Nonficionado Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | May 12, 2015

    Mark Bittman: IMG Six Things You Can Do to Join the Food Movement Today



    People ask me all the time what they can do to help improve the food system. Given that some of the problems that need fixing (like unsustainable... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $8.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General

After

by

After Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

 
When Imogen, a sixteen-year-old black belt in Tae Kwon Do, freezes during a holdup at a local diner, the gunman is shot and killed by the police, and she blames herself for his death. Before the shooting, she believed that her black belt made her stronger than everyone else—more responsible, more capable. But now that her sense of self has been challenged, she must rebuild her life, a process that includes redefining her relationship with her family and navigating first love with the boy who was at the diner with her during the shoot-out. With action, romance, and a complex heroine, Bruised introduces a vibrant new voice to the young adult world—full of dark humor and hard truths.

Praise for Bruised

STARRED REVIEW

"Offering psychological drama and an introduction to martial-arts code of behavior, the book has a meaningful message about power, control, and the internal bruises carried by victims."

Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Her story is compelling, and readers will stick with her as new insights bring about a believable shift in her behavior…This distinctive debut will be appreciated by fans of contemporary fiction."

Kirkus Reviews

"This layered first novel explores the aftereffects of the trauma, convincingly depicting why Imogen blames herself for a situation over which she had no control. Skilton also sensitively depicts the bond and tentative romance that develops between Imogen and Ricky. The main story line about Imogens struggle to come to terms with what she did (and did not do) is nuanced and honest."

Horn Book

"This is a useful exploration of the difference between fantasy-style omnipotence and the complexity of real-life human strength."

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Skilton does a fine job capturing how a psychological process after trauma can take time and might manifest in unique, sometimes unexpected, ways."

VOYA Magazine

"Poignant and emotionally raw at times and humorous at others, this debut novel adeptly portrays a shattered life in the wake of an unexpected act of violence and the road back to normalcy."

School Library Journal

"Here is a writer to watch who handles complex issues with sensitivity in the vein of Deb Caletti and Sarah Dessen."

Booklist

Synopsis:

Efaw tells a powerful story about an infant left in the trash to die, a teenage mother who never realized she was pregnant, and the girl's unforgettable journey toward clarity, acceptance, and redemption.

Synopsis:

National Book Award-winning author Han Nolan portrays a tough and defiant pregnant teen who discovers her strength and compassion—and courageous plan for her future—while working at a camp for overweight children.

Synopsis:

 «“Readers . . . will always feel like they are in the experienced hands of a master storyteller.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Nobody gets away with telling sixteen-year-old Eleanor Crowe what to do. But as a pregnant teen, her options are limited: move to Kenya with her missionary parents or marry the babys father and work at his familys summer camp for overweight kids. She chooses marriage. A camp tragedy prompts a series of events that overwhelms Elly with difficult choices. Somehow, she must leverage her usual stubbornness to ensure a future for herself and her baby. A fascinating character study.

Synopsis:

Who could do such a thing? Certainly not someone like Devon DavenportÑa straight-A student-athlete with everything going for her. But in a moment of denial, desperation, and sheer panic, she did something that most people couldnÕt even imagine. And now Devon is being charged with attempted murder. In a skillfully crafted story, Amy Efaw takes readers through the days leading up toÑand afterÑDevonÕs crime, painting an unexpected picture of a truly empathetic character caught up in an unimaginable situation.

About the Author

Amy Efaw (www.amyefaw.com) is a former Army officer and freelance journalist. She lives with her family in Denver, Colorado. This is her second novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142415900
Author:
Efaw, Amy
Publisher:
Speak
Author:
Skilton, Sarah
Author:
Nolan, Han
Subject:
Law & Crime
Subject:
Social Issues - Peer Pressure
Subject:
Situations / Peer Pressure
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Situations / Pregnancy
Subject:
Martial arts
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20101231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 x 1 in
Age Level:
12-17

Other books you might like

  1. Night Runner Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. Tales of the Madman Underground: An... Used Hardcover $8.95
  3. Love You Hate You Miss You
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  4. Breaking Dawn (Twilight Saga #4)
    Used Hardcover $2.95
  5. Hero
    Used Trade Paper $6.00
  6. Chains
    Used Book Club Paperback $2.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Sale Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Pregnancy
Young Adult » General

After Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Speak - English 9780142415900 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Efaw tells a powerful story about an infant left in the trash to die, a teenage mother who never realized she was pregnant, and the girl's unforgettable journey toward clarity, acceptance, and redemption.
"Synopsis" by ,
National Book Award-winning author Han Nolan portrays a tough and defiant pregnant teen who discovers her strength and compassion—and courageous plan for her future—while working at a camp for overweight children.
"Synopsis" by ,  «“Readers . . . will always feel like they are in the experienced hands of a master storyteller.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Nobody gets away with telling sixteen-year-old Eleanor Crowe what to do. But as a pregnant teen, her options are limited: move to Kenya with her missionary parents or marry the babys father and work at his familys summer camp for overweight kids. She chooses marriage. A camp tragedy prompts a series of events that overwhelms Elly with difficult choices. Somehow, she must leverage her usual stubbornness to ensure a future for herself and her baby. A fascinating character study.

"Synopsis" by ,
Who could do such a thing? Certainly not someone like Devon DavenportÑa straight-A student-athlete with everything going for her. But in a moment of denial, desperation, and sheer panic, she did something that most people couldnÕt even imagine. And now Devon is being charged with attempted murder. In a skillfully crafted story, Amy Efaw takes readers through the days leading up toÑand afterÑDevonÕs crime, painting an unexpected picture of a truly empathetic character caught up in an unimaginable situation.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.