Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $8.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

More copies of this ISBN

Dreamhunter: Book One of the Dreamhunter Duet

by

Dreamhunter: Book One of the Dreamhunter Duet Cover

ISBN13: 9780312535711
ISBN10: 0312535716
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $5.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“It is like nothing else Ive ever read. The characters are so real, youll feel like you know exactly what they look like and how their voices sound and what they would say or do in any given situation. More than that, youll want to hang out with them. Then the world is so amazing and unique. You will want to go there. You will want to walk into ‘the Place. And you will want to sleep in a dream opera.”—Stephenie Meyer, The Twilight Saga
 
Laura comes from a world similar to our own except for one difference: It is next to the Place, an unfathomable land that fosters dreams of every kind and is inaccessible to all but a select few, the dreamhunters. These are individuals with the ability to catch larger-than-life dreams and relay them to audiences in the magnificent dream palace. People travel from all around to experience the benefits of the hunters unique visions.

     Now, fifteen-year-old Laura and her cousin Rose, daughters of dreamhunters, are old enough to find out if they qualify to enter the Place. But nothing can prepare them for what they are about to discover. In the midst of a fascinating landscape, Lauras dreamy childhood is ending, and a nightmare is beginning.

 
Dreamhunter is a 2007 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Synopsis:

Beauty and danger. Politics and intrigue. Fans of Tamora Pierce and Suzanne Collins will revel in this layered and satisfying fantasy.

Synopsis:

“It is like nothing else Ive ever read. The characters are so real, youll feel like you know exactly what they look like and how their voices sound and what they would say or do in any given situation. More than that, youll want to hang out with them. Then the world is so amazing and unique. You will want to go there. You will want to walk into ‘the Place. And you will want to sleep in a dream opera.”Stephenie Meyer, The Twilight Saga
 
Laura comes from a world similar to our own except for one difference: It is next to the Place, an unfathomable land that fosters dreams of every kind and is inaccessible to all but a select few, the dreamhunters. These are individuals with the ability to catch larger-than-life dreams and relay them to audiences in the magnificent dream palace. People travel from all around to experience the benefits of the hunters unique visions.

     Now, fifteen-year-old Laura and her cousin Rose, daughters of dreamhunters, are old enough to find out if they qualify to enter the Place. But nothing can prepare them for what they are about to discover. In the midst of a fascinating landscape, Lauras dreamy childhood is ending, and a nightmare is beginning.

Synopsis:

The dreamhunting began as a beautiful thing, when Tziga Hame discovered that he could enter the Place and share the dreams he found there with other people. But Tziga Hame has disappeared and Laura, his daughter, knows that the art of projecting dreams has turned sour. On St. Lazarus's Eve, when elite citizens gather at the Rainbow Opera to experience the sweet dream of Homecoming, Laura, determined to show them the truth, plunges them into the nightmare used to control the convict workers. The event marks the first blow in the battle for control of the Place, the source of dreams. Then, when Laura's cousin, Rose, uncovers evidence that the government has been building a secret rail line deep into the Place, Laura follows it to find out what lies at its end. As she struggles to counter the government's sinister plans, a deeper mystery surfaces, a puzzle only Laura can unravel, a puzzle having to do with the very nature of the Place. What is the Place, after all? And what does it want from her?

Inventive and richly imagined, Elizabeth Knox's dramatic conclusion will satisfy readers - whether or not they've read Book One.

About the Author

Elizabeth Knox is the author of several books for adults, including The Vintners Luck. Her most recent book, Dreamquake: Book Two of the Dreamhunter Duet, was a Printz Honor Book. She lives in Wellington, New Zealand.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

ltobin, October 18, 2010 (view all comments by ltobin)
Dreamhunter introduces us to Laura Hame, a newly minted Dreamhunter. Following in her father's footsteps, Laura has the ability to "catch dreams" and project them to others around her while everyone sleeps. Of course, this is not the entire story (as interesting as dream hunting may be) as we learn misfortune has befallen Laura's father and he has left her a message, asking her to carry out some clandestine work. Knox does a wonderful job of pulling the reader in; however, it takes a bit of time. The first 1/2 to 3/4 of the story are all about setting the scene and much happens in the last 1/4 of the book. Good news though, there is a sequel! It definitely is worth reading, but I would not recommend it for children under the age of 12.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312535711
Author:
Knox, Elizabeth
Publisher:
Square Fish
Subject:
Social Issues - General
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Situations / General
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Family life
Subject:
Fantasy
Subject:
Family/General (see also headings under Social Issues)
Subject:
Social Issues/General (see also headings under Family)
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-General
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Young Adult Fiction
Series:
Dreamhunter Duet
Series Volume:
01
Publication Date:
20090231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
7.82 x 5.42 x 1.055 in
Age Level:
from 12 up to 17

Other books you might like

  1. Copper Sun
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Love Rules (True-To-Life Series from... New Trade Paper $9.95
  3. Double Dutch
    Used Trade Paper $5.00
  4. Buzzboy: Monsters, Dreams, & Milkshakes Used Trade Paper $1.48
  5. Five Ancestors #04: Crane Used Hardcover $6.50
  6. Hit the Road Used Hardcover $5.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Children's » Situations » General
Young Adult » General

Dreamhunter: Book One of the Dreamhunter Duet Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Square Fish - English 9780312535711 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
Beauty and danger. Politics and intrigue. Fans of Tamora Pierce and Suzanne Collins will revel in this layered and satisfying fantasy.
"Synopsis" by ,
“It is like nothing else Ive ever read. The characters are so real, youll feel like you know exactly what they look like and how their voices sound and what they would say or do in any given situation. More than that, youll want to hang out with them. Then the world is so amazing and unique. You will want to go there. You will want to walk into ‘the Place. And you will want to sleep in a dream opera.”Stephenie Meyer, The Twilight Saga
 
Laura comes from a world similar to our own except for one difference: It is next to the Place, an unfathomable land that fosters dreams of every kind and is inaccessible to all but a select few, the dreamhunters. These are individuals with the ability to catch larger-than-life dreams and relay them to audiences in the magnificent dream palace. People travel from all around to experience the benefits of the hunters unique visions.

     Now, fifteen-year-old Laura and her cousin Rose, daughters of dreamhunters, are old enough to find out if they qualify to enter the Place. But nothing can prepare them for what they are about to discover. In the midst of a fascinating landscape, Lauras dreamy childhood is ending, and a nightmare is beginning.

"Synopsis" by , The dreamhunting began as a beautiful thing, when Tziga Hame discovered that he could enter the Place and share the dreams he found there with other people. But Tziga Hame has disappeared and Laura, his daughter, knows that the art of projecting dreams has turned sour. On St. Lazarus's Eve, when elite citizens gather at the Rainbow Opera to experience the sweet dream of Homecoming, Laura, determined to show them the truth, plunges them into the nightmare used to control the convict workers. The event marks the first blow in the battle for control of the Place, the source of dreams. Then, when Laura's cousin, Rose, uncovers evidence that the government has been building a secret rail line deep into the Place, Laura follows it to find out what lies at its end. As she struggles to counter the government's sinister plans, a deeper mystery surfaces, a puzzle only Laura can unravel, a puzzle having to do with the very nature of the Place. What is the Place, after all? And what does it want from her?

Inventive and richly imagined, Elizabeth Knox's dramatic conclusion will satisfy readers - whether or not they've read Book One.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.