We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | June 3, 2015

    Jami Attenberg: IMG Long Live the Queen of the Bowery



    Previous to Saint Mazie, I've only ever written about characters I've made up from scratch before. Then I read an essay by Joseph Mitchell in his... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$2.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

The Calligrapher

by

The Calligrapher Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A modern tale of sexual mores and city life, Edward Docxs brilliant debut is a witty novel of spurned lovers, elaborately planned seduction, plotted revenge, and surprising secrets.

Jasper Jackson is a rapacious heartbreaker who is greatly overdue for a reckoning. He is also a passionate, charming, sophisticated young Londoner, well versed in lifes finer enjoyments — art and wine, great food and engaging friendships — who happens to eke out his stylish existence in the improbable vocation of calligraphy. While working on a commission to transcribe the love poetry of John Donne, he glimpses an alluring woman in the courtyard outside his window. Madeleine is in every way his match — sexy, intelligent, and, above all, elusive. But his mission to seduce her marks the start of his unraveling.

A contemporary comedy of manners for fans of Nick Hornby or Julian Barnes, The Calligrapher dazzles with its acute observations about truth and deceit in the eternal battle of love.

Synopsis:

A modern tale of sexual mores and city life, Edward Docx's debut is a witty novel of spurned lovers, elaborately planned seduction, plotted revenge, and surprising secrets.

About the Author

Edward Docx is the author of the acclaimed The Calligrapher, named a San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of the Year. He lives in London.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780618485345
Author:
Docx, Edward
Publisher:
Mariner Books
Location:
Boston
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
London (england)
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
January 2005
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 0.85 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Door in the Hedge
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. The Kite Runner
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  3. My Year of Meats
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. Anything You Say Can and Will Be... Used Hardcover $4.95
  5. On Chesil Beach
    Used Book Club Paperback $1.48
  6. The Good Doctor Used Hardcover $3.95

Related Subjects

Computers and Internet » Desktop Publishing » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Calligrapher Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$2.95 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Mariner Books - English 9780618485345 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , A modern tale of sexual mores and city life, Edward Docx's debut is a witty novel of spurned lovers, elaborately planned seduction, plotted revenge, and surprising secrets.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.