adventure thrills with real-world historical details.

John Flanagan returns for one final bow to the series that has conquered millions of readers worldwide with this pulse-pounding adventure that brings one era to a close, and ushers in the next 

Will Treaty has come a long way from the small boy with dreams of knighthood. Life had other plans for him, and as an apprentice Ranger under Halt, he grew into a legend—the finest Ranger the kingdom has ever known. Yet Will is facing a tragic battle that has left him grim and alone. To add to his problems, the time has come to take on an apprentice of his own, and its the last person he ever would have expected. Fighting his personal demons, Will has to win the trust and respect of his difficult new companion—a task that at times seems almost impossible.

. . .

 

Synopsis:

From the author of the global phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice!

They are outcasts. Hal, Stig, and the others - they are the boys the others want no part of. Skandians, as any reader of Ranger's Apprentice could tell you, are known for their size and strength. Not these boys. Yet that doesn't mean they don't have skills. And courage - which they will need every ounce of to do battle at sea against the other bands, the Wolves and the Sharks, in the ultimate race. The icy waters make for a treacherous playing field . . . especially when not everyone thinks of it as playing. John Flanagan, author of the international phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice, creates a new cast of characters to populate his world of Skandians and Araluens, a world millions of young readers around the world have come to know and admire. Full of seafaring adventures and epic battles, Book 1 of The Brotherband Chronicles is sure to thrill readers of Ranger's Apprentice while enticing a whole new generation just now discovering the books.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

About the Author

John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia, hoping to be a writer. It wasn't until he wrote a highly uncomplimentary poem about a senior executive at the agency where he worked, however, that his talent was revealed. It turned out one of the company directors agreed with John's assessment of the executive, and happily agreed to train John in copywriting. After writing advertising copy for the next two decades, John teamed with an old friend to develop a television sitcom, Hey Dad!, which went on to air for eight years. John began writing Ranger's Apprentice for his son, Michael, ten years ago, and is still hard at work on the series. He currently lives in the suburb of Manly, Australia, with his wife. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

balla_cky, October 2, 2008 (view all comments by balla_cky)
i liked the book! i want to read them all...
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(11 of 16 readers found this comment helpful)
2love2read2, May 20, 2007 (view all comments by 2love2read2)
I have read both books 1 & 2 to my school class. We can't get enough of it! We really would like to see books 3 & 4 come out soon! All my students like this series even better than Harry Potter. There is so much action and imagination and we like the setting of the book and the time period it takes place in. We especially like Will and his character! This is book is a must to read!!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(7 of 12 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142408421
Author:
Flanagan, John
Publisher:
Puffin Books
Author:
Flanagan, John A.
Subject:
Legends, Myths, & Fables - General
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Fantasy
Subject:
Heroes
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Imaginary wars and battles
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Ranger's Apprentice
Series Volume:
02
Publication Date:
20070631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 5 up to AND UP
Language:
English
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
7.73x5.06x.78 in. .48 lbs.
Age Level:
09-12

Other books you might like

  1. Inkheart
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  2. The Book Thief Used Trade Paper $6.95
  3. Emperor Mage (Immortals #03)
    Used Mass Market $5.50
  4. Elsewhere
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  5. Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. Rules
    Used Book Club Paperback $2.95

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Young Adult » General

The Burning Bridge (Ranger's Apprentice #02) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Puffin Books - English 9780142408421 Reviews:
"Review" by , "This is an enticing new series that will capture the imagination of both boys and girls in the middle school range who are looking for fantasy selections."
"Review" by , "[A] surprise twist will keep readers on pins and needles waiting for the next book."
"Review" by , "[A] winning formula that should prove out to a long, steady run for this above average series."
"Synopsis" by , In this rousing sequel to The Ruins of Gorlan, the Rangers brace for a final clash with the evil Morgarath, and choose Will, along with his friend Horace, as special envoys to Celtica. But the simple mission soon takes an unsettling turn.
"Synopsis" by ,
Ranger's Apprentice, the international sensation, comes to a close in this twelfth installment.

For fans of Tolkien, Redwall, Game of Thrones, and T.H. White, RANGER'S APPRENTICE delivers fantasy-adventure thrills with real-world historical details.

John Flanagan returns for one final bow to the series that has conquered millions of readers worldwide with this pulse-pounding adventure that brings one era to a close, and ushers in the next 

Will Treaty has come a long way from the small boy with dreams of knighthood. Life had other plans for him, and as an apprentice Ranger under Halt, he grew into a legend—the finest Ranger the kingdom has ever known. Yet Will is facing a tragic battle that has left him grim and alone. To add to his problems, the time has come to take on an apprentice of his own, and its the last person he ever would have expected. Fighting his personal demons, Will has to win the trust and respect of his difficult new companion—a task that at times seems almost impossible.

. . .

 

"Synopsis" by ,
From the author of the global phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice!

They are outcasts. Hal, Stig, and the others - they are the boys the others want no part of. Skandians, as any reader of Ranger's Apprentice could tell you, are known for their size and strength. Not these boys. Yet that doesn't mean they don't have skills. And courage - which they will need every ounce of to do battle at sea against the other bands, the Wolves and the Sharks, in the ultimate race. The icy waters make for a treacherous playing field . . . especially when not everyone thinks of it as playing. John Flanagan, author of the international phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice, creates a new cast of characters to populate his world of Skandians and Araluens, a world millions of young readers around the world have come to know and admire. Full of seafaring adventures and epic battles, Book 1 of The Brotherband Chronicles is sure to thrill readers of Ranger's Apprentice while enticing a whole new generation just now discovering the books.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.