Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | February 27, 2014

Rene Denfeld: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Rene Denfeld



Describe your latest book. The Enchanted is a story narrated by a man on death row. The novel was inspired by my work as a death penalty... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Enchanted

    Rene Denfeld 9780062285508

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Humor- Parodies

Our Dumb World: The Onion's Atlas of the Planet Earth, 73rd Edition

by

Our Dumb World: The Onion's Atlas of the Planet Earth, 73rd Edition Cover

ISBN13: 9780316018425
ISBN10: 0316018422
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $6.95!

 

Staff Pick

The folks at the Onion are up to their usual shenanigans, this time bringing us an informative and wildly inaccurate atlas that fans will love.
Recommended by Chandler, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Our Dumb World: The Onion's Atlas of The Planet Earth, 73rd Edition features incorrect statistics on all of the Earth's 168, 182, or 196 independent nations. It also features maps, including a fold-out world map at actual size. Readers will learn about every country from Afghanistan, Allah's Cat Box, to the Ukraine, The Bridebasket of Europe.

Today's news-parody consumer cannot possibly understand made-up current events without the context of fake world history and geography. That is why The Onion is publishing a world atlas: to help us.

Our Dumb World is an invaluable tool for any reader interested in overthrowing a weakened government in East Asia, exploiting a developing nation in Africa, or for directions to tonight's party at Erica's. It is a reference guide to 250,000 of the world's most important places, such as North Korea's Trench of Victory, the Great Human Pyramid of Egypt, and Saudi Arabia's superhighway, the Mohammedobahn.

Review:

"The first all-new publication from The Onion's stable of mad satirists since 1999's Our Dumb Century, this globe-spanning volume raises the bar for topical humor. Known for their savage, irreverent newspaper parody, The Onion staff delight in playing up stereotypes and skewering perceptions, and they have picked an enormous playground in which to do so; this skewed world atlas compiles enough fictional facts to tickle-and probably offend-just about everyone. Profiling every country in the world-from the United States ('The Land of Opportunism') to Greenland ('The Largest Land Mass on Earth') to 'The Who Cares Islands'-this handsome parody is visually indistinguishable from genuine reference materials, but with jokes crammed into every inch, from topographical maps ('Largest Mayan casino in Mexico') and tiny vital statistics boxes (Syria's ethnicity: 'Anti-Semitic Semites') to historic timelines (Ireland, 1387: 'Luck of the Irish runs out') and photo captions ('Emergency shipments of food, water, and Bono reach Sudan'). The group's humor can demand a rarified kind of knowledge-as in the entry for Nicaragua, which revolves entirely around the now-ancient Nintendo game 'Contra'-ensuring that some jokes will fall flat; for anyone with a cultural pulse, however, the hit-to-miss ratio will be high. Eminently browsable and compulsively re-readable, this is an essential book for fans of Stewart, Colbert and (of course) The Onion." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Packed with beautiful full-color maps and framed with inaccurate essays about the world written by the full Onion staff, Our Dumb World: The Onions Atlas of the Planet Earth, 73rd Edition is the first original Onion book in eight years — a gut-busting send-up in which no nation escapes unscathed.

About the Author

Every week, three million readers turn to the world's most popular news organization for a much-needed dose of Onion news and entertainment coverage. In a history spanning 15 years, six popular books, and 10 Webby Awards, The Onion has attracted legions of loyal fans drawn to its fearless reporting and scathing commentary on world events, human behavior, and journalistic convention.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

jayay, January 26, 2011 (view all comments by jayay)
Say it like it is.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
K Bloom, December 24, 2007 (view all comments by K Bloom)
Oh man, I had no idea what I was in for when I purchased this book. Every single sentence on every page is a riot. The Onion's style of *seeming* like a serious publication then throwing rediculous curveballs makes me laugh every time, and I can only wish I had such wit! There are undertones of real knowledge in this book, and that helped me to take a breath before bursting out with laughter again. This book really helps me to kick back, relax, and see the lighter side of my own inevitable, horrible fate! I'd also recommend reading Tino Georgiou's bestselling novel--The Fates--if you haven't yet
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(14 of 21 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316018425
Author:
The Onion
Publisher:
Little Brown and Company
Editor:
Dikkers, Scott
Editor:
DiCenzo, Mike
Author:
DiCenzo, Mike
Subject:
General
Subject:
Topic - Political
Subject:
Form - Parodies
Subject:
American wit and humor
Subject:
Geography
Subject:
World history
Subject:
HUMOR / Parodies
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20071031
Binding:
Hardcover
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
245
Dimensions:
11.14x8.54x.84 in. 2.54 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. I Am America (and So Can You!) Used Hardcover $2.50
  2. Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. The Dangerous Book for Dogs: A...
    Used Hardcover $1.95
  4. The Zombie Survival Guide
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  5. The Rejection Collection: Cartoons...
    Used Hardcover $4.95
  6. The Areas of My Expertise
    Used Hardcover $3.50

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Narrative
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Parodies
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Political
History and Social Science » Journalism » General

Our Dumb World: The Onion's Atlas of the Planet Earth, 73rd Edition Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 245 pages Little Brown and Company - English 9780316018425 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

The folks at the Onion are up to their usual shenanigans, this time bringing us an informative and wildly inaccurate atlas that fans will love.

"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The first all-new publication from The Onion's stable of mad satirists since 1999's Our Dumb Century, this globe-spanning volume raises the bar for topical humor. Known for their savage, irreverent newspaper parody, The Onion staff delight in playing up stereotypes and skewering perceptions, and they have picked an enormous playground in which to do so; this skewed world atlas compiles enough fictional facts to tickle-and probably offend-just about everyone. Profiling every country in the world-from the United States ('The Land of Opportunism') to Greenland ('The Largest Land Mass on Earth') to 'The Who Cares Islands'-this handsome parody is visually indistinguishable from genuine reference materials, but with jokes crammed into every inch, from topographical maps ('Largest Mayan casino in Mexico') and tiny vital statistics boxes (Syria's ethnicity: 'Anti-Semitic Semites') to historic timelines (Ireland, 1387: 'Luck of the Irish runs out') and photo captions ('Emergency shipments of food, water, and Bono reach Sudan'). The group's humor can demand a rarified kind of knowledge-as in the entry for Nicaragua, which revolves entirely around the now-ancient Nintendo game 'Contra'-ensuring that some jokes will fall flat; for anyone with a cultural pulse, however, the hit-to-miss ratio will be high. Eminently browsable and compulsively re-readable, this is an essential book for fans of Stewart, Colbert and (of course) The Onion." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , Packed with beautiful full-color maps and framed with inaccurate essays about the world written by the full Onion staff, Our Dumb World: The Onions Atlas of the Planet Earth, 73rd Edition is the first original Onion book in eight years — a gut-busting send-up in which no nation escapes unscathed.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.