The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
List price: $6.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's Middle Readers- General

The Borrowers (Odyssey/Harcourt Young Classic)

by

The Borrowers (Odyssey/Harcourt Young Classic) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The Borrowers—the Clock family: Homily, Pod, and their fourteen-year-old daughter, Arrietty, to be precise—are tiny people who live underneath the kitchen floor of an old English country manor. All their minuscule home furnishings, from postage stamp paintings to champagne cork chairs, are “borrowed” from the “human beans” who tromp around loudly above them. All is well until Pod is spotted upstairs by a human boy! Can the Clocks stay nested safely in their beloved hidden home, or will they be forced to flee? The British author Mary Norton won the Carnegie Medal for The Borrowers in 1952, the year it was first published in England. This repackaged paperback edition still has the delightful original black-and-white illustrations by Beth and Joe Krush inside. A charmer!
Awards: 1952 Carnegie Medal, a Lewis Carroll Shelf Award Book
Dont miss the other classics in the Borrowers series: The Borrowers Afield, The Borrowers Afloat, The Borrowers Aloft, and The Borrowers Avenged.

Synopsis:

A big celebration for three tiny heroes ... The Borrowers are fifty!

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Andrew Clements and Dan Gutman, By the Grace of Todd is the laugh-out-loud answer to what happens if you leave dirty laundry on the floor . . . and dont follow your mothers instructions to clean your room.

Twelve-year-old Todd has created life through sheer grossness.

How did he become an accidental god?

Ingredient A: A worn athletic sock

Ingredient B: Dirt from the Great and Powerful Todd himself

Instructions: Leave under bed for months. Do not clean room.

Yields: 50 ant-sized Toddlians

BUT WATCH OUT! When school bully Max Loving puts the future of the tiny Toddlians in jeopardy, Todd will have to do everything in his power to save the race his very negligence created.

Synopsis:

This is the classic story--read and loved by children all over the world--of Pod, Homily, and their daughter, Arrietty, who live under the kitchen floor in a quiet, half-empty house and get their livelihood by borrowing from the “human beans.” “Delectable fantasy.”--Booklist

About the Author

MARY NORTON (1903-1992) lived in England, where she was an actress playwright, and award-winning author. As a child she created a make-believe world in which tiny people inhabited the hedgerows, living their lives out of the sight of humans. It is from this private fantasy that her most well-known books, those about the Borrowers, came about.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780152047375
Author:
Krush, Beth; Krush, Joe
Author:
Krush, Joe
Illustrator:
Krush, Beth
Illustrator:
Krush, Beth; Krush, Joe
Author:
Krush, Beth
Author:
Galveston, Louise
Publisher:
Odyssey Classics
Location:
San Diego
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - General
Subject:
Fantasy
Subject:
Borrowers
Subject:
Childrens classics
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Copyright:
Edition Number:
50
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series:
Borrowers
Series Volume:
no. 538
Publication Date:
20030431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 3 to 5
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Black-and-white illustrations
Pages:
192
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
08-UP

Other books you might like

  1. Indian in the Cupboard #1: The...
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  2. The Phantom Tollbooth
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  3. James and the Giant Peach Used Trade Paper $1.95
  4. Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH...
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  5. Holes
    Used Book Club Paperback $3.50
  6. A Wrinkle in Time
    Used Trade Paper $2.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Classics » General
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Sale Books

The Borrowers (Odyssey/Harcourt Young Classic) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 192 pages Odyssey Classics - English 9780152047375 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
A big celebration for three tiny heroes ... The Borrowers are fifty!

"Synopsis" by ,
Perfect for fans of Andrew Clements and Dan Gutman, By the Grace of Todd is the laugh-out-loud answer to what happens if you leave dirty laundry on the floor . . . and dont follow your mothers instructions to clean your room.

Twelve-year-old Todd has created life through sheer grossness.

How did he become an accidental god?

Ingredient A: A worn athletic sock

Ingredient B: Dirt from the Great and Powerful Todd himself

Instructions: Leave under bed for months. Do not clean room.

Yields: 50 ant-sized Toddlians

BUT WATCH OUT! When school bully Max Loving puts the future of the tiny Toddlians in jeopardy, Todd will have to do everything in his power to save the race his very negligence created.

"Synopsis" by ,
This is the classic story--read and loved by children all over the world--of Pod, Homily, and their daughter, Arrietty, who live under the kitchen floor in a quiet, half-empty house and get their livelihood by borrowing from the “human beans.” “Delectable fantasy.”--Booklist

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.