Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Agriculture- General

Big Cotton: How a Humble Fiber Created Fortunes, Wrecked Civilizations, and Put America on the Map

by

Big Cotton: How a Humble Fiber Created Fortunes, Wrecked Civilizations, and Put America on the Map Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Cotton has touched off wars and revolutions, inspired astonishing inventions, laid waste to entire ecosystems, and enslaved untold millions of people. Alexander the Great carried cotton cloth on his back from India to Europe. Starting from the late eighteenth century, the fiber transformed creaky rural England into the greatest industrial power on earth. Today, cotton is, if anything, more preeminent than ever and at the center of raging global controversies. Now Stephen Yafa delves deep into the past to tell the amazing story of this humble, infinitely adaptable fiber that has—again and again—reinvented our world.

Domesticated simultaneously in Peru and Pakistan some 5,500 years ago, later a prime motive for the colonization of the New World, as Yafa shows, cotto‛s most profound impact came after the Industrial Revolution. By the mid-nineteenth century, the vast plantations of the antebellum South, the grim mill towns of New England, and the soot-spewing factories of the English Midlands were knit together in a global system of exploitation and enslavement—all of it based on cotton. When Marx and Engels composed The Communist Manifesto, they chose cotton manufacturing as the prime symbol of capitalism run amok. Beautifully researched and written, Big Cotton traces the cultural, economic, and social history of the“worl‛s friendlies” fiber from the kingdoms of Mesopotamia to the Gap.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations. Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating Calvin Klein's empire and the Gap, Stephen Yafa's Cotton gives us an intimate look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution as well as the American Civil War, and that made at least one bug—the boll weevil—world famous. A sweeping chronicle of ingenuity, greed,  conflict, and opportunism, Cotton offers "a barrage of fascinating information" (Los Angeles Times).

Synopsis:

Cotton has touched off wars and revolutions, inspired astonishing inventions, laid waste to entire ecosystems, and enslaved untold millions of people. Alexander the Great carried cotton cloth on his back from India to Europe. Starting from the late eighteenth century, the fiber transformed creaky rural England into the greatest industrial power on earth. Today, cotton is, if anything, more preeminent than ever and at the center of raging global controversies. Now Stephen Yafa delves deep into the past to tell the amazing story of this humble, infinitely adaptable fiber that hasagain and againreinvented our world.

Domesticated simultaneously in Peru and Pakistan some 5,500 years ago, later a prime motive for the colonization of the New World, as Yafa shows, cottons most profound impact came after the Industrial Revolution. By the mid-nineteenth century, the vast plantations of the antebellum South, the grim mill towns of New England, and the soot-spewing factories of the English Midlands were knit together in a global system of exploitation and enslavementall of it based on cotton. When Marx and Engels composed The Communist Manifesto, they chose cotton manufacturing as the prime symbol of capitalism run amok. Beautifully researched and written, Big Cotton traces the cultural, economic, and social history of the worlds friendliest fiber from the kingdoms of Mesopotamia to the Gap.

About the Author

Stephen Yafa, a novelist, playwright, and award-winning screenwriter, has written for Playboy, Details, Rolling Stone, and the San Francisco Chronicle.

Table of Contents

Preface ix

Introduction 1

1. Spun in All Directions 9

2. Star Turns 25

3. The Barber from Preston 39

4. Revolutionary Fiber 70

5. Camelot on the Merrimack 91

6. Looming Conflicts 118

7. Southern Exposure 147

8. Changing Fortunes 173

9. Two-Horse Power 202

10. Boll Weevil Blues 233

11. The Shirt on Your Back 270

12. Fields of Conflict 305

Afterword 338

Glossary 345

Notes 349

Bibliography 375

Acknowledgments 381

Index 385

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670033676
Author:
Yafa, Stephen
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
World - General
Subject:
United States - General
Subject:
World
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Series Volume:
The Biography of a R
Publication Date:
20060627
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
16-page b/w photo insert
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
8.60x5.84x1.39 in. 1.22 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. How YA Livin' New Trade Paper $39.95
  2. Another Bullshit Night in Suck City:...
    Used Trade Paper $9.50
  3. Why Globalization Works Used Hardcover $4.50
  4. Working at Play: A History of... New Trade Paper $56.95
  5. The Women's West Used Hardcover $4.95
  6. The Anvil of the World Used Mass Market $3.95

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Americana » General
History and Social Science » World History » General
Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » Crop Science
Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » General

Big Cotton: How a Humble Fiber Created Fortunes, Wrecked Civilizations, and Put America on the Map Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 416 pages Viking Books - English 9780670033676 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations. Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating Calvin Klein's empire and the Gap, Stephen Yafa's Cotton gives us an intimate look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution as well as the American Civil War, and that made at least one bug—the boll weevil—world famous. A sweeping chronicle of ingenuity, greed,  conflict, and opportunism, Cotton offers "a barrage of fascinating information" (Los Angeles Times).

"Synopsis" by , Cotton has touched off wars and revolutions, inspired astonishing inventions, laid waste to entire ecosystems, and enslaved untold millions of people. Alexander the Great carried cotton cloth on his back from India to Europe. Starting from the late eighteenth century, the fiber transformed creaky rural England into the greatest industrial power on earth. Today, cotton is, if anything, more preeminent than ever and at the center of raging global controversies. Now Stephen Yafa delves deep into the past to tell the amazing story of this humble, infinitely adaptable fiber that hasagain and againreinvented our world.

Domesticated simultaneously in Peru and Pakistan some 5,500 years ago, later a prime motive for the colonization of the New World, as Yafa shows, cottons most profound impact came after the Industrial Revolution. By the mid-nineteenth century, the vast plantations of the antebellum South, the grim mill towns of New England, and the soot-spewing factories of the English Midlands were knit together in a global system of exploitation and enslavementall of it based on cotton. When Marx and Engels composed The Communist Manifesto, they chose cotton manufacturing as the prime symbol of capitalism run amok. Beautifully researched and written, Big Cotton traces the cultural, economic, and social history of the worlds friendliest fiber from the kingdoms of Mesopotamia to the Gap.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.