This is Real Life Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | February 16, 2015

    Mary Pilon: IMG The Coffee Shops I Have Loved



    "Should I kill myself, or have a cup of coffee?" – Albert Camus In the five years it took for me to complete my book, The Monopolists, I wrote... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Mystery- A to Z

The Truth-Teller's Lie

by

The Truth-Teller's Lie Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"A superbly creepy, twisty thriller” (The Times (London)) by the internationally best-selling author of The Other Woman’s House and The Wrong Mother

Naomi Jenkins knows all about secrets: three years ago something so terrible happened to her that she's never told anyone about it. Now, Naomi has another secret: her relationship with the unhappily married Robert Haworth. When Robert vanishes without explanation, Naomi knows he must have come to harm. But the police are less convinced, particularly when Robert's wife insists he is not missing. In desperation, Naomi decides that if she can't persuade the detectives that Robert is in danger, she'll convince them that he is a danger to others. Naomi knows how to describe the actions of a psychopath; all she needs to do is dig up her own traumatic past.
 
The second book in Sophie Hannah’s beloved Zailer and Waterhouse series, The Truth-Teller’s Lie is a chillingly smart suspense novel sure to appeal to fans of Tess Gerritsen and Gillian Flynn.

Synopsis:

After her lover Robert vanishes without explanation, Naomi knows he must have come to harm. But the police are less convinced, particularly when Robert's wife insists he is not missing. In desperation, Naomi decides that if she can't persuade the detectives that Robert is in danger, she'll convince them that he is a danger to others.

Synopsis:

and#147;A fiercely intelligent, multilayered thrillerand#8221; (Kirkus Reviews) from the bestselling author of Blue Monday

Nicci Frenchand#8217;s first Frieda Klein mystery, Blue Monday, won rave reviews everywhereand#151;from People magazine to the New York Times Book Reviewand#151;and earned comparisons to bestsellers by Kate Atkinson and Laura Lippman. In Tuesdayand#8217;s Gone, the solitary London psychotherapist returns in a brilliant thriller even more twisted than the last.

On a routine home visit, a London social worker discovers her psychotic client serving tea to a naked, decomposing corpse. Unable to make sense of the womanand#8217;s confused ramblings, Detective Chief Inspector Karlsson asks Frieda Klein for help uncovering the dead manand#8217;s identity. Frieda soon learns that he was a notorious con manand#151;one Robert Poole. But Frieda canand#8217;t help feeling that Poole was killed to embroil her in the investigation, that her past isnand#8217;t done with her yet. And if so, is Frieda herself the next victim?

Synopsis:

The latest in Sophie Hannahs internationally bestselling Zailer and Waterhouse series, named by The Sunday Times as one of the 50 Best Thrillers of the Last Five Years

When Gabys plane is delayed, shes forced to share a hotel room with a stranger: Lauren, who is terrified of her. But why is she scared of Gaby in particular? Lauren wont explain. Instead, she blurts out something about an innocent man going to prison for murder. Gaby soon suspects that Laurens presence on her flight isnt a coincidence, because the murder victim is Francine Breary, the wife of the only man Gaby has ever truly loved.

Tim Breary has confessed. Hes even provided the police with evidence. The only thing he hasnt given them is a motive. He claims to have no idea why he murdered his wife…

About the Author

Sophie Hannah is an internationally bestselling crime fiction writer. She is also a renowned poet and award-winning short story author. She lives in Yorkshire, England.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143115854
Author:
Hannah, Sophie
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Author:
Kelly, Erin
Author:
French, Nicci
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Suspense
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
A Zailer & Waterhouse Mystery
Series Volume:
8
Publication Date:
20100931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
b/w map in front matter
Pages:
480
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
17-17

Other books you might like

  1. Every Secret Thing: A Novel of Suspense Used Mass Market $4.95
  2. A Month of Summer Used Trade Paper $4.95
  3. Moon Shell Beach Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. The Promised World Used Trade Paper $4.50
  5. Goodnight, Beautiful Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense

The Truth-Teller's Lie Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 480 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143115854 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , After her lover Robert vanishes without explanation, Naomi knows he must have come to harm. But the police are less convinced, particularly when Robert's wife insists he is not missing. In desperation, Naomi decides that if she can't persuade the detectives that Robert is in danger, she'll convince them that he is a danger to others.
"Synopsis" by ,
and#147;A fiercely intelligent, multilayered thrillerand#8221; (Kirkus Reviews) from the bestselling author of Blue Monday

Nicci Frenchand#8217;s first Frieda Klein mystery, Blue Monday, won rave reviews everywhereand#151;from People magazine to the New York Times Book Reviewand#151;and earned comparisons to bestsellers by Kate Atkinson and Laura Lippman. In Tuesdayand#8217;s Gone, the solitary London psychotherapist returns in a brilliant thriller even more twisted than the last.

On a routine home visit, a London social worker discovers her psychotic client serving tea to a naked, decomposing corpse. Unable to make sense of the womanand#8217;s confused ramblings, Detective Chief Inspector Karlsson asks Frieda Klein for help uncovering the dead manand#8217;s identity. Frieda soon learns that he was a notorious con manand#151;one Robert Poole. But Frieda canand#8217;t help feeling that Poole was killed to embroil her in the investigation, that her past isnand#8217;t done with her yet. And if so, is Frieda herself the next victim?

"Synopsis" by ,
The latest in Sophie Hannahs internationally bestselling Zailer and Waterhouse series, named by The Sunday Times as one of the 50 Best Thrillers of the Last Five Years

When Gabys plane is delayed, shes forced to share a hotel room with a stranger: Lauren, who is terrified of her. But why is she scared of Gaby in particular? Lauren wont explain. Instead, she blurts out something about an innocent man going to prison for murder. Gaby soon suspects that Laurens presence on her flight isnt a coincidence, because the murder victim is Francine Breary, the wife of the only man Gaby has ever truly loved.

Tim Breary has confessed. Hes even provided the police with evidence. The only thing he hasnt given them is a motive. He claims to have no idea why he murdered his wife…

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.