The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Powell's Q&A | September 3, 2014

Emily St. John Mandel: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Emily St. John Mandel



Describe your latest book. My new novel is called Station Eleven. It's about a traveling Shakespearean theatre company in a post-apocalyptic North... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Station Eleven

    Emily St. John Mandel 9780385353304

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$1.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Nautical- Nautical Lore

This title in other editions

Demon of the Waters: The True Story of the Mutiny on the Whaleship Globe

by

Demon of the Waters: The True Story of the Mutiny on the Whaleship Globe Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Book News Annotation:

Drawing on an eyewitness account that was lost for over 150 years, Gibson recounts the 1824 mutiny, one of the goriest in maritime lore. The Quaker-bred man at its center, the sperm-oil industry, Nantucket power brokers, and the fledgling US Navy are part of the tale. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Synopsis:

The story of the "Globe" mutiny is one of unending fascination. Dovetailing Gibson's riveting account of the mutiny is the history of the sperm oil industry, its Nantucket Quaker powerbrokers, and the growth of American naval influence. Above all, the book is, in the tradition of Nordhoff and Hall's "Mutiny on the Bounty, " a story of men and the sea.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316738675
Subtitle:
The True Story of the Mutiny on the Whaleship Globe
Author:
Gibson, Gregory
Publisher:
Back Bay Books
Subject:
General
Subject:
Survival after airplane accidents, shipwrecks
Subject:
Maritime History
Subject:
Sailing - Narratives
Subject:
Globe Mutiny, 1824.
Copyright:
Publication Date:
June 2003
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.35x5.55x.95 in. 1.00 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Two Years Before the Mast (Signet... Used Mass Market $4.95
  2. Understanding Boat Design 4TH Edition Used Trade Paper $11.95
  3. Lost at sea :great shipwrecks of history Used Hardcover $5.50
  4. A Viking Voyage: In Which an...
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  5. The Pirate Coast: Thomas Jefferson,... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. Boat Who Wouldnt Float Used Mass Market $3.50

Related Subjects

Transportation » Nautical » Nautical Lore

Demon of the Waters: The True Story of the Mutiny on the Whaleship Globe Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$1.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Back Bay Books - English 9780316738675 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , The story of the "Globe" mutiny is one of unending fascination. Dovetailing Gibson's riveting account of the mutiny is the history of the sperm oil industry, its Nantucket Quaker powerbrokers, and the growth of American naval influence. Above all, the book is, in the tradition of Nordhoff and Hall's "Mutiny on the Bounty, " a story of men and the sea.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.