Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | October 21, 2014

    Anne Rice: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Anne Rice



    These are the songs that wake me up, take me out of my worries and anxieties, wash my brain cells, and send me to the keyboard to write with new... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.95
List price: $26.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Crafts- Miscellaneous Collecting
1 Local Warehouse Travel- General
1 Local Warehouse Crafts- Miscellaneous Collecting

Transit Maps of the World

by

Transit Maps of the World Cover

ISBN13: 9780143112655
ISBN10: 0143112651
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $16.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:


Transit Maps of the World is the first and only comprehensive collection of historic and current maps of every rapid-transit system on earth. Using glorious, colorful graphics, Mark Ovenden traces the history of mass transit-including rare and historic maps, diagrams, and photographs, some available for the first time since their original publication. Transit Maps of the World is the graphic designers new bible, the transport enthusiasts dream collection, and a coffee-table essential for everyone whos ever traveled in a city.

Book News Annotation:

Though pursuing a career in media and music, Ovenden never lost his childhood fascination--some might say obsession--with mass transit systems and their cartographic representation. Here he collects the official maps of urban rail systems in 82 cities around the world. He briefly reviews the extend, operation, and history of the system itself, but always his main interest is the graphics that managers and cartographers provide users, and how those have changed over the years more to reflect changes in thinking about representation and perception than to keep up with expanding rail service. Photographs and reproductions of pamphlet covers and other graphics add to the color of the maps themselves. First published as Metro Maps of the World by Capital Transport Publishing in 2003 and revised in 2005; this edition has been revised and expanded again. Annotation ©2009 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Synopsis:

Recommended by The New York Times Book Reviewand#160; ["This handsomely designed volume makes a case for the diagrams...provoking many 'aha moments.'"]

A collection of the most important ideas, theories, and concepts of all time

100 Diagrams That Changed the World is a fascinating collection of the most significant plans, sketches, drawings, and illustrations that have influenced and shaped the way we think about the world. From primitive cave paintings to Leonardo da Vinciand#8217;s Vitruvian Man to the complicated DNA helix drawn by Crick and Watson to the innovation of the iPod, they chart dramatic breakthroughs in our understanding of the world and its history. Arranged chronologically, each diagram is accompanied by informative text that makes even the most scientific breakthrough accessible to all.and#160;

Beautifully illustrated in full color, this book will not only inform but also entertain as it demonstrates how the power of a single drawing can enhance, change, or even revolutionize our understanding of the world. With its iconic images and powerful explanations, 100 Diagrams That Changed the World is perfect for readers of The History of the World in 100 Objects, and is the ideal gift for anyone interested in culture, history, science, or technology.and#160;

and#160;

Synopsis:

Recommended by The New York Times Book Reviewand#160; ["This handsomely designed volume makes a case for the diagrams...provoking many 'aha moments.'"]

A collection of the most important ideas, theories, and concepts of all time

100 Diagrams That Changed the World is a fascinating collection of the most significant plans, sketches, drawings, and illustrations that have influenced and shaped the way we think about the world. From primitive cave paintings to Leonardo da Vinciand#8217;s Vitruvian Man to the complicated DNA helix drawn by Crick and Watson to the innovation of the iPod, they chart dramatic breakthroughs in our understanding of the world and its history. Arranged chronologically, each diagram is accompanied by informative text that makes even the most scientific breakthrough accessible to all.and#160;

Beautifully illustrated in full color, this book will not only inform but also entertain as it demonstrates how the power of a single drawing can enhance, change, or even revolutionize our understanding of the world. With its iconic images and powerful explanations, 100 Diagrams That Changed the World is perfect for readers of The History of the World in 100 Objects, and is the ideal gift for anyone interested in culture, history, science, or technology.and#160;

and#160;

About the Author

Mark Ovenden is a writer and broadcaster in London.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Larry Robinson, February 12, 2008 (view all comments by Larry Robinson)
What a great book. For the travel lover, or the map lover, this is the book for you. The book includes the map of every major urban train system in the world. For some of the bigger/older systems, historical information is included. Sit down with this book for a couple of hours and imagine all the great places you will visit.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(10 of 16 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143112655
Subtitle:
From the Earliest Cave Paintings to the Innovation of the iPod
Author:
Ovenden, Mark
Editor:
Ashworth, Mike
Author:
Ashworth, Mike
Author:
Christianson, Scott
Publisher:
Plume
Subject:
Public Transportation
Subject:
Maps & Road Atlases
Subject:
Railroads
Subject:
History
Subject:
Atlases - General
Subject:
Subways -- History.
Subject:
Local transit -- History.
Subject:
General-General
Subject:
Railroads - Pictorial
Subject:
World
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
November 2007
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
4-color throughout
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
9.46x10.84x.36 in. 1.35 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Life as We Knew It
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. The Power of Maps (Mappings)
    Used Trade Paper $9.95
  3. Bestcredit: How to Win the Credit Game New Trade Paper $32.00
  4. The Last Continent (Discworld Novels)
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  5. 1080 Recipes Used Hardcover $26.00
  6. He Said, She Said Used Trade Paper $1.00

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Excess Culture » Objects
Hobbies, Crafts, and Leisure » Crafts » Miscellaneous Collecting
Hobbies, Crafts, and Leisure » Crafts » Paper Ephemera Collectibles
Science and Mathematics » Featured Titles in Tech » Computers
Science and Mathematics » Featured Titles in Tech » General
Transportation » Automotive » General
Transportation » Railroads » Electric and Street Railroads
Travel » Atlases » General
Travel » Featured Titles
Travel » Maps » Maps and Road Atlases
Travel » Oversized Books
Travel » World Miscellaneous

Transit Maps of the World Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.95 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143112655 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
Recommended by The New York Times Book Reviewand#160; ["This handsomely designed volume makes a case for the diagrams...provoking many 'aha moments.'"]

A collection of the most important ideas, theories, and concepts of all time

100 Diagrams That Changed the World is a fascinating collection of the most significant plans, sketches, drawings, and illustrations that have influenced and shaped the way we think about the world. From primitive cave paintings to Leonardo da Vinciand#8217;s Vitruvian Man to the complicated DNA helix drawn by Crick and Watson to the innovation of the iPod, they chart dramatic breakthroughs in our understanding of the world and its history. Arranged chronologically, each diagram is accompanied by informative text that makes even the most scientific breakthrough accessible to all.and#160;

Beautifully illustrated in full color, this book will not only inform but also entertain as it demonstrates how the power of a single drawing can enhance, change, or even revolutionize our understanding of the world. With its iconic images and powerful explanations, 100 Diagrams That Changed the World is perfect for readers of The History of the World in 100 Objects, and is the ideal gift for anyone interested in culture, history, science, or technology.and#160;

and#160;

"Synopsis" by ,
Recommended by The New York Times Book Reviewand#160; ["This handsomely designed volume makes a case for the diagrams...provoking many 'aha moments.'"]

A collection of the most important ideas, theories, and concepts of all time

100 Diagrams That Changed the World is a fascinating collection of the most significant plans, sketches, drawings, and illustrations that have influenced and shaped the way we think about the world. From primitive cave paintings to Leonardo da Vinciand#8217;s Vitruvian Man to the complicated DNA helix drawn by Crick and Watson to the innovation of the iPod, they chart dramatic breakthroughs in our understanding of the world and its history. Arranged chronologically, each diagram is accompanied by informative text that makes even the most scientific breakthrough accessible to all.and#160;

Beautifully illustrated in full color, this book will not only inform but also entertain as it demonstrates how the power of a single drawing can enhance, change, or even revolutionize our understanding of the world. With its iconic images and powerful explanations, 100 Diagrams That Changed the World is perfect for readers of The History of the World in 100 Objects, and is the ideal gift for anyone interested in culture, history, science, or technology.and#160;

and#160;

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.