The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.50
List price: $15.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's Middle Readers- General

The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

by

The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy Cover

ISBN13: 9780375831430
ISBN10: 0375831436
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $6.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel's sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel's owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will — won't they? One thing's for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.

Review:

"This timeless tale from a first-time author introduces the thoroughly likable Penderwicks, on vacation in a rental cottage on Arundel, a sprawling Massachusetts estate. Their spirited family dynamics and repartee call to mind those in Hilary McKay's novels, and the sisters' delightfully diverse personalities propel the plot. For instance, when they pull up to the estate's mansion, 10-year-old Jane feels certain she has spied a 'lonely boy' in a window and promptly begins a novel about him once they reach their cottage. Skye, 11, elated to have her own room with two beds (she plans to use both), immediately 'wrote the bed schedule next to her favorite word problem about trains traveling in different directions.' Batty, a shy four-year-old, faithfully wears her butterfly wings and is devoted to her dog, Hound (who 'insisted on licking faces in the middle of the night'). The girls' loving, amusingly distracted father is a botany professor with a fondness for spouting Latin phrases. Rosalind, the oldest at 12, has looked after the others since their mother's death (shortly after Batty's birth), and when she meets gentle Cagney, the estate's teenage gardener, he captures her heart. The 'lonely boy' turns out to be sensitive, sincere Jeffrey, a talented musician. Tension arises when Jeffrey's pretentious mother and her fianc decide to send the boy to military school. Certain to be as sorry as the sisters are when it's time to leave Arundel, readers will hope for a return visit from this memorable cast. Ages 8-12. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"So satisfying, the story begs for a sequel: it would be nice to see more of the Penderwicks." Ilene Cooper, Booklist (Starred Review)

Synopsis:

A National Book Award winner, this modern classic is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.

Synopsis:

"Pure whimsical delight. Magic *does* blow throughout the world, and ZIP proves it!"--New York Times bestelling author Lauren Myracle 

one girl + one scooter = journey of a lifetime

When Lyssas mother died, so did the magic—that special something that always made the sunflowers grow taller and the strawberry jelly taste sweeter. So when Lyssa receives the alarming news that her childhood home in Texas is about to be bulldozed, she sets off on a two-wheeled cross country journey to save her family home—and with it, the last remaining sparkle of her earlier life. On her odyssey, Lyssa meets some decidedly unusual people—from rowdy cowgirls to a chorus line of singing mermaids—and discovers adventure at every highway turn. But its the magic that she uncovers, little by little, along the way that will ultimately put a new zip in her step!

About the Author

Jeanne Birdsall lives in Massachusetss with her husband, four cats, a rabbit, a puppy, and a pet snail. She is working on another book about the Penderwick sisters.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Reina, February 26, 2007 (view all comments by Reina)
I couldn't put down this charming book, which should be enjoyed by ages 9-90! I am hoping for a sequel, as I was almost sad to come to the end.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(18 of 25 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375831430
Author:
Birdsall, Jeanne
Publisher:
Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Author:
R
Author:
Raskin, Ellen
Author:
Sheila O'Conno
Author:
O'Connor, Sheila
Author:
Natasha Farrant
Author:
Rollins, Ellie
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - General
Subject:
Vacations
Subject:
Sisters
Subject:
Family - Vacation
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Single-parent families
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Children s-Adventure Stories
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Subject:
Family - Siblings
Subject:
Family - Parents
Subject:
Family - General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
Penderwicks
Publication Date:
20050631
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 5
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. The Lightning Thief: Percy Jackson...
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. The Tale of Despereaux: Being the...
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. Princess Academy
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  4. Fly by Night
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  5. The Sea of Trolls
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  6. Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH...
    Used Trade Paper $2.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Reference » Family and Genealogy
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.50 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - English 9780375831430 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "This timeless tale from a first-time author introduces the thoroughly likable Penderwicks, on vacation in a rental cottage on Arundel, a sprawling Massachusetts estate. Their spirited family dynamics and repartee call to mind those in Hilary McKay's novels, and the sisters' delightfully diverse personalities propel the plot. For instance, when they pull up to the estate's mansion, 10-year-old Jane feels certain she has spied a 'lonely boy' in a window and promptly begins a novel about him once they reach their cottage. Skye, 11, elated to have her own room with two beds (she plans to use both), immediately 'wrote the bed schedule next to her favorite word problem about trains traveling in different directions.' Batty, a shy four-year-old, faithfully wears her butterfly wings and is devoted to her dog, Hound (who 'insisted on licking faces in the middle of the night'). The girls' loving, amusingly distracted father is a botany professor with a fondness for spouting Latin phrases. Rosalind, the oldest at 12, has looked after the others since their mother's death (shortly after Batty's birth), and when she meets gentle Cagney, the estate's teenage gardener, he captures her heart. The 'lonely boy' turns out to be sensitive, sincere Jeffrey, a talented musician. Tension arises when Jeffrey's pretentious mother and her fianc decide to send the boy to military school. Certain to be as sorry as the sisters are when it's time to leave Arundel, readers will hope for a return visit from this memorable cast. Ages 8-12. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "So satisfying, the story begs for a sequel: it would be nice to see more of the Penderwicks."
"Synopsis" by , A National Book Award winner, this modern classic is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.

"Synopsis" by ,
"Pure whimsical delight. Magic *does* blow throughout the world, and ZIP proves it!"--New York Times bestelling author Lauren Myracle 

one girl + one scooter = journey of a lifetime

When Lyssas mother died, so did the magic—that special something that always made the sunflowers grow taller and the strawberry jelly taste sweeter. So when Lyssa receives the alarming news that her childhood home in Texas is about to be bulldozed, she sets off on a two-wheeled cross country journey to save her family home—and with it, the last remaining sparkle of her earlier life. On her odyssey, Lyssa meets some decidedly unusual people—from rowdy cowgirls to a chorus line of singing mermaids—and discovers adventure at every highway turn. But its the magic that she uncovers, little by little, along the way that will ultimately put a new zip in her step!

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.