The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »
  1. $16.77 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Love Me Back

    Merritt Tierce 9780385538077

spacer

Cirque Du Freak: Saga of Darren Shan #01: A Living Nightmare

by

Cirque Du Freak: Saga of Darren Shan #01: A Living Nightmare Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of The Blair Witch Project and Stephen King's 'Salem's Lot, Cirque Du Freak is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Author Darren Shan's vivid detail and original voice will have young readers glued to their seats in terror. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and a petrifying ending, Cirque Du Freak will chill, thrill, and leave readers begging for more.

Review:

"Fast-paced and compelling, full of satisfying macabre touches — Cirque Du Freak explores the powerful fascination of the dangerous and unnatural and also, movingly, the obligations of friendship....A plot full of twists which leaves the reader hungry for more." J.K. Rowling, author of the Harry Potter series

Review:

"Poised to capture a wide audience of series horror readers....The scenario is compelling, and the author mines the exploitative history of early 20th-century sideshows to create an artfully macabre Cirque Du Freak." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Reluctant readers and fans of shows such as Buffy and Angel are the perfect targets for this first installment....Careful readers will note that the names of the main character and that of the author are the same. This wry twist is sure to start some great urban legends about this vampire story and its origins." Voice of Youth Advocates

Review:

"If you love scary stories, read this one for the thrill of your life!" Kidsreads.com

Synopsis:

Darren Shan and his best friend, Steve, get tickets to the Cirque Du Freak, a wonderfully gothic freak show featuring weird, frightening half human/half animals who interact terrifyingly with the audience. In the midst of the excitement, true terror raises its head when Steve recognizes that one of the performers-- Mr. Crepsley-- is a vampire!

Stever remains after the show finishes to confront the vampire-- but his motives are surprising! In the shadows of a crumbling theater, a horrified Darren eavesdrops on his friend and the vampire, and is witness to a monstrous, disturbing plea. As if by destiny, Darren is pulled to Mr. Crepsley and what follows is his forrifying descent into the dark and bloody world of vampires.

This is Darren's story.

Synopsis:

Soon to be a major motion picture by Warner Bros., "Cirque Du Freak" is the compelling saga of a young boy's journey into a dark world of vampires. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and an expected ending, the book contains "a plot full of twists which leaves the reader hungry for more" (J.K. Rowling).

About the Author

Darren Shan was born in London, but at an early age he moved to Limerick, Ireland, with his parents and younger brother. He grew up watching old Dracula horror movies and reading spooky comics, which were the inspirations for this story.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316603409
Subtitle:
Book 1 in the Saga of Darren Shan
Author:
Shan, Darren
Publisher:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Subject:
General
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - General
Subject:
Social Situations - General
Subject:
Horror & Ghost Stories
Subject:
Conduct of life
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - Horror
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - Horror
Subject:
Social Issues - General
Subject:
Vampires
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Male friendship; Boys; Circuses; Circus life; Secrets; Vampires
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Series:
Cirque Du Freak: Saga of Darren Shan
Series Volume:
01
Publication Date:
20020601
Binding:
Hardcover
Grade Level:
from 7 up to 17
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.64x5.84x.95 in. .94 lbs.
Age Level:
09-12

Other books you might like

  1. The Outlaws of Sherwood Used Mass Market $2.95
  2. What Would Joey Do? (04 Edition) Used Trade Paper $4.00
  3. Beauty: A Retelling of Beauty & the...
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. Monster
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  5. Summerland Used Hardcover $3.95
  6. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
    Used Trade Paper $0.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Scary Stories » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Horror
Young Adult » Fiction » Paranormal

Cirque Du Freak: Saga of Darren Shan #01: A Living Nightmare Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Little Brown and Company - English 9780316603409 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Fast-paced and compelling, full of satisfying macabre touches — Cirque Du Freak explores the powerful fascination of the dangerous and unnatural and also, movingly, the obligations of friendship....A plot full of twists which leaves the reader hungry for more."
"Review" by , "Poised to capture a wide audience of series horror readers....The scenario is compelling, and the author mines the exploitative history of early 20th-century sideshows to create an artfully macabre Cirque Du Freak."
"Review" by , "Reluctant readers and fans of shows such as Buffy and Angel are the perfect targets for this first installment....Careful readers will note that the names of the main character and that of the author are the same. This wry twist is sure to start some great urban legends about this vampire story and its origins."
"Review" by , "If you love scary stories, read this one for the thrill of your life!"
"Synopsis" by , Darren Shan and his best friend, Steve, get tickets to the Cirque Du Freak, a wonderfully gothic freak show featuring weird, frightening half human/half animals who interact terrifyingly with the audience. In the midst of the excitement, true terror raises its head when Steve recognizes that one of the performers-- Mr. Crepsley-- is a vampire!

Stever remains after the show finishes to confront the vampire-- but his motives are surprising! In the shadows of a crumbling theater, a horrified Darren eavesdrops on his friend and the vampire, and is witness to a monstrous, disturbing plea. As if by destiny, Darren is pulled to Mr. Crepsley and what follows is his forrifying descent into the dark and bloody world of vampires.

This is Darren's story.

"Synopsis" by , Soon to be a major motion picture by Warner Bros., "Cirque Du Freak" is the compelling saga of a young boy's journey into a dark world of vampires. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and an expected ending, the book contains "a plot full of twists which leaves the reader hungry for more" (J.K. Rowling).
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.