Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | November 20, 2014

    Ron Rash: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Ron Rash



    Describe your latest book/project/work. Something Rich and Strange is a collection of selected stories, including three stories previously... Continue »
    1. $19.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $13.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

The Blood of Flowers

by

The Blood of Flowers Cover

ISBN13: 9780316065771
ISBN10: 0316065773
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $5.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An “exuberant” (El Mundo) debut novel of a family bound by searing passions, an earthy magic, and a very unusual curse

The Laguna women suffer from an odd affliction: each generation is condemned to tragic love affairs and to give birth only to girls who are unable to escape the cruel fate of their mothers. One fateful hunting season in their small Castilian town, a young landowner arrives and begins a passionate affair with Clara Laguna, the latest in the family line, daughter of a one-eyed woman known as “the Laguna witch.” He leaves her pregnant with yet another daughter, but the seeds of change are sown. Eventually the long-awaited son—Santiago, the great-great grandson of Clara—is born. A window of hope is opened, but is the curse truly over?

Introducing a cast of memorable, eccentric characters from a bearded, mute female cook to the local do-gooding priest and the indelible Laguna women themselves, The House of Impossible Loves is a feat of imaginative storytelling that marks the arrival of a talented new novelist.

Synopsis:

In this mesmerizing historical novel, an ill-fated young woman's gift as a rug designer transforms her life in 17th-century Isfahan.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Laura Esquivel's Like Water For Chocolate, The House of Impossible Loves is a novel set in twentieth-century Spain and France revolving around a family of cursed women.

Synopsis:

Both a sweeping love story and a luminous portrait of a city, THE BLOOD OF FLOWERS is the mesmerizing historical novel of an ill-fated young woman whose gift as a rug designer transforms her life. Illuminated with glorious detail of persian rug-making, and brilliantly bringing to life the sights sounds and life of 17th-century Isfahan, THE BLOOD OF FLOWERS has captured readers' imaginations everywhere as a timeless tale of one woman's struggle to live a life of her choosing.

About the Author

Anita Amirrezvani was born in Tehran, Iran and lives in Northern California. For ten years, she was a staff dance critic for newspapers in the San Francisco Bay Area. She has received fellowships fromt he National Arts Journalism Program, the NEA's Arts Journalism Institute for Dance, and the Hedgebrook Foundation for Women Writers. She is currently pursuing her MFA in fiction.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

MJE, June 27, 2010 (view all comments by MJE)
I picked this book up on a whim and soon discovered I couldn't put it down. The author creates characters that insist that you cheer them on. I have recommended this book to several people.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
joanofarc21, May 9, 2009 (view all comments by joanofarc21)
The author tells a wonderfully colorful tale of a young woman's search for independence in a world of male dominence. The production of oriental carpets was one of child labor and abuses. I will look at those amazing works of art with a different eye.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316065771
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Amirrezvani, Anita
Author:
&
Author:
oacute
Author:
pez Barrio, Cristina
Author:
pez Barrio
Author:
L
Author:
Cristina L
Publisher:
Back Bay Books
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Fairy Tales, Folklore & Mythology
Subject:
Young women
Subject:
History
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Folklore
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20080502
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1.12 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Beautiful Things That Heaven Bears
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. Peony in Love
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  3. Ivy Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. Newes from the Dead Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. Bloodsong New Mass Market $11.00
  6. Book of a Thousand Days
    Used Trade Paper $6.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Humanities » Mythology » Folklore and Storytelling

The Blood of Flowers Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Back Bay Books - English 9780316065771 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In this mesmerizing historical novel, an ill-fated young woman's gift as a rug designer transforms her life in 17th-century Isfahan.
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Laura Esquivel's Like Water For Chocolate, The House of Impossible Loves is a novel set in twentieth-century Spain and France revolving around a family of cursed women.
"Synopsis" by , Both a sweeping love story and a luminous portrait of a city, THE BLOOD OF FLOWERS is the mesmerizing historical novel of an ill-fated young woman whose gift as a rug designer transforms her life. Illuminated with glorious detail of persian rug-making, and brilliantly bringing to life the sights sounds and life of 17th-century Isfahan, THE BLOOD OF FLOWERS has captured readers' imaginations everywhere as a timeless tale of one woman's struggle to live a life of her choosing.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.