Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

The End of the Beginning: Being the Adventures of a Small Snail (and an Even Smaller Ant)

by and

The End of the Beginning: Being the Adventures of a Small Snail (and an Even Smaller Ant) Cover

ISBN13: 9780152049683
ISBN10: 0152049681
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $7.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Avon the snail has never had an adventure. And adventure, he has heard, is the key to a happy life. So with his new friend Edward the ant, Avon sets out on a journey to find the excitement his life has been missing.

The travelers meet all manner of wise, weird, and intriguing creatures — including a dragon! — and it's not long before their adventures begin.

In the tradition of such classics as The Little Prince, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, and Winnie-the-Pooh, this completely original story — a modern fable for our time — brims with wit, wisdom, and profound insights about the meaning of things great and small.

Review:

"Newbery medalist Avi (Crispin) returns to animal fantasy with this gently humorous tale about two travelers in search of excitement, an earlier version of which appeared as a beginning reader (Snail Tale: The Adventures of a Rather Small Snail, 1972). Avon the snail wants adventures like the characters he reads about in books. He sets aside caution and heads out, immediately meeting Edward, a cocksure ant who has (mostly wrong) answers for all of Avon's worries. Avi's droll wit spices the rather quiet journey, as when Edward goes to formally greet his new friend: 'When he realized Avon did not have hands, he shook one of his own. 'Pleased to meet you,' he said.' Careful listeners will figure out the travelers' trip consists of the length of a long branch and will enjoy being in the know when Avon and Edward clearly aren't. What qualifies as excitement for this pair may not raise goose bumps on anybody else's skin — they mistake a mouse for a dragon ('good dragons disguise themselves as nice creatures, and bad dragons as nasty ones,' Ant explains), and must 'battle' an oncoming snail in order to pass one another on the narrow branch. But the bite-size chapters and the clever reparte make this a charming tale, and the occasional, slightly anthropomorphized pencil illustrations show Avon and Edward to be the friendliest of creatures. All ages." Publishers Weekly (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Whimsical pen-and-ink sketches add much to this wise little book. It's perfect for reading and discussing." Connie Tyrrell Burns, School Library Journal

Synopsis:

An unusual and inspiring story from Newbery Medalist Avi

Synopsis:

Avon the snail has never had an adventure. And adventure, he has heard, is the key to a happy life. So with his new friend Edward the ant, Avon sets out on a journey to find the excitement his life has been missing.

    

This modern fable is filled with funny--and profound--insights about the meaning of things . . . great and small.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of "The Little Prince" and "Alice in Wonderland," this completely original story--a modern fable for today--from the Newbery Medalist brims with wit, wisdom, and profound insights about the meaning of things great and small. Illustrations.

About the Author

Avi has written many acclaimed novels for middle grade and teen readers, including his Newbery Medal-winning Crispin: The Cross of Lead and his two Newbery Honor Books, Nothing But the Truth: A Documentary Novel and The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle. He lives in Denver, Colorado.

Tricia Tusa has illustrated several picture books, including Mrs. Spitzer's Garden by Edith Pattou and her own Maebelle's Suitcase; Camilla's New Hairdo, a Parents Magazine Best Book; and Bunnies in My Head, which also features drawings by the young patients at the M. D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. She lives in Houston, Texas.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Patricia Anderson, June 8, 2009 (view all comments by Patricia Anderson)
My almost 6 & 8 year-old grandchildren loved this story and the sequel: A Beginning, A Muddle and The End. Lovely little stories with enchanting pictures. The stories are simple lessons in life and the use of language is superior: both kids totally got the play on words. The 6 year-old was able to read most of the book herself.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780152049683
Illustrator:
Tusa, Tricia
Publisher:
Harcourt Children's Books
Illustrator:
Tusa, Tricia
Author:
Avi
Author:
Tusa, Tricia
Location:
Orlando, Fla.
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Animals - General
Subject:
Legends, Myths, & Fables - General
Subject:
Adventure and adventurers
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Literature - Classics / Contemporary
Subject:
Ants
Subject:
Insects
Subject:
Voyages and travels
Subject:
Snails
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Legends, Myths, & Fables - Other
Subject:
Children s-Fables
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Picture book
Series Volume:
18445
Publication Date:
20041031
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 3
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Black-and-white illustrations
Pages:
144
Dimensions:
6.75 x 5.5 in 0.64 lb
Age Level:
09-12

Other books you might like

  1. A Series of Unfortunate Events #03:... Used Hardcover $2.50
  2. Series of Unfortunate Events #09:...
    Used Book Club Paperback $2.95
  3. Series of Unfortunate Events #05:...
    Used Hardcover $3.25
  4. The Dollhouse Murders Used Trade Paper $2.95
  5. Jackie's Wild Seattle Used Trade Paper $5.00

Related Subjects

Children's » Animals » Insects, Spiders, etc.
Children's » Fables
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The End of the Beginning: Being the Adventures of a Small Snail (and an Even Smaller Ant) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.50 In Stock
Product details 144 pages Harcourt Children's Books - English 9780152049683 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Newbery medalist Avi (Crispin) returns to animal fantasy with this gently humorous tale about two travelers in search of excitement, an earlier version of which appeared as a beginning reader (Snail Tale: The Adventures of a Rather Small Snail, 1972). Avon the snail wants adventures like the characters he reads about in books. He sets aside caution and heads out, immediately meeting Edward, a cocksure ant who has (mostly wrong) answers for all of Avon's worries. Avi's droll wit spices the rather quiet journey, as when Edward goes to formally greet his new friend: 'When he realized Avon did not have hands, he shook one of his own. 'Pleased to meet you,' he said.' Careful listeners will figure out the travelers' trip consists of the length of a long branch and will enjoy being in the know when Avon and Edward clearly aren't. What qualifies as excitement for this pair may not raise goose bumps on anybody else's skin — they mistake a mouse for a dragon ('good dragons disguise themselves as nice creatures, and bad dragons as nasty ones,' Ant explains), and must 'battle' an oncoming snail in order to pass one another on the narrow branch. But the bite-size chapters and the clever reparte make this a charming tale, and the occasional, slightly anthropomorphized pencil illustrations show Avon and Edward to be the friendliest of creatures. All ages." Publishers Weekly (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Whimsical pen-and-ink sketches add much to this wise little book. It's perfect for reading and discussing."
"Synopsis" by ,
An unusual and inspiring story from Newbery Medalist Avi

"Synopsis" by ,
Avon the snail has never had an adventure. And adventure, he has heard, is the key to a happy life. So with his new friend Edward the ant, Avon sets out on a journey to find the excitement his life has been missing.

    

This modern fable is filled with funny--and profound--insights about the meaning of things . . . great and small.

"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of "The Little Prince" and "Alice in Wonderland," this completely original story--a modern fable for today--from the Newbery Medalist brims with wit, wisdom, and profound insights about the meaning of things great and small. Illustrations.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.