Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 18, 2014

Ian Leslie: IMG Empathic Curiosity



Today, we wonder anxiously if digital media is changing our brains. But if there's any time in history when our mental operations changed... Continue »
  1. $18.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Snakes Can't Run: A Mystery

Snakes Can't Run: A Mystery Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An epic of New York Chinatown noir in the vein of George Pelecanos and Richard Price, this is the riveting sequel to the highly acclaimed This Is a Bust
 
Its a hot summer in New Yorks Chinatown in 1976 and Robert Chow, the Chinese-American detective son of an illegal immigrant, takes on a new breed of ruthless human smugglers— snakeheads—when two bodies of smuggled Chinese are found dead under the Brooklyn Bridge underpass. But as Robert comes closer to finding some answers, he discovers a dark secret in his own familys past...

Review:

"Set in New York City in 1976, Lin's accomplished second novel to feature NYPD detective Robert Chow (after 2007's This Is a Bust) finds the Chinese-American cop, who's still haunted by memories of his service in the Vietnam War, relegated to undercover work posing as a Con Ed worker. Meanwhile, other officers in Chow's precinct are focused on apprehending the FALN terrorists who set off a bomb right outside police headquarters. The murders of two Asian men, who are shot and dumped under the Manhattan Bridge, take Chow away from the drudgery of his undercover assignment and onto the trail of the head of a ring of human smugglers known as snakeheads. Lin portrays the police, including his lead, warts and all, and paints a convincing picture of Manhattan's Chinatown. Readers interested in the integration of Asian-Americans into American society, as well as those who like gritty procedurals, will be well rewarded." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

An epic of New York Chinatown noir in the vein of George Pelacanos and Richard Price, this is the riveting sequel to the highly acclaimed "This Is a Bust."

About the Author

ED LIN is the only author to win the Asian American Literary Members Choice Award twice, first for his novel Waylaid and then for This is a Bust. Awarded Booklists Editors Choice and Top Ten First Novel for Waylaid, he lives in New York City.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312569884
Subtitle:
A Mystery
Publisher:
Minotaur Books
Author:
Lin, Ed
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Police Procedural
Subject:
Chinatown (New York, N.Y.)
Subject:
Family secrets
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Subject:
noir
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Series:
Robert Chow
Series Volume:
No. 2
Publication Date:
20100330
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.50 in

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Snakes Can't Run: A Mystery
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 304 pages Minotaur Books - English 9780312569884 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Set in New York City in 1976, Lin's accomplished second novel to feature NYPD detective Robert Chow (after 2007's This Is a Bust) finds the Chinese-American cop, who's still haunted by memories of his service in the Vietnam War, relegated to undercover work posing as a Con Ed worker. Meanwhile, other officers in Chow's precinct are focused on apprehending the FALN terrorists who set off a bomb right outside police headquarters. The murders of two Asian men, who are shot and dumped under the Manhattan Bridge, take Chow away from the drudgery of his undercover assignment and onto the trail of the head of a ring of human smugglers known as snakeheads. Lin portrays the police, including his lead, warts and all, and paints a convincing picture of Manhattan's Chinatown. Readers interested in the integration of Asian-Americans into American society, as well as those who like gritty procedurals, will be well rewarded." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , An epic of New York Chinatown noir in the vein of George Pelacanos and Richard Price, this is the riveting sequel to the highly acclaimed "This Is a Bust."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.