Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's Holiday- Christmas
3 Local Warehouse Children's Holiday- Christmas
11 Remote Warehouse Children's Holiday- Christmas

The Legend of the Poinsettia (Mexican Folktale)

by

The Legend of the Poinsettia (Mexican Folktale) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In Mexico, the poinsettia is called flor de la Nochebuenao flower of the Holy Night. At Christmastime, the flower blooms and flourishes, the quite exquisite red stars lighting up the countryside.

A Mexican legend tells how the poinsettia came to be, through a little girl's unselfish gift to the Christ Child. Tomie dePaola has embraced the legend using his own special feeling for Christmas. His glorious paintings capture not only the brilliant colors of Mexico and its art, but also the excitement of the children preparing for Christmas and the hope of Lucida, who comes to see what makes a gift truly beautiful.

Synopsis:

A holiday classic with a Latino flair

Infused with Spanish words and phrases, this festive retelling of The Night Before Christmas adds a latino twist to the popular holiday poem. Beloved folk icon Pancho Claus, dressed like a charro, donning a sombrero, and leading a team of burros, arrives after a family's Christmas fiesta to spread his cheer. Who could turn down a Macarena and a Christmas cancion?

Synopsis:

In the tradition of The Legend of the Indian Paintbrush and The Legend of the Bluebonnet, Caldecott Honoree Tomie dePaola retells the Mexican legend of how the poinsettia came to be. It's a beautiful tale certain to please, with beautiful full-color illustrations.

About the Author

Jose-Luis Orozco is a bilingual children's performer, recording artist, and author who makes appearances nationwide. He lives in Los Angeles, California.

Ashley Wolff has illustrated over 40 books, including the Miss Bindergarten series. She lives in San Francisco, California.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399216923
Author:
dePaola, Tomie
Publisher:
Putnam Publishing Group
Author:
dePaola, Tomie
Author:
Orozco, Jose-Luis
Author:
Wolff, Ashley
Location:
New York :
Subject:
Holidays & Festivals - Christmas
Subject:
Christmas
Subject:
Fairy Tales & Folklore - Single Title
Subject:
Legends
Subject:
Folklore
Subject:
Mexico
Subject:
Poinsettias.
Subject:
Poinsettias -- Folklore.
Subject:
Holidays & Celebrations - Christmas
Subject:
Holidays & Celebrations - Christmas & Advent
Subject:
Folklore -- Mexico.
Subject:
Children s Holiday-Christmas
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback - picture book
Series:
Mexican Folktale
Series Volume:
v.7-8
Publication Date:
19941031
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from P up to 3
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
32
Dimensions:
11 x 8.25 in 1 lb
Children's Book Type:
Picture / Wordless
Age Level:
04-08

Other books you might like

  1. Christmas Customs and Traditions Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. The Christmas Eve Mystery Other... Used Trade Paper $1.00
  3. The Trees of the Dancing Goats Used Hardcover $9.50
  4. Twelve Days of Christmas Used Hardcover $9.95
  5. Merry Christmas Strega Nona Used Pamphlet $1.95
  6. Allie the Christmas Spider Used Hardcover $7.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Holidays » Christmas
Children's » Holidays » General
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z

The Legend of the Poinsettia (Mexican Folktale) New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.99 In Stock
Product details 32 pages Putnam Publishing Group - English 9780399216923 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
A holiday classic with a Latino flair

Infused with Spanish words and phrases, this festive retelling of The Night Before Christmas adds a latino twist to the popular holiday poem. Beloved folk icon Pancho Claus, dressed like a charro, donning a sombrero, and leading a team of burros, arrives after a family's Christmas fiesta to spread his cheer. Who could turn down a Macarena and a Christmas cancion?

"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of The Legend of the Indian Paintbrush and The Legend of the Bluebonnet, Caldecott Honoree Tomie dePaola retells the Mexican legend of how the poinsettia came to be. It's a beautiful tale certain to please, with beautiful full-color illustrations.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.