Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton World History- Latin America

The Darkest Jungle: The True Story of the Darien Expedition and America's Ill-Fated Race to Connect the Seas

by

The Darkest Jungle: The True Story of the Darien Expedition and America's Ill-Fated Race to Connect the Seas Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“Commit yourself to the Virgin Mary, for in her hands is the way into the Darién—and in God’s is the way out.”

The Darkest Jungle tells the harrowing story of America’s first ship canal exploration across a narrow piece of land in Central America called the Darién, a place that loomed large in the minds of the world’s most courageous adventurers in the nineteenth century. With rival warships and explorers from England and France days behind, the 27-member U.S. Darién Exploring Expedition landed on the Atlantic shore at Caledonia Bay in eastern Panama to begin their mad dash up the coast-hugging mountains of the Darién wilderness. The whole world watched as this party attempted to be the first to traverse the 40-mile isthmus, the narrowest spot between the Atlantic and Pacific in all the Americas.

Later, government investigators would say they were doomed before they started. Amid the speculative fever for an Atlantic and Pacific ship canal, the terrain to be crossed had been grossly misrepresented and fictitiously mapped. By January 27, 1854, the Americans had served out their last provisions and were severely footsore but believed the river they had arrived at was an artery to the Pacific, their destination. Leading them was the charismatic commander Isaac Strain, an adventuring 33-year-old U.S. Navy lieutenant. The party could have turned back except, said Strain, they were to a man “revolted at the idea” of failing at a task they seemed destined to accomplish. Like the first men to try to scale Everest or reach the North Pole, they felt the eyes of their countrymen upon them.

Yet Strain’s party would wander lost in the jungle for another sixty nightmarish days, following a tortuously contorted and uncharted tropical river. Their guns rusted in the damp heat, expected settlements never materialized, and the lush terrain provided little to no sustenance. As the unending march dragged on, the party was beset by flesh-embedding parasites and a range of infectious tropical diseases they had no antidote for (or understanding of). In the desperate final days, in the throes of starvation, the survivors flirted with cannibalism and the sickest men had to be left behind so, as the journal keeper painfully recorded, the rest might have a chance to live.

The U.S. Darién Exploring Expedition’s 97-day ordeal of starvation, exhaustion, and madness—a tragedy turned “triumph of the soul” due to the courage and self-sacrifice of their leader and the seamen who devotedly followed him—is one of the great untold tales of human survival and exploration. Based on the vividly detailed log entries of Strain and his junior officers, other period sources, and Balf’s own treks in the Darién Gap, this is a rich and utterly compelling historical narrative that will thrill readers who enjoyed In the Heart of the Sea, Isaac’s Storm, and other sagas of adventure at the limits of human endurance.

Review:

"Balf has written a compelling, tragic story, reviving an adventure overshadowed, 60 years later, by the successful completion of the canal. Balf reminds readers that...the channel was 'built on the bones of dead men.'" Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Balf pours on the historic doom and misery with...practiced ease....Crack contemporary place writing, related in wrenching, enchanting detail." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"[E]ngaging....This 'travel' book goes the extra mile, giving the reader a look at the lives of the survivors and the experience of the author covering the same ground today." Library Journal

Synopsis:

In the 1850s, the whole world eagerly looked to the Darién Gap in eastern Panama as the natural spot to build a great canal linking the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans. Ships from around the world sailed to this largely unexplored region, but the U.S. Darién Exploring Expedition, led by Navy lieutenant Isaac G. Strain, arrived first, with 29 men ready to survey the gap. Misled by the fraudulent maps of a supposed earlier explorer and faced with two closely spaced mountain ranges, cascading rivers, damp and brutal heat, swarming mosquitoes and flies, a hostile native population, and a catalog of other hardships, the expedition was soon at the brink of disaster. Their ordeal of starvation, exhaustion, disease, madness, and ultimate despair as they succumbed to the brutal jungle is one of the great untold tales in the annals of exploration. Based on the vividly detailed log entries of Strain and his junior officers, other period sources, and Balf's own trek in the Darién Gap, this is a rich, utterly compelling historical narrative that will thrill readers who enjoyed In the Heart of the Sea, Isaac's Storm, the accounts of the Shackleton expedition, and all similar sagas of adventure at the limits of endurance.

Synopsis:

Based on the vividly detailed log entries of the U.S. Darién Exploring Expedition, this is a rich, utterly compelling historical narrative that will thrill readers who enjoyed Isaac's Storm, the accounts of the Shackleton expedition, and all similar sagas of adventure at the limits of endurance.

Synopsis:

Includes bibliographical references (p. 315-320) and index.

About the Author

TODD BALF, the author of The Last River and a former senior editor for Outside, is a contributing editor to Men’s Journal. He first traveled to Panama’s Darién in 1991—a memorably flawed crossing in which he and his companions traveled by foot, burro, and dugout canoe yet managed to see neither the Pacific nor the Atlantic.

Table of Contents

Dramatis Personae ix
Prologue 1
1 Gales of December 3
2 The Sea and the Jungle 23
3 Torrid Zone 49
4 Darien's Gap 72
5 Door of the Seas 95
6 Divide 109
7 Devil's Own 129
8 Chucunaque River 145
9 Life and Death 165
10 Pacific 187
11 Battle Road 205
12 Crossing Lines 227
13 Home 241
14 Away 267
Epilogue 283
Notes 297
Selected Bibliography 315
Acknowledgments 321
Index 323

Product Details

ISBN:
9780609609897
Author:
Balf, Todd
Publisher:
Random House
Location:
New York
Subject:
Discovery and exploration
Subject:
History
Subject:
Adventure
Subject:
Central America
Subject:
19th century
Subject:
Modern - 19th Century
Subject:
Panama canal
Subject:
Darien
Subject:
Latin America - Central America
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Series Volume:
108-80
Publication Date:
December 30, 2003
Binding:
Hardcover
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
9.56x6.48x1.13 in. 1.28 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. A Book of Bees: ...and How to Keep Them Used Trade Paper $7.95
  2. You Back the Attack! We'll Bomb Who... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. The Island of Lost Maps: A True...
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. Panama (Countries of the World) New Library Bound $19.95
  5. Dear Friend & Gardener Used Hardcover $14.95
  6. The National Geographic Traveler:... Used Trade Paper $4.50

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Latin America » Panama
History and Social Science » World History » Latin America

The Darkest Jungle: The True Story of the Darien Expedition and America's Ill-Fated Race to Connect the Seas Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.95 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Crown Publishers - English 9780609609897 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Balf has written a compelling, tragic story, reviving an adventure overshadowed, 60 years later, by the successful completion of the canal. Balf reminds readers that...the channel was 'built on the bones of dead men.'"
"Review" by , "Balf pours on the historic doom and misery with...practiced ease....Crack contemporary place writing, related in wrenching, enchanting detail."
"Review" by , "[E]ngaging....This 'travel' book goes the extra mile, giving the reader a look at the lives of the survivors and the experience of the author covering the same ground today."
"Synopsis" by , In the 1850s, the whole world eagerly looked to the Darién Gap in eastern Panama as the natural spot to build a great canal linking the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans. Ships from around the world sailed to this largely unexplored region, but the U.S. Darién Exploring Expedition, led by Navy lieutenant Isaac G. Strain, arrived first, with 29 men ready to survey the gap. Misled by the fraudulent maps of a supposed earlier explorer and faced with two closely spaced mountain ranges, cascading rivers, damp and brutal heat, swarming mosquitoes and flies, a hostile native population, and a catalog of other hardships, the expedition was soon at the brink of disaster. Their ordeal of starvation, exhaustion, disease, madness, and ultimate despair as they succumbed to the brutal jungle is one of the great untold tales in the annals of exploration. Based on the vividly detailed log entries of Strain and his junior officers, other period sources, and Balf's own trek in the Darién Gap, this is a rich, utterly compelling historical narrative that will thrill readers who enjoyed In the Heart of the Sea, Isaac's Storm, the accounts of the Shackleton expedition, and all similar sagas of adventure at the limits of endurance.
"Synopsis" by , Based on the vividly detailed log entries of the U.S. Darién Exploring Expedition, this is a rich, utterly compelling historical narrative that will thrill readers who enjoyed Isaac's Storm, the accounts of the Shackleton expedition, and all similar sagas of adventure at the limits of endurance.
"Synopsis" by , Includes bibliographical references (p. 315-320) and index.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.