Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside American Studies- Culture Wars

More copies of this ISBN

The Political Mind: Why You Can't Understand 21st-Century American Politics with an 18th-Century Brain

by

The Political Mind: Why You Can't Understand 21st-Century American Politics with an 18th-Century Brain Cover

ISBN13: 9780670019274
ISBN10: 0670019275
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $9.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In What's the Matter with Kansas?, Thomas Frank pointed out that a great number of Americans actually vote against their own interests. In The Political Mind, George Lakoff explains why.

As it turns out, human beings are not the rational creatures weave so long imagined ourselves to be. Ideas, morals, and values do not exist somewhere outside the body, ready to be examined and put to use. Instead, they exist quite literally inside the brainaand they take physical shape there. For example, we form particular kinds of narratives in our minds just like we form specific muscle memories such as typing or dancing, and then we fit new information into those narratives. Getting that information out of one narrative type and into anotheraor building a whole new narrative altogetheracan be as hard as learning to play the banjo. Changing your mind isnat like changing your bodyaitas the same thing.

But as long as progressive politicians and activists persist in believing that people use an objective system of reasoning to decide on their politics, the Democrats will continue to lose elections. They must wrest control of the terms of the debate from their opponents rather than accepting their frame and trying to argue within it.

This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.

Review:

"Lakoff (Don't Think of an Elephant) harnesses cognitive science to rally progressive politicians and voters by positing that conservatives have framed the debate on vital issues more effectively than liberals. According to his research, conservatives comprehend that most brain functioning is grounded not in logical reasoning but in emotionalism — as a result, huge portions of the citizenry accept the Republican framing of the 'war in Iraq' and 'supporting the troops' rather than liberal appeals and phrasing of 'the occupation in Iraq' and 'squandering tax money.' George W. Bush won the presidency by concocting a 'redemption narrative,' persuading tens of millions of voters that his past moral and business shortcomings should be viewed as a prelude to pulling himself up, rather than as disqualifying behavior. While sections of the book employ technical scientific terminology, the author masterfully makes his research comprehensible to nonspecialists. His conclusion — that if citizens and policy-makers better understand brain functioning, hope exists to ameliorate global warming and other societal disasters in the making — will be of vital importance and interest to all readers. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Smart and provocative-essential reading for political activists and policy wonks of any stripe." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

The New York Times-bestselling author of Don't Think of an Elephant! explains the science behind how we make political decisions.

Synopsis:

A groundbreaking scientific examination of the way our brains understand politics from a New York Times bestselling author

One of the world 's best-known linguists and cognitive scientists, George Lakoff has a knack for making science make sense for general readers. In his new book, Lakoff spells out what cognitive science has discovered about reason, and reveals that human reason is far more interesting than we thought it was. Reason is physical, mostly unconscious, metaphorical, emotion-laden, and tied to empathy-and there are biological explanations behind our moral and political thought processes. His call for a New Enlightenment is a bold and striking challenge to the cherished beliefs not only of philosophers, but of pundits, pollsters, and political leaders. The Political Mind is a passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book that will appeal to anyone interested in how the mind works and how we function socially and politically.

About the Author

George Lakoff is Richard and Rhoda Goldman Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley and Senior Fellow at the Rockridge Institute, a think tank in Berkeley. He is author of Don't Think of an Elephant!, Moral Politics, Whose Freedom?, and coauthor of Thinking Points: A Progressive's Handbook, as well as many books and articles on cognitive science and linguistics.

Table of Contents

The Political Mind

Preface

Introduction: Brain Change and Social Change

Part I: How the Brain Shapes the Political Mind

Chapter 1: Anna Nicole on the Brain

Chapter 2: The Political Unconscious

Chapter 3: The Brain's Role in Family Values

Chapter 4: The Brain's Role in Political Ideologies

Part II: Political Challenges for the Twenty-first-Century Mind

Chapter 5: A New Consciousness

Chapter 6: Traumatic Ideas: The War on Terror

Chapter 7: Framing Reality: Privateering

Chapter 8: Fear of Framing

Chapter 9: Confronting Stereotypes: Sons of the Welfare Queen

Chapter 10: Aim Above the Bad Apples

Chapter 11: Cognitive Policy

Chapter 12: Contested Concepts Everywhere

Part III: The Technical Is the Political

Chapter 13: Exploring the Political Brain

Chapter 14: The Problem of Self-interest

Chapter 15: The Metaphors Defining Rational Action

Chapter 16: Why Hawks Win

Chapter 17: The Brain's Language

Chapter 18: Language in the New Enlightenment

Afterword: What If It Works?

Acknowledgments

Notes

Index

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Eric Hamell, January 14, 2010 (view all comments by Eric Hamell)
Vital reading for progressive activists who want to be more effective. If you hope to change the way people think, you'd better understand the whys of how they currently think. The cognitive science on which this book is based is relevant regardless of how much or little of Lakoff's politics you share.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670019274
Subtitle:
Why You Can't Understand 21st-Century American Politics with an 18th-Century Brain
Author:
Lakoff, George
Publisher:
Viking Adult
Subject:
Government - National
Subject:
Political Process - General
Subject:
Government - U.S. Government
Subject:
Liberalism
Subject:
Conservatism
Subject:
Political Ideologies - Conservatism & Liberalism
Subject:
Cognitive Psychology
Subject:
Progressivism (united states politics)
Subject:
Thought and thinking
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20080529
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
9.24x6.32x1.00 in. 1.11 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Framing the Debate: Famous...
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  2. Thinking Points: Communicating Our... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  3. Don't Think of an Elephant: Know...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. The Political Brain: The Role of...
    Used Hardcover $6.95
  5. What Orwell Didn't Know: Propaganda...
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  6. Whose Freedom?: The Battle Over... Used Trade Paper $8.95

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » American Studies » Culture Wars
History and Social Science » Politics » United States » Culture

The Political Mind: Why You Can't Understand 21st-Century American Politics with an 18th-Century Brain Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Viking Books - English 9780670019274 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Lakoff (Don't Think of an Elephant) harnesses cognitive science to rally progressive politicians and voters by positing that conservatives have framed the debate on vital issues more effectively than liberals. According to his research, conservatives comprehend that most brain functioning is grounded not in logical reasoning but in emotionalism — as a result, huge portions of the citizenry accept the Republican framing of the 'war in Iraq' and 'supporting the troops' rather than liberal appeals and phrasing of 'the occupation in Iraq' and 'squandering tax money.' George W. Bush won the presidency by concocting a 'redemption narrative,' persuading tens of millions of voters that his past moral and business shortcomings should be viewed as a prelude to pulling himself up, rather than as disqualifying behavior. While sections of the book employ technical scientific terminology, the author masterfully makes his research comprehensible to nonspecialists. His conclusion — that if citizens and policy-makers better understand brain functioning, hope exists to ameliorate global warming and other societal disasters in the making — will be of vital importance and interest to all readers. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Smart and provocative-essential reading for political activists and policy wonks of any stripe."
"Synopsis" by , The New York Times-bestselling author of Don't Think of an Elephant! explains the science behind how we make political decisions.
"Synopsis" by ,
A groundbreaking scientific examination of the way our brains understand politics from a New York Times bestselling author

One of the world 's best-known linguists and cognitive scientists, George Lakoff has a knack for making science make sense for general readers. In his new book, Lakoff spells out what cognitive science has discovered about reason, and reveals that human reason is far more interesting than we thought it was. Reason is physical, mostly unconscious, metaphorical, emotion-laden, and tied to empathy-and there are biological explanations behind our moral and political thought processes. His call for a New Enlightenment is a bold and striking challenge to the cherished beliefs not only of philosophers, but of pundits, pollsters, and political leaders. The Political Mind is a passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book that will appeal to anyone interested in how the mind works and how we function socially and politically.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.