We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | June 29, 2015

    Roger Hobbs: IMG Soundtrack of Macau: Roger Hobbs's Playlist for Vanishing Games



    My new novel, Vanishing Games, is a heist thriller set in the gambling city of Macau, China. I lived there briefly while researching the book and... Continue »
    1. $18.17 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Vanishing Games

      Roger Hobbs 9780385352642

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.50
List price: $18.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's Nonfiction- Pets

This title in other editions

Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle

by

Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Anyone who has ever spent time with a dog knows that dogs love sniffing! They sniff out hidden food, dirty socks, and the visitor who comes to the door.and#160; But some dogs work with police officers, soldiers and even scientists to put their "sniffers" to work.and#160; Sniffer dogs make use of the amazing biology behind their noses to protect people from bombs, catch criminals smuggling drugs, or help researchers locate a hard to find snail in a forest.

and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160; A dog's nose is so sensitive that if a human could see as well as a dog could smell, we would be able to see the small letters on an eye chart from four (four!) miles away.and#160; Is it any wonder then that dogs can be trained to find missing people in piles of rubble or a certain flower blooming amongst hundreds or thousands of other smells?and#160;

Inand#160;Sniffer Dogsand#160;you will meet many dogs and their handlers and learn all about their jobs. Some of these dogs are raised from birth to detect blood sugar levels in their owners.and#160; Others are rescued from animal shelters and their boisterous personalities help make them excellent sniffer dogs. Featuring a balance between science and social science, Sniffer Dogs will appeal to dog lovers and science lovers alike.and#160;

Review:

"Larson and Nethery, who collaborated on Two Bobbies, team up with Dennis to tell the moving story of the Marine major's friendship with a wild dog he befriended at a border fort in Iraq. Dennis named the dog Nubs because his 'ears had been cut off to make him a dog of war' (a statement never explained). Though Nubs futilely attempts to follow Dennis when he departs the fort, the two grow closer on subsequent visits, until the dog (now wounded) treks 70 miles through the snow to find Dennis. When the major is ordered to 'get rid of the dog, or else,' he raises money to have Nubs transported to his San Diego hometown, where human and dog eventually reunite. Some spreads feel cluttered with narrative passages, e-mail sidebars, and multiple images; the photographs, gleaned from several sources, are of varying quality and resolution (understandable given the circumstances under which most were taken). But these do not diminish the emotional impact of the saga, which should appeal to fans of Owen and Mzee and other stories of animals that triumph against the odds. Ages 3 — up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Readers will discover how detection dogs are able to use theirand#160;noses to find everything from people, both alive and dead, to explosives to . . . whale poop. These working dogs work to please, work to play, and work for love. Nonfiction for agesand#160;10 to 14.

Synopsis:

A beautifully illustratedand#160;nonfiction picture book that accounts the true story of eight bottlenose dolphins and their trainers who survived theand#160;devastating Hurricane Katrina.

Synopsis:

On August 29, 2005, Hurricane Katrina crashed a forty-foot tidal wave over the Marine Life Oceanarium in Gulfport, Mississippi. The dolphin house was demolished, and its inhabitants swept from their tank into the Gulf of Mexico. After growing up in captivity, how could the eight bottlenose dolphins feed and protect themselves in the wild? And if they could survive, would their trainers ever see them again? This fascinating picture bookand#8212;enriched with both beautiful color-wash illustrations and photographs taken by the trainers themselvesand#8212;tells this dramatic, happy-ending story.

Synopsis:

The moving, true story of the young woman dubbed “The Voice of Americas Bullied”; how her bond with her dog, Izzy, changed her life; and their mission to help break the cycle of bullying.

In middle school, Gabrielle “Gabe” Ford developed a degenerative muscle disease, and was harassed by bullies as a result. She did her best to keep her head high, but it wasnt easy. Then Gabe got a dog, Izzy, who developed an uncannily similar disorder. They were invited to appear on Animal Planet to talk about their bond, which in turn led to an invitation to speak at a school. And so began Gabes career as an anti-bullying advocate. Dubbed “The Voice of Americas Bullied” by the Huffington Post, Gabe now makes a career of public speaking and has received numerous honors for her hard work. Here is her amazing story—from her lowest days dealing with various challenges, to the unbelievable and immediate bond with Izzy, to her ongoing mission to put an end to bullying, one school at a time.

Includes resources and tips for readers, plus a color insert of photographs!

About the Author

Maria Faulconer has published fiction and nonfiction for children and adults, and her experience as an adoptive mom inspired her to write this story. She lives in Colorado Springs, Colorado. Susan Kathleen Hartung is the illustrator of many childrens books, including Dear Juno, for which she won the Ezra Jack Keats Award. She lives in Brooklyn, Michigan.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316053181
Author:
Dennis, Brian
Publisher:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Author:
Castaldo, Nancy
Author:
Hartung, Susan Kathleen
Author:
Coleman, Janet Wyman
Author:
Larson, Kirby
Author:
Faulconer, Maria
Author:
Nascimbene, Yan
Author:
Nethery, Mary
Author:
Ford, Gabrielle
Subject:
Iraq War, 2003
Subject:
Dog owners - California
Subject:
Dogs - General
Subject:
Animals - Pets
Subject:
Animals - Animal Welfare
Subject:
Animals - Dogs
Subject:
Children's Baby/PS - Animals/Pets
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
People & Places - Middle East
Subject:
Dog owners
Subject:
Children s Nonfiction-Animals
Subject:
Animals - Apes & Monkeys
Subject:
General
Subject:
Science & Technology - Zoology
Subject:
Animals - Marine Life
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20091131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 5 up to 8
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Full-color photographs
Pages:
160
Dimensions:
11 x 8.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
04-22

Other books you might like

  1. The Two Bobbies: A True Story of...
    New Hardcover $8.75

Related Subjects


Children's » Activities » General
Children's » Animals » General
Children's » Animals » Pets
Children's » Awards » Beverly Cleary Children's Choice Award
Children's » Nonfiction » Animals
Children's » Nonfiction » Pets
Children's » Nonfiction » World Cultures
Children's » People and Cultures
Young Adult » Nonfiction » Teen Issues

Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.50 In Stock
Product details 160 pages Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - English 9780316053181 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Larson and Nethery, who collaborated on Two Bobbies, team up with Dennis to tell the moving story of the Marine major's friendship with a wild dog he befriended at a border fort in Iraq. Dennis named the dog Nubs because his 'ears had been cut off to make him a dog of war' (a statement never explained). Though Nubs futilely attempts to follow Dennis when he departs the fort, the two grow closer on subsequent visits, until the dog (now wounded) treks 70 miles through the snow to find Dennis. When the major is ordered to 'get rid of the dog, or else,' he raises money to have Nubs transported to his San Diego hometown, where human and dog eventually reunite. Some spreads feel cluttered with narrative passages, e-mail sidebars, and multiple images; the photographs, gleaned from several sources, are of varying quality and resolution (understandable given the circumstances under which most were taken). But these do not diminish the emotional impact of the saga, which should appeal to fans of Owen and Mzee and other stories of animals that triumph against the odds. Ages 3 — up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,

Readers will discover how detection dogs are able to use theirand#160;noses to find everything from people, both alive and dead, to explosives to . . . whale poop. These working dogs work to please, work to play, and work for love. Nonfiction for agesand#160;10 to 14.

"Synopsis" by ,
A beautifully illustratedand#160;nonfiction picture book that accounts the true story of eight bottlenose dolphins and their trainers who survived theand#160;devastating Hurricane Katrina.
"Synopsis" by , On August 29, 2005, Hurricane Katrina crashed a forty-foot tidal wave over the Marine Life Oceanarium in Gulfport, Mississippi. The dolphin house was demolished, and its inhabitants swept from their tank into the Gulf of Mexico. After growing up in captivity, how could the eight bottlenose dolphins feed and protect themselves in the wild? And if they could survive, would their trainers ever see them again? This fascinating picture bookand#8212;enriched with both beautiful color-wash illustrations and photographs taken by the trainers themselvesand#8212;tells this dramatic, happy-ending story.
"Synopsis" by ,
The moving, true story of the young woman dubbed “The Voice of Americas Bullied”; how her bond with her dog, Izzy, changed her life; and their mission to help break the cycle of bullying.

In middle school, Gabrielle “Gabe” Ford developed a degenerative muscle disease, and was harassed by bullies as a result. She did her best to keep her head high, but it wasnt easy. Then Gabe got a dog, Izzy, who developed an uncannily similar disorder. They were invited to appear on Animal Planet to talk about their bond, which in turn led to an invitation to speak at a school. And so began Gabes career as an anti-bullying advocate. Dubbed “The Voice of Americas Bullied” by the Huffington Post, Gabe now makes a career of public speaking and has received numerous honors for her hard work. Here is her amazing story—from her lowest days dealing with various challenges, to the unbelievable and immediate bond with Izzy, to her ongoing mission to put an end to bullying, one school at a time.

Includes resources and tips for readers, plus a color insert of photographs!

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.