Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z

Other titles in the Joe Pickett Novels series:

Force of Nature (Joe Pickett Novels)

by

Force of Nature (Joe Pickett Novels) Cover

ISBN13: 9780399158261
ISBN10: 039915826x
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $11.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A wonderful Montana mystery starring fly fisherman-cum-detective Sean Stranahan, for fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson

Wolves howl as a riderless horse returns at sunset to the Culpepper Dude Ranch in the Madison Valley. The missing woman, Nanika Martinelli, is better known as the Fly Fishing Venus, a red-haired river guide who lures clients the way dry flies draw trout.

As Sheriff Martha Ettinger follows hoof tracks in the snow, she finds one of the men who has fallen under the temptresss spell impaled on the antler tine of a giant bull elk, a kill thats been claimed by a wolf pack. An accident? If not, is the killer human or animal? With painter, fly fisherman, and sometimes private detective Sean Stranahans help, Ettinger will follow clues that point to an animal rights group called the Clan of the Three-Clawed Wolf and to their svengali master, whose eyes blaze with pagan fire.

In their most dangerous adventure yet, Stranahan and Ettinger find themselves in the crossfire of wolf lovers, wolf haters, and a sister bent on revenge, and on the trail of an alpha male gone terribly wrong.

Review:

"Edgar-winner Box's breakneck 12th Joe Pickett novel (after 2011's Cold Wind) focuses on Joe's outlaw buddy, Nate Romanowski. Nate's been hiding in the foothills of Wyoming's Bighorn Mountains from cruel and powerful enemies, harmlessly communing with his falcons, except when assisting game warden Joe on a case. Unfortunately, Nate's sociopath former Special Forces commander, John Nemecek, a fellow falconer, comes after him with merciless efficiency and a crew of fanatical thugs, and Nate responds with measured but startling ferocity. When Nemecek begins interrogating — and eliminating — people connected to Nate, Joe's family members become targets, forcing Joe to decide how far he can go to help his friend. The struggle between loyalty and law has always been at the heart of this series, set far from big-city legal support systems, and it's especially impressive in this superior entry. Author tour. Agent: Ann Rittenberg, Ann Rittenberg Literary Agency." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

ONE OF LIBRARY JOURNAL'S BEST MYSTERIES OF THE YEAR

In 1995, Nate Romanowski was in a Special Forces unit abroad when his commander, John Nemecek, did something terrible. Now the high-ranking government official and cold-blooded sociopath is determined to eliminate anyone who knows about it—like Nate, whos hidden himself away in Wyomings Bighorn Mountains. And he knows exactly how Nemecek will do it—by targeting Nate's friends to draw him out. That includes his friend, game warden Joe Pickett, and Picketts entire family. The only way to fight back is outside the law. Nate knows he can do it, but he isn't sure about his straight-arrow friend. And all their lives could depend on it.

Synopsis:

A Library Journal Best Mystery of 2012

He never wanted to tell Joe Pickett about it, but Nate Romanowski always knew trouble was coming out of his past. Now it's here, and it may not only be the battle of his life-but of Joe's.

In 1995, Nate was in a secret Special Forces unit abroad when a colleague did something terrible. Now high up in the government, the man is determined to eliminate anyone who knows about it, and Nate knows exactly how he'll do it-by striking at Nate's friends to draw him out. The entire Pickett family will be a target, and the only way to fight back is outside the law. Nate knows he can do it, but he isn't sure about his straight-arrow friend-and all their lives could depend on it.

About the Author

C. J. Box is the author of thirteen Joe Pickett novels and three stand-alones, and has won the Edgar, Anthony, Macavity, Gumshoe, and Barry Awards, as well as the French Prix Calibre .38. His most recent Joe Pickett novel, Force of Nature, debuted at #3 on the New York Times bestseller list. He lives outside Cheyenne, Wyoming, with his family.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

gm286, January 1, 2013 (view all comments by gm286)
C j 's books just keep getting better !!!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Sharron Armel, October 19, 2012 (view all comments by Sharron Armel)
As a long-standing fan of Joe Pickett and Nate Romanowski, I look forward to each new book in the series. And they keep getting better and better! The last two (Cold Wind and Force of Nature) are remarkable books. Box has focused his writing on tight plots, timely political and social issues, and vivid descriptions of the natural world. A few of the early novels required that noted "willing suspension of disbelief" but these books are built upon reality. While they may surprise you, they won't puzzle you or make you feel cheated by a clever plot shortcut.

This book gives, at long last, the back story on Nate Romanowski, and makes his life of isolation "off the grid" understandable. As always I look forward to the next addition to a terrific series.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399158261
Author:
Box, C J
Publisher:
Berkley
Author:
Box, C. J.
Author:
McCafferty, Keith
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Police Procedural
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Series:
A Joe Pickett Novel
Series Volume:
12
Publication Date:
20130305
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
includes a teaser
Pages:
464
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. C.J.'s Fate Used Mass Market $1.95
  2. Dangerous Used Mass Market $4.95
  3. Men of Danger Used Mass Market $5.50

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Crime

Force of Nature (Joe Pickett Novels) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.95 In Stock
Product details 464 pages Putnam Adult - English 9780399158261 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Edgar-winner Box's breakneck 12th Joe Pickett novel (after 2011's Cold Wind) focuses on Joe's outlaw buddy, Nate Romanowski. Nate's been hiding in the foothills of Wyoming's Bighorn Mountains from cruel and powerful enemies, harmlessly communing with his falcons, except when assisting game warden Joe on a case. Unfortunately, Nate's sociopath former Special Forces commander, John Nemecek, a fellow falconer, comes after him with merciless efficiency and a crew of fanatical thugs, and Nate responds with measured but startling ferocity. When Nemecek begins interrogating — and eliminating — people connected to Nate, Joe's family members become targets, forcing Joe to decide how far he can go to help his friend. The struggle between loyalty and law has always been at the heart of this series, set far from big-city legal support systems, and it's especially impressive in this superior entry. Author tour. Agent: Ann Rittenberg, Ann Rittenberg Literary Agency." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
ONE OF LIBRARY JOURNAL'S BEST MYSTERIES OF THE YEAR

In 1995, Nate Romanowski was in a Special Forces unit abroad when his commander, John Nemecek, did something terrible. Now the high-ranking government official and cold-blooded sociopath is determined to eliminate anyone who knows about it—like Nate, whos hidden himself away in Wyomings Bighorn Mountains. And he knows exactly how Nemecek will do it—by targeting Nate's friends to draw him out. That includes his friend, game warden Joe Pickett, and Picketts entire family. The only way to fight back is outside the law. Nate knows he can do it, but he isn't sure about his straight-arrow friend. And all their lives could depend on it.

"Synopsis" by ,

A Library Journal Best Mystery of 2012

He never wanted to tell Joe Pickett about it, but Nate Romanowski always knew trouble was coming out of his past. Now it's here, and it may not only be the battle of his life-but of Joe's.

In 1995, Nate was in a secret Special Forces unit abroad when a colleague did something terrible. Now high up in the government, the man is determined to eliminate anyone who knows about it, and Nate knows exactly how he'll do it-by striking at Nate's friends to draw him out. The entire Pickett family will be a target, and the only way to fight back is outside the law. Nate knows he can do it, but he isn't sure about his straight-arrow friend-and all their lives could depend on it.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.