Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | October 23, 2014

    Kathryn Harrison: IMG On Joan of Arc: A Life Transfigured



    I'm always sorry to finish a book, to let go of characters I love, people I've struggled to understand for years, people who evolve before me.... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's- Graphic Novels
2 Hawthorne Children's- Graphic Novels
25 Local Warehouse Children's- General
25 Remote Warehouse Children's- General

Queen of the World! (Babymouse #1)

by and

Queen of the World! (Babymouse #1) Cover

 

Awards

Gryphon Award 2006
ALA Notable Book for Children 2006

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

It's the same thing every day for Babymouse. Where is the glamour? The excitement? The adventure? Nothing ever changes, until...Babymouse hears about Felicia Furrypaws's exclusive slumber party. Will Babymouse get invited? Will her best friend, Wilson, forgive her if she misses their monster movie marathon? Find out in Babymouse: Queen of the World, a graphic novel with attitude!

Review:

"Jennifer Holm (Our Only May Amelia) and her brother Matthew Holm, a graphic designer, make an incursion on Captain Underpants territory with these comic books about a girl mouse. Both tales share eye-grabbing black-and-pink graphics, and a perceptible Spiegelman influence simmers in the energetic ink illustrations of the dot-eyed heroine. Queen of the World! introduces Babymouse and her nemesis, a popular cat named Felicia Furrypaws. Babymouse desperately wants an invitation to Felicia's slumber party (which she feels could confer 'queen' status), although her best friend Wilson the Weasel expects her to watch monster movies with him that night. Fantasy sequences testify to Babymouse's reading habit and active imagination: in one reverie, she's Babymouserella, transformed into a princess by 'fairy godweasel' Wilson, but undone by Felicia on the way to the ball ('In 'Cinderella,' the mouse pulls the carriage. Duh!'). A sequel, Our Hero, centers on a gym class where unathletic Babymouse faces dodgeball whiz Felicia. Before the competition, Babymouse daydreams of boot camp, stomps on her antagonist as 'Babymousezilla' and indulges in a Peter Pan sequence where a combined Felicia-Hook makes her walk the plank into the jaws of a crocodile (who doubles as the gym teacher). The Holms make humorous allusions to novels and movies, and interject sympathetic remarks from an offstage narrator. This personable, self-conscious mouse, with her penchant for pink hearts, resembles Kevin Henkes's Lilly, with some extra years of grade-school experience. Ages 7-10." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"New readers will appreciate the familiar situations, humorous asides, and easy-to-digest plots; the graphic format is easy to follow." Hornbook Guide to Children

Review:

"Both story and art take full advantage of the lively possibilities of Babymouse turned loose from school...to explore the larger world with an imagination run wild." Booklist

Review:

"[A] quick, funny tale that ends on a warm note, with Babymouse discovering that wipeouts are more fun when shared with her biggest little fan." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Babymouse has a distinct voice and is a real charmer." School Library Journal

Synopsis:

Fans of Bad Kitty, Wimpy Kid, and Fly Guy will love this brand new graphic novel chapter books series!

Meet Mr. Pants! Its the last day of summer, which means the last chance for fun, and he really, really wants to play laser tag. But his sisters have other ideas—the Fairy Princess Dream Factory? Gah! Good thing Mr. Pants knows how to get what he wants—and have a blast doing it.

 

Synopsis:

Sleeping Beauty gets a feisty, furry twist in this hilarious new comic series from the creator of Dragonbreath

Harriet Hamsterbone is not your typical princess. She may be quite stunning in the rodent realm (you'll have to trust her on this one), but she is not so great at trailing around the palace looking ethereal or sighing a lot. She finds the royal life rather . . . dull. One day, though, Harriet's parents tell her of the curse that a rat placed on her at birth, dooming her to prick her finger on a hamster wheel when she's twelve and fall into a deep sleep. For Harriet, this is most wonderful news: It means she's invincible until she's twelve! After all, no good curse goes to waste. And so begins a grand life of adventure with her trusty riding quail, Mumfrey...until her twelfth birthday arrives and the curse manifests in a most unexpected way.

Perfect for fans of Babymouse and Chris Colfer's Land of Stories, this laugh-out-loud new comic hybrid series will turn everything you thought you knew about princesses on its head.

 

About the Author

Holm is the grandniece of Alice Amelia Holm. She produces television commercials.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375832291
Author:
Jennifer Holm and Matthew Holm
Publisher:
Random House Books for Young Readers
Author:
McCormick, Scott
Author:
Holm, Matt
Author:
Lazzell, R. H.
Author:
Cammuso, Frank
Author:
Holm, Jennifer L.
Author:
Vernon, Ursula
Author:
Holm, Matthew
Subject:
Animals
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - General
Subject:
Cartoons and comics
Subject:
Comics & Graphic Novels - General
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Comics & Graphic Novels
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
graphic novel;friendship;mice;popularity;fiction;humor;children s;imagination;girls;babymouse;funny;comics;friends;animals;mouse;kids;children;comic;peer pressure;slumber party;middle school;juvenile fiction;fantasy
Subject:
Animals - Mice Hamsters Guinea Pigs etc.
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
graphic novel;friendship;mice;popularity;fiction;humor;imagination;children s;girls;babymouse;animals;comics;funny;mouse;friends;kids;children;comic;fantasy;peer pressure;slumber party;middle school;pink;juvenile fiction
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Babymouse
Series Volume:
01
Publication Date:
20051231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 2 up to 5
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Two-color illustrations throughout
Pages:
96
Dimensions:
7.5 x 5.5 in
Age Level:
07-10

Other books you might like

  1. Beach Babe (Babymouse #3) Sale Trade Paper $3.98
  2. Camp Babymouse (Babymouse #6) Used Trade Paper $3.95
  3. Puppy Love (Babymouse #8) Sale Trade Paper $3.98
  4. Skater Girl (Babymouse #7) Sale Trade Paper $3.98
  5. Edgar Allan Poe (Poetry for Young... Used Pamphlet $2.50
  6. Among the Hidden: The Shadow...
    Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects


Children's » Comics and Graphic Novels » General
Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Series » General

Queen of the World! (Babymouse #1) New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.99 In Stock
Product details 96 pages Random House Books for Young Readers - English 9780375832291 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Jennifer Holm (Our Only May Amelia) and her brother Matthew Holm, a graphic designer, make an incursion on Captain Underpants territory with these comic books about a girl mouse. Both tales share eye-grabbing black-and-pink graphics, and a perceptible Spiegelman influence simmers in the energetic ink illustrations of the dot-eyed heroine. Queen of the World! introduces Babymouse and her nemesis, a popular cat named Felicia Furrypaws. Babymouse desperately wants an invitation to Felicia's slumber party (which she feels could confer 'queen' status), although her best friend Wilson the Weasel expects her to watch monster movies with him that night. Fantasy sequences testify to Babymouse's reading habit and active imagination: in one reverie, she's Babymouserella, transformed into a princess by 'fairy godweasel' Wilson, but undone by Felicia on the way to the ball ('In 'Cinderella,' the mouse pulls the carriage. Duh!'). A sequel, Our Hero, centers on a gym class where unathletic Babymouse faces dodgeball whiz Felicia. Before the competition, Babymouse daydreams of boot camp, stomps on her antagonist as 'Babymousezilla' and indulges in a Peter Pan sequence where a combined Felicia-Hook makes her walk the plank into the jaws of a crocodile (who doubles as the gym teacher). The Holms make humorous allusions to novels and movies, and interject sympathetic remarks from an offstage narrator. This personable, self-conscious mouse, with her penchant for pink hearts, resembles Kevin Henkes's Lilly, with some extra years of grade-school experience. Ages 7-10." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "New readers will appreciate the familiar situations, humorous asides, and easy-to-digest plots; the graphic format is easy to follow."
"Review" by , "Both story and art take full advantage of the lively possibilities of Babymouse turned loose from school...to explore the larger world with an imagination run wild."
"Review" by , "[A] quick, funny tale that ends on a warm note, with Babymouse discovering that wipeouts are more fun when shared with her biggest little fan."
"Review" by , "Babymouse has a distinct voice and is a real charmer."
"Synopsis" by ,
Fans of Bad Kitty, Wimpy Kid, and Fly Guy will love this brand new graphic novel chapter books series!

Meet Mr. Pants! Its the last day of summer, which means the last chance for fun, and he really, really wants to play laser tag. But his sisters have other ideas—the Fairy Princess Dream Factory? Gah! Good thing Mr. Pants knows how to get what he wants—and have a blast doing it.

 

"Synopsis" by ,
Sleeping Beauty gets a feisty, furry twist in this hilarious new comic series from the creator of Dragonbreath

Harriet Hamsterbone is not your typical princess. She may be quite stunning in the rodent realm (you'll have to trust her on this one), but she is not so great at trailing around the palace looking ethereal or sighing a lot. She finds the royal life rather . . . dull. One day, though, Harriet's parents tell her of the curse that a rat placed on her at birth, dooming her to prick her finger on a hamster wheel when she's twelve and fall into a deep sleep. For Harriet, this is most wonderful news: It means she's invincible until she's twelve! After all, no good curse goes to waste. And so begins a grand life of adventure with her trusty riding quail, Mumfrey...until her twelfth birthday arrives and the curse manifests in a most unexpected way.

Perfect for fans of Babymouse and Chris Colfer's Land of Stories, this laugh-out-loud new comic hybrid series will turn everything you thought you knew about princesses on its head.

 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.