No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | January 15, 2015

    Mary Helen Specht: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Mary Helen Specht



    Migratory Animals is mostly set in Texas during the first years of the most recent recession, when the cast of characters — an eclectic group... Continue »
    1. $10.49 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

      Migratory Animals (P.S.)

      Mary Helen Specht 9780062346032

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$1.46
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Mr. Mee

by

Mr. Mee Cover

 

Awards

A New York Times Notable Book of 2001

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A New York Times Notable Book of the Year

In this inventive novel, octogenarian book collector Mr. Mee discovers the Internet with life-changing results. Told from the points of view of the guileless Mr. Mee, two eighteenth century French philosophers, and a middle-aged university professor, Andrew Crumey's book concerns the creation and mysterious disappearance of Rosier's Encyclopedia, an explosive text written more than two hundred years ago that purportedly disproves the existence of the universe. At times funny, often thought-provoking, and completely engaging, Mr. Mee is Crumey's most rewarding novel to date.

Review:

"Fans of Tom Stoppard and Michael Frayn will relish this novel's puzzles and paradoxes, its unfolding and ingenious designs....Crumey is a confident narrator, and his book has a heart as well as a brain. It is not only an intellectual treat but a moving meditation on aspiration and desire." Hilary Mantel, The New York Times Book Review

Review:

"In all three stories, the protagonists lose the mastery of their fates to that old devil Lust...and an epilogue in Proust's bedroom puts the bow, so to speak, on this brainy, comical package." Ray Olson, Booklist

Review:

"The playful preoccupation with alternative realities that dominated Scots author Crumey's previous fiction also informs this richly amusing novel....[W]onderfully obsessive characters....Rattling back and forth between two centuries, this agreeably serpentine tale speaks volumes about the folly of scholarly preoccupation and the unreliability of received wisdom, while never neglecting to entertain the bedazzled reader." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"[A] learned romp...enriching, enlightening, and highly entertaining." Barbara Fisher, The Boston Globe

Review:

"Crumey has written another novel of ideas in the grand tradition of Calvino, Borges, and Kundera....[A] delightful romp....The novel isn't perfect — its philosophical asides can be hard going...but Crumey's light treatment of hefty material should win the minds, if not the hearts, of his readers." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Andrew Crumey's new novel Mr. Mee disturbs as it diverts, charms as it challenges. As the 'me' in Mr. Mee slyly suggests, this is a novel that ponders — and plays with — the mysteries of selfhood, consciousness, and reality." Merle Rubin, Washington Times

About the Author

Andrew Crumey is the author of three previous novels, Music, In a Foreign Language, which won Scotland's Saltire Prize for Best First Novel, Pfitz, which was a New York Times Notable Book, and D'Alembert's Principle. He lives in Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312282356
Author:
Crumey, Andrew
Publisher:
Picador USA
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Encyclopedias and dictionaries
Subject:
England
Subject:
Cosmology
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Internet
Subject:
College teachers
Subject:
Aged men
Subject:
Humorous fiction
Subject:
Book collectors.
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Older men
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Literary
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st Picador USA ed.
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series Volume:
no. 01-02
Publication Date:
March 2002
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.5 x 0.793 in

Other books you might like

  1. The Subtle Knife: His Dark... Used Trade Paper $2.50
  2. The Keepers of Truth: A Novel Used Trade Paper $1.46
  3. Blood Meridian: Or the Evening...
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  4. The Time Traveler's Wife
    Used Hardcover $4.50
  5. Lovers for a Day: New and Collected... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  6. Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
    Used Trade Paper $1.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Mr. Mee Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$1.46 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Picador USA - English 9780312282356 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Fans of Tom Stoppard and Michael Frayn will relish this novel's puzzles and paradoxes, its unfolding and ingenious designs....Crumey is a confident narrator, and his book has a heart as well as a brain. It is not only an intellectual treat but a moving meditation on aspiration and desire."
"Review" by , "In all three stories, the protagonists lose the mastery of their fates to that old devil Lust...and an epilogue in Proust's bedroom puts the bow, so to speak, on this brainy, comical package."
"Review" by , "The playful preoccupation with alternative realities that dominated Scots author Crumey's previous fiction also informs this richly amusing novel....[W]onderfully obsessive characters....Rattling back and forth between two centuries, this agreeably serpentine tale speaks volumes about the folly of scholarly preoccupation and the unreliability of received wisdom, while never neglecting to entertain the bedazzled reader."
"Review" by , "[A] learned romp...enriching, enlightening, and highly entertaining."
"Review" by , "Crumey has written another novel of ideas in the grand tradition of Calvino, Borges, and Kundera....[A] delightful romp....The novel isn't perfect — its philosophical asides can be hard going...but Crumey's light treatment of hefty material should win the minds, if not the hearts, of his readers."
"Review" by , "Andrew Crumey's new novel Mr. Mee disturbs as it diverts, charms as it challenges. As the 'me' in Mr. Mee slyly suggests, this is a novel that ponders — and plays with — the mysteries of selfhood, consciousness, and reality."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.