It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 18, 2014

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The High Divide

    Lin Enger 9781616203757

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.95
List price: $25.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays

by

My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Davy Rothbart is looking for love in all the wrong places. Constantly. He falls helplessly in love with pretty much every girl he meets — and rarely is the feeling reciprocated. Time after time, he hops in a car and tears across half of America with his heart on his sleeve. Hes continually coming up with outrageous schemes, which he always manages to pull off. Well, almost always. But even when things don't work out, Rothbart finds meaning and humor in every moment. Whether its humiliating a scammer who takes money from aspiring writers or playing harmless (but side-splitting) goofs on his deaf mother, nothing and no one is off-limits.

But as much as Rothbart is a tragically lovable, irresistibly brokenhearted hero, its his prose that's the star of the book. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Sloane Crosley but going places very much his own, his essays show how things that are seemingly so wrong can be so, so right.

Review:

"An intriguing hybrid of timeless Midwestern warmth and newfangled jive talk." Sarah Vowell

Review:

"Davy Rothbart has the humor and purity of heart you want and need in an observer of contemporary American life. Without guile and with a belief in small towns, underdogs, love at first sight, the pull of the road, and the soulfulness of strangers, Rothbart is a kind of new-styled Bill Moyers — genuine, wide-eyed, and hopeful." Dave Eggers

Review:

"THIS BOOK IS F---ING GREAT! Nobody writes quite like Davy Rothbart, because nobody lives quite like Davy Rothbart — a true and funny ragged-hearted seeker of ecstasy, mystery, and human connection. My Heart Is an Idiot contains some of the most perfect and heartbreaking writing that I have ever read." Elizabeth Gilbert

Review:

"Welcome to the newly remodeled Heartbreak Hotel, where Davy Rothbart is concierge. He'll also unpack your underwear, restock your minibar, and do stand-up comedy in the lounge." Tom Robbins

Review:

"In Davy Rothbart's essays on heartache, mad love, the low life, and the high life, everybody is fascinating; everybody has something to say. The sentences speed you along down one narrative highway after another, and your tour guide is smart and funny and a real democrat: he has a sweet-tempered openness to experience that wins you over. This book breathes new life back into the personal essay, and these essays are a trip. Take that trip." Charles Baxter

Review:

"Tender, cool, funny, and utterly engaging, Davy Rothbart writes with a kind of warmth and cockeyed energy that make you love him. This book is marvelous." Susan Orlean

Review:

"I believe in Davy. He's a force to be reckoned with. Ira Glass

Review:

"Davy's as real as it gets. This is a badass book." Kid Rock

Review:

"Davy's my kind of storyteller — honest, hilarious, deeply feeling, and slightly cracked. This is the fresh voice we've been looking for." Jim Carroll, author of The Basketball Diaries

About the Author

Davy Rothbart is a frequent contributor to This American Life and a variety of magazines, the founder of Found Magazine and the editor of its various bestselling anthologies, and the author of The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas. He was born and raised in Ann Arbor, Michigan, where he still lives.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780374280840
Subtitle:
Essays
Author:
Rothbart, Davy
Publisher:
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Form - Essays
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Humor-Anthologies
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20120904
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in

Other books you might like

  1. American Born Chinese
    Used Trade Paper $6.00
  2. Tyrell
    New Trade Paper $8.99
  3. The Fault in Our Stars
    Used Compact Disc $7.95
  4. Thirteen Reasons Why
    Used Hardcover $8.50
  5. The Absolutely True Diary of a...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  6. Hate List
    Sale Trade Paper $4.98

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Anthologies
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Narrative
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Relationships
Biography » General
Biography » Literary
Featured Titles » Arts
Featured Titles » Biography
Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » Staff Favorites
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
History and Social Science » Politics » Featured Titles

My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Farrar, Straus and Giroux - English 9780374280840 Reviews:
"Review" by , "An intriguing hybrid of timeless Midwestern warmth and newfangled jive talk."
"Review" by , "Davy Rothbart has the humor and purity of heart you want and need in an observer of contemporary American life. Without guile and with a belief in small towns, underdogs, love at first sight, the pull of the road, and the soulfulness of strangers, Rothbart is a kind of new-styled Bill Moyers — genuine, wide-eyed, and hopeful."
"Review" by , "THIS BOOK IS F---ING GREAT! Nobody writes quite like Davy Rothbart, because nobody lives quite like Davy Rothbart — a true and funny ragged-hearted seeker of ecstasy, mystery, and human connection. My Heart Is an Idiot contains some of the most perfect and heartbreaking writing that I have ever read."
"Review" by , "Welcome to the newly remodeled Heartbreak Hotel, where Davy Rothbart is concierge. He'll also unpack your underwear, restock your minibar, and do stand-up comedy in the lounge."
"Review" by , "In Davy Rothbart's essays on heartache, mad love, the low life, and the high life, everybody is fascinating; everybody has something to say. The sentences speed you along down one narrative highway after another, and your tour guide is smart and funny and a real democrat: he has a sweet-tempered openness to experience that wins you over. This book breathes new life back into the personal essay, and these essays are a trip. Take that trip."
"Review" by , "Tender, cool, funny, and utterly engaging, Davy Rothbart writes with a kind of warmth and cockeyed energy that make you love him. This book is marvelous."
"Review" by , "I believe in Davy. He's a force to be reckoned with.
"Review" by , "Davy's as real as it gets. This is a badass book."
"Review" by , "Davy's my kind of storyteller — honest, hilarious, deeply feeling, and slightly cracked. This is the fresh voice we've been looking for."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.