Magnificent Marvel Supersale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | March 13, 2015

    Hanya Yanagihara: IMG Nine Tips for Finishing That Novel



    My second novel, A Little Life — about a group of men in New York and their friendship over the course of 30 years — will be published... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Mystery- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Force of Nature (Joe Pickett Novels)

by

Force of Nature (Joe Pickett Novels) Cover

ISBN13: 9780399158261
ISBN10: 039915826x
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $10.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A New York Times–bestselling collection of Longmire adventures

 

Ten years ago, Craig Johnson wrote his first short story, the Hillerman Award–winning “Old Indian Trick.” This was one of the earliest appearances of the sheriff who would go on to star in Johnsons bestselling, award-winning novels and the hit television series Longmire. Each Christmas Eve thereafter, fans rejoiced when Johnson sent out a new short story featuring an episode in Walts life that doesnt appear in the novels; over the years, many have asked why they cant buy the stories in book form.

Wait for Signs gives Longmire fans a chance to own these beloved stories—and one that was published for the first time in the Viking edition—in a single volume. With glimpses of Walts past from the incident in “Ministerial Aide,” when the sheriff is mistaken for a deity, to the hilarious “Messenger,” where the majority of the action takes place in a Porta-Potty, Wait for Signs is a necessary addition to any Longmire fans shelf and a wonderful way to introduce new readers to the fictional world of Absaroka County, Wyoming.

Review:

"Edgar-winner Box's breakneck 12th Joe Pickett novel (after 2011's Cold Wind) focuses on Joe's outlaw buddy, Nate Romanowski. Nate's been hiding in the foothills of Wyoming's Bighorn Mountains from cruel and powerful enemies, harmlessly communing with his falcons, except when assisting game warden Joe on a case. Unfortunately, Nate's sociopath former Special Forces commander, John Nemecek, a fellow falconer, comes after him with merciless efficiency and a crew of fanatical thugs, and Nate responds with measured but startling ferocity. When Nemecek begins interrogating — and eliminating — people connected to Nate, Joe's family members become targets, forcing Joe to decide how far he can go to help his friend. The struggle between loyalty and law has always been at the heart of this series, set far from big-city legal support systems, and it's especially impressive in this superior entry. Author tour. Agent: Ann Rittenberg, Ann Rittenberg Literary Agency." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

In the latest addition to this acclaimed series, PI Stranahan and Sheriff Ettinger reunite to investigate a young girls death

Its April, but theres still snow on the Montana mountains the day a member of the Madison River Liar and Fly Tiers club finds a Santa hat in the chimney of his rented cabin. With the flue clogged and desperate to make a fire, he climbs up to the roof, only to find the body of a teenage girl wedged into the chimney. When Sheriff Martha Ettinger and her team arrive to extract the body they identify the victim as Cinderella “Cindy” Huntingdon, a promising young rodeo star, missing since November.

Was Cindy murdered? Or running for her life—and if so, from whom? Cindys mother, Etta, hires private detective Sean Stranahan to find out. Jasper Fey, the girls stepfather, believes moving on is the only way to heal. But Ettas not willing to let it go, and neither are Sean or Martha, who find clues to the death in the mysterious legends of the Crazy Mountains. The fourth book in McCaffertys mystery series features a brisk, savvy plot and charming yet authentic characters—perfect for fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.

Synopsis:

A wonderful Montana mystery starring fly fisherman-cum-detective Sean Stranahan, for fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson

Wolves howl as a riderless horse returns at sunset to the Culpepper Dude Ranch in the Madison Valley. The missing woman, Nanika Martinelli, is better known as the Fly Fishing Venus, a red-haired river guide who lures clients the way dry flies draw trout.

As Sheriff Martha Ettinger follows hoof tracks in the snow, she finds one of the men who has fallen under the temptresss spell impaled on the antler tine of a giant bull elk, a kill thats been claimed by a wolf pack. An accident? If not, is the killer human or animal? With painter, fly fisherman, and sometimes private detective Sean Stranahans help, Ettinger will follow clues that point to an animal rights group called the Clan of the Three-Clawed Wolf and to their svengali master, whose eyes blaze with pagan fire.

In their most dangerous adventure yet, Stranahan and Ettinger find themselves in the crossfire of wolf lovers, wolf haters, and a sister bent on revenge, and on the trail of an alpha male gone terribly wrong.

About the Author

C. J. Box is the author of thirteen Joe Pickett novels and three stand-alones, and has won the Edgar, Anthony, Macavity, Gumshoe, and Barry Awards, as well as the French Prix Calibre .38. His most recent Joe Pickett novel, Force of Nature, debuted at #3 on the New York Times bestseller list. He lives outside Cheyenne, Wyoming, with his family.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

gm286, January 1, 2013 (view all comments by gm286)
C j 's books just keep getting better !!!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Sharron Armel, October 19, 2012 (view all comments by Sharron Armel)
As a long-standing fan of Joe Pickett and Nate Romanowski, I look forward to each new book in the series. And they keep getting better and better! The last two (Cold Wind and Force of Nature) are remarkable books. Box has focused his writing on tight plots, timely political and social issues, and vivid descriptions of the natural world. A few of the early novels required that noted "willing suspension of disbelief" but these books are built upon reality. While they may surprise you, they won't puzzle you or make you feel cheated by a clever plot shortcut.

This book gives, at long last, the back story on Nate Romanowski, and makes his life of isolation "off the grid" understandable. As always I look forward to the next addition to a terrific series.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399158261
Subtitle:
Twelve Longmire Stories
Author:
Box, C J
Author:
Box, C. J.
Author:
McCafferty, Keith
Author:
Johnson, Craig
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Police Procedural
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Series:
A Joe Pickett Novel
Series Volume:
12
Publication Date:
20151027
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
includes a teaser
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. C.J.'s Fate Used Mass Market $5.95
  2. As the Crow Flies (Walt Longmire...
    Used Hardcover $10.95
  3. Dangerous Used Hardcover $3.50
  4. Men of Danger Used Mass Market $2.95
  5. All Jacked Up (Berkley Sensation) Used Mass Market $3.50

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Crime

Force of Nature (Joe Pickett Novels) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Putnam Adult - English 9780399158261 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Edgar-winner Box's breakneck 12th Joe Pickett novel (after 2011's Cold Wind) focuses on Joe's outlaw buddy, Nate Romanowski. Nate's been hiding in the foothills of Wyoming's Bighorn Mountains from cruel and powerful enemies, harmlessly communing with his falcons, except when assisting game warden Joe on a case. Unfortunately, Nate's sociopath former Special Forces commander, John Nemecek, a fellow falconer, comes after him with merciless efficiency and a crew of fanatical thugs, and Nate responds with measured but startling ferocity. When Nemecek begins interrogating — and eliminating — people connected to Nate, Joe's family members become targets, forcing Joe to decide how far he can go to help his friend. The struggle between loyalty and law has always been at the heart of this series, set far from big-city legal support systems, and it's especially impressive in this superior entry. Author tour. Agent: Ann Rittenberg, Ann Rittenberg Literary Agency." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
In the latest addition to this acclaimed series, PI Stranahan and Sheriff Ettinger reunite to investigate a young girls death

Its April, but theres still snow on the Montana mountains the day a member of the Madison River Liar and Fly Tiers club finds a Santa hat in the chimney of his rented cabin. With the flue clogged and desperate to make a fire, he climbs up to the roof, only to find the body of a teenage girl wedged into the chimney. When Sheriff Martha Ettinger and her team arrive to extract the body they identify the victim as Cinderella “Cindy” Huntingdon, a promising young rodeo star, missing since November.

Was Cindy murdered? Or running for her life—and if so, from whom? Cindys mother, Etta, hires private detective Sean Stranahan to find out. Jasper Fey, the girls stepfather, believes moving on is the only way to heal. But Ettas not willing to let it go, and neither are Sean or Martha, who find clues to the death in the mysterious legends of the Crazy Mountains. The fourth book in McCaffertys mystery series features a brisk, savvy plot and charming yet authentic characters—perfect for fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.

"Synopsis" by ,
A wonderful Montana mystery starring fly fisherman-cum-detective Sean Stranahan, for fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson

Wolves howl as a riderless horse returns at sunset to the Culpepper Dude Ranch in the Madison Valley. The missing woman, Nanika Martinelli, is better known as the Fly Fishing Venus, a red-haired river guide who lures clients the way dry flies draw trout.

As Sheriff Martha Ettinger follows hoof tracks in the snow, she finds one of the men who has fallen under the temptresss spell impaled on the antler tine of a giant bull elk, a kill thats been claimed by a wolf pack. An accident? If not, is the killer human or animal? With painter, fly fisherman, and sometimes private detective Sean Stranahans help, Ettinger will follow clues that point to an animal rights group called the Clan of the Three-Clawed Wolf and to their svengali master, whose eyes blaze with pagan fire.

In their most dangerous adventure yet, Stranahan and Ettinger find themselves in the crossfire of wolf lovers, wolf haters, and a sister bent on revenge, and on the trail of an alpha male gone terribly wrong.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.