25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.50
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General

More copies of this ISBN

Words in the Dust

by

Words in the Dust Cover

ISBN13: 9780545261258
ISBN10: 0545261252
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $12.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An eye-opening, heart-rending tale of love, honor and betrayal from NBC foreign news correspodent Atia Abawi

Fatima is a Hazara girl, raised to be obedient and dutiful. Samiullah is a Pashtun boy raised to defend the traditions of his tribe. They were not meant to fall in love. But they do. And the story that follows shows both the beauty and the violence in current-day Afghanistan as Fatima and Samiullah fight their families, their cultures and the Taliban to stay together. Based on the people Atia Abawi met and the events she covered during her nearly five years in Afghanistan, this stunning novel is a must-read for anyone who has lived during America's War in Afghanistan.

Perfect for fans of Patricia McCormick, Linda Sue Park, and Khaled Hosseini, this story will stay with readers for a long time to come.

Advanced Praise for THE SECRET SKY:

"[The Secret Sky is] a tale of the indomitable Afghan spirit of hope and love. Among the many novels set in Afghanistan for young people or for adults, The Secret Sky stands alone. Unputdownable. Unforgettable." –Trent Reedy, author of Words in the Dust

“The Secret Sky brilliantly captures the magic and the heartbreak of Afghanistan as only someone rooted in its mystery can....This first novel by a top foreign correspondent has the authenticity of raw journalism and the poetry of a gifted writer. A must read for anyone who wants to understand the contradictions of the Afghan soul.” –Andrea Mitchell, NBC News Chief Foreign Affairs Correspondent and anchor of Andrea Mitchell Reports

 

“A riveting tale written from the heart....This powerful love story will leave you angry at injustice, and awed by courage. It shocks and inspires.” –Lyse Doucet, Chief International Correspondent, BBC

The Secret Sky is an amazing combination of utterly searing and beautifully romantic. It was like reading The Kite Runner—a gripping story that gave insight to this brutal yet magical culture.” –Daphne Benedis-Grab, author of The Girl in the Wall

 

Review:

"In his first novel, Reedy, a former soldier in Afghanistan, examines the restrictive experiences of contemporary Afghan girls through sympathetic 13-year-old narrator Zulaikha. Zulaikha's cleft palate makes her an object of ridicule for local merchants, bullies, and even her younger brother. Although Zulaikha's disability often relegates her to a serving and observing role, it allows her more freedom to leave her home than her 15-year-old sister, Zeynab, who will soon wed. Contact outside Zulaikha's family provides compelling insights for Zulaikha, such as her ad hoc education by Meena, a professor who knew and taught Zulaikha's bookish mother (a proclivity that led to her death), and with the American soldiers who offer to operate on her lip and teeth. 'Even with the swelling, I looked almost normal. And I had the Americans, as ignorant and wasteful as they were, to thank.' Within the family, the evolution of key relationships presents a nuanced look at family dynamics and Afghan culture. Though unsentimental and fraught with tragedy, Reedy's narrative offers hope and will go a long way toward helping readers understand the people behind the headlines. Ages 9 — 14. (Jan.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

In the tradition of "Shabanu, Daughter of the Wind" and "The Breadwinner" comes a beautiful debut about a daughter of Afghanistan discovering new friends and opportunities after the defeat of the Taliban.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of SHABANU, DAUGHTER OF THE WIND and THE BREADWINNER, a beautiful debut about a daughter of Afghanistan discovering new friends and opportunities after the defeat of the Taliban.

Zulaikha hopes. She hopes for peace, now that the Taliban have been driven from Afghanistan; a good relationship with her hard stepmother; and one day even to go to school, or to have her cleft palate fixed. Zulaikha knows all will be provided for her--"Inshallah," God willing.

Then she meets Meena, who offers to teach her the Afghan poetry she taught her late mother. And the Americans come to her village, promising not just new opportunities and dangers, but surgery to fix her face. These changes could mean a whole new life for Zulaikha--but can she dare to hope they'll come true?

About the Author

Trent Reedy

Trent Reedy became fascinated with Afghanistan when he served there with the U. S. Army in 2004-2005. Upon his return to the United States, he enrolled in the Writing for Children MFA program at the Vermont College of Fine Arts, where he wrote the first drafts of this book. Born and raised in Iowa, where he taught high school English, Trent and his wife now live in Washington state.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

writermala, November 20, 2011 (view all comments by writermala)
In the tradition of "The Kite Runner,' and "A thousand splendid Suns," "Words in the dus" is a poignant story of a young Afghani Girl, Zuleikha, her dreams and her aspirations. She has a difficult cross to bear in suffering her cleft lip. She assumes that if her dis-figuration is healed she will be a princess like her name suggests, alas! Life takes over and she learns that her words are but words in the dust. A wonderful story of the realties of Post War Afghanistan as told from a woman's perspective.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
Laowai72, December 23, 2010 (view all comments by Laowai72)
An excellent book for kids and adults about the reality of war for one girl in Afghanistan. A story that allows the reader to see Afghanistan through the eyes of Zulaikha and defines victory not in terms of military or political aims but simply in the ability of a young girl to learn to read and live a life free from fear. If you are looking for a book that can help young people to understand the horrors of war and the importance of family and education, I cannot recommend this book highly enough. "Words in the Dust" is a wonderful and inspiring story that you will want to read more than once!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780545261258
Author:
Reedy, Trent
Publisher:
Arthur A. Levine Books
Author:
Abawi, Atia
Subject:
People & Places - Middle East
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Love & Romance
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20110131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in
Age Level:
09-14

Other books you might like

  1. If I Stay
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  2. Define "Normal"
    Used Book Club Paperback $1.75
  3. 642 Things to Draw Used Trade Paper $11.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General

Words in the Dust Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.50 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Arthur A. Levine Books - English 9780545261258 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In his first novel, Reedy, a former soldier in Afghanistan, examines the restrictive experiences of contemporary Afghan girls through sympathetic 13-year-old narrator Zulaikha. Zulaikha's cleft palate makes her an object of ridicule for local merchants, bullies, and even her younger brother. Although Zulaikha's disability often relegates her to a serving and observing role, it allows her more freedom to leave her home than her 15-year-old sister, Zeynab, who will soon wed. Contact outside Zulaikha's family provides compelling insights for Zulaikha, such as her ad hoc education by Meena, a professor who knew and taught Zulaikha's bookish mother (a proclivity that led to her death), and with the American soldiers who offer to operate on her lip and teeth. 'Even with the swelling, I looked almost normal. And I had the Americans, as ignorant and wasteful as they were, to thank.' Within the family, the evolution of key relationships presents a nuanced look at family dynamics and Afghan culture. Though unsentimental and fraught with tragedy, Reedy's narrative offers hope and will go a long way toward helping readers understand the people behind the headlines. Ages 9 — 14. (Jan.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of "Shabanu, Daughter of the Wind" and "The Breadwinner" comes a beautiful debut about a daughter of Afghanistan discovering new friends and opportunities after the defeat of the Taliban.
"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of SHABANU, DAUGHTER OF THE WIND and THE BREADWINNER, a beautiful debut about a daughter of Afghanistan discovering new friends and opportunities after the defeat of the Taliban.

Zulaikha hopes. She hopes for peace, now that the Taliban have been driven from Afghanistan; a good relationship with her hard stepmother; and one day even to go to school, or to have her cleft palate fixed. Zulaikha knows all will be provided for her--"Inshallah," God willing.

Then she meets Meena, who offers to teach her the Afghan poetry she taught her late mother. And the Americans come to her village, promising not just new opportunities and dangers, but surgery to fix her face. These changes could mean a whole new life for Zulaikha--but can she dare to hope they'll come true?

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.