Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.50
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Mystery- A to Z

The Silver Pigs (Marcus Didius Falco Mysteries)

by

The Silver Pigs (Marcus Didius Falco Mysteries) Cover

 

Staff Pick

Fans of Steven Saylor and P. C. Doherty will be delighted with Lindsey Davis's clever mystery series featuring cheeky Roman sleuth Marcus Didius Falco and sharp-tongued senator's daughter Helena Justina.
Recommended by Carrie, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Readers and critics alike have fallen in love with Lindsey Davis's Marcus Didius Falco mysteries set in Ancient Rome. The Silver Pigs is the first book in this popular series...

 

 ALL ROADS LEAD TO TREACHERY...

When Marcus Didius Falco, a Roman "informer" who has a nose for trouble that's sharper than most, encounters Sosia Camillina in the Forum, he senses immediately all is not right with the pretty girl. She confesses to him that she is fleeing for her life, and Falco makes the rash decision to rescue her--a decision he will come to regret. For Sosia bears a heavy burden: as heavy as a pile of stolen Imperial ingots, in fact. Matters just get more complicated when Falco meets Helena Justina, a Senator's daughter who is connected to the very same traitors he has sworn to expose. Soon Falco finds himself swept from the perilous back alleys of Ancient Rome to the silver mines of distant Britain--and up against a cabal of traitors with blood on their hands and no compunction whatsoever to do away with a snooping plebe like Falco.... 

"Davis makes Rome live."

--Washington Post Book World

 

"Davis is both a deft storyteller and a scholar...a top drawer series."

--Newsday

Synopsis:

 The Silver Pigs is the classic novel which introduced readers around the world to Marcus Didius Falco, a private informer with a knack for trouble, a tendency for bad luck, and a frequently incovenient drive for justice.     
     When Marcus Didius Falco encounters the young and very pretty Sosia Camillina in the Forum, he senses immediately that there is something amiss. When she confesses that she is fleeing for her life, Falco offers to help her and, in doing so, he gets himself mixed up in a deadly plot involving stolen ingots, dangerous and dark political machinations, and, most hazardous of all, one Helena Justina, a brash, indominable senator's daughter connected to the very traitors that Falco has sworn to expose.

Synopsis:

When Marcus Didius Falco, a Roman "informer" who has a nose for trouble that's sharper than most, encounters Sosia Camillina in the Forum, he senses immediately all is not right with the pretty girl. She confesses to him that she is fleeing for her life, and Falco makes the rash decision to rescue her--a decision he will come to regret. For Sosia bears a heavy burden: as heavy as a pile of stolen Imperial ingots, in fact. Matters just get more complicated when Falco meets Helena Justina, a Senator's daughter who is connected to the very same traitors he has sworn to expose. Soon Falco finds himself swept from the perilous back alleys of Ancient Rome to the silver mines of distant Britain--and up against a cabal of traitors with blood on their hands and no compunction whatsoever to do away with a snooping plebe like Falco'.

About the Author

LINDSEY DAVIS was born and raised in Birmingham, England. After taking an English degree at Oxford and working for the civil service for thirteen years, she "ran away to be a writer." More than a dozen books later, her internationally bestselling novels featuring Marcus Didius Falco have earned her the Crime Writers' Association Ellis Peters Historical Dagger Award. For more information, please visit:  www.lindseydavis.co.uk.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312357771
Subtitle:
A Marcus Didius Falco Mystery
Author:
Davis, Lindsey
Publisher:
Minotaur Books
Subject:
History
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Historical
Subject:
Private investigators
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Mystery Historical
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Series:
Marcus Didius Falco Mysteries
Series Volume:
1 of 20
Publication Date:
20061003
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
6.68 x 4.2 x 0.96 in

Other books you might like

  1. Dissolution
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. Voice of the Violin Used Trade Paper $8.00
  3. A Noble Radiance Used Mass Market $3.50
  4. Novena for Murder Used Mass Market $2.95
  5. You've Got Murder
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  6. Resurrection Men: An Inspector Rebus...
    Sale Mass Market $3.98

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Historical

The Silver Pigs (Marcus Didius Falco Mysteries) Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.50 In Stock
Product details 352 pages St. Martin's Minotaur - English 9780312357771 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Fans of Steven Saylor and P. C. Doherty will be delighted with Lindsey Davis's clever mystery series featuring cheeky Roman sleuth Marcus Didius Falco and sharp-tongued senator's daughter Helena Justina.

"Synopsis" by ,
 The Silver Pigs is the classic novel which introduced readers around the world to Marcus Didius Falco, a private informer with a knack for trouble, a tendency for bad luck, and a frequently incovenient drive for justice.     
     When Marcus Didius Falco encounters the young and very pretty Sosia Camillina in the Forum, he senses immediately that there is something amiss. When she confesses that she is fleeing for her life, Falco offers to help her and, in doing so, he gets himself mixed up in a deadly plot involving stolen ingots, dangerous and dark political machinations, and, most hazardous of all, one Helena Justina, a brash, indominable senator's daughter connected to the very traitors that Falco has sworn to expose.
"Synopsis" by ,
When Marcus Didius Falco, a Roman "informer" who has a nose for trouble that's sharper than most, encounters Sosia Camillina in the Forum, he senses immediately all is not right with the pretty girl. She confesses to him that she is fleeing for her life, and Falco makes the rash decision to rescue her--a decision he will come to regret. For Sosia bears a heavy burden: as heavy as a pile of stolen Imperial ingots, in fact. Matters just get more complicated when Falco meets Helena Justina, a Senator's daughter who is connected to the very same traitors he has sworn to expose. Soon Falco finds himself swept from the perilous back alleys of Ancient Rome to the silver mines of distant Britain--and up against a cabal of traitors with blood on their hands and no compunction whatsoever to do away with a snooping plebe like Falco'.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.