Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »
  1. $18.90 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Quick

    Lauren Owen 9780812993271

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Picture Books- A to Z

Science Verse

by and

Science Verse Cover

ISBN13: 9780670910571
ISBN10: 0670910570
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: None
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $5.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"Amoeba"

Don't ever tease a wee amoeba
By calling him a her amoeba.
And don't call her a him amoeba.
Or never he a she amoeba.
'Cause whether his or hers amoeba,
They too feel like you and meba.

What if a boring lesson about the food chain becomes a sing-aloud celebration about predators and prey? A twinkle-twinkle little star transforms into a twinkle-less, sunshine-eating-and rhyming Black Hole? What if amoebas, combustion, metamorphosis, viruses, the creation of the universe are all irresistible, laugh-out-loud poetry? Well, you're thinking in science verse, that's what. And if you can't stop the rhymes . . . the atomic joke is on you. Only the amazing talents of Jon Scieszka and Lane Smith, the team who created Math Curse, could make science so much fun.

Review:

"A beautifully designed book — intelligent, irreverent, inviting, and downright irresistible." Carolyn Phelan, Booklist (starred review)

Review:

"A fun read for kids from grade school to college and every science nut in your family." Children's Literature

Review:

"Fans of Scieszka and Smith will be in heaven, but the book will appeal to one and all." School Library Journal

Synopsis:

"Amoeba"

Don't ever tease a wee amoeba

By calling him a her amoeba.

And don't call her a him amoeba.

Or never he a she amoeba.

'Cause whether his or hers amoeba,

They too feel like you and meba.

What if a boring lesson about the food chain becomes a sing-aloud celebration about predators and prey? A twinkle-twinkle little star transforms into a twinkle-less, sunshine-eating-and rhyming Black Hole? What if amoebas, combustion, metamorphosis, viruses, the creation of the universe are all irresistible, laugh-out-loud poetry? Well, you're thinking in science verse, that's what. And if you can't stop the rhymes . . . the atomic joke is on you. Only the amazing talents of Jon Scieszka and Lane Smith, the team who created Math Curse, could make science so much fun.

About the Author

Multiple award-winning author Jon Scieszka grew up in Flint, Michigan, the second oldest and the nicest of six boys. Jon went to school at Culver Military Academy in Indiana where he was a Lieutenant; Albion College in Michigan where he studied to be a doctor; and Columbia University in New York, where he received an M.F.A. in fiction. He taught elementary school in New York for ten years in a variety of positions. He is the author of many boks for children including the New York Times Best Illustrated Book The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales (illustrated by Lane Smith), the Caldecott Honor book The True Story of the Three Little Pigs (illustrated by Lane Smith), and Math Curse (illustrated by Lane Smith).  In addition to his work as an author, Jon also runs a web-based literacy program called “Guys Read” that is designed to encourage boys, particularly reluctant readers, to get involved with books. In 2008, Jon was named the countrys first National Ambassador for Young Peoples Literature, a joint effort of the Library of Congress and the Childrens Book Council. During his two-year role as Ambassador, he acted as a spokesperson for childrens literature, speaking to groups of parents, teachers, and children to encourage the importance of reading. You can visit Jon online at www. jsworldwide.com.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Westernworld, June 21, 2009 (view all comments by Westernworld)
Science verse allows a fun safe enviroment ,fully loaded humorously packed, read within the pages. That sets younsters up for some learning and rythmic fun. Quick study of many science concepts easier to remember.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)
jsweetdrop, June 22, 2008 (view all comments by jsweetdrop)
I love this book. I just found out about it last month in reading class. When I was in elementary school, I used to take the book "Math Curse" out of the school library all the time. Ever since I was little and read that picture book I have developed and continue to enhance a love of literature. I do not possess either of these books but I am going to as soon as I can afford it. I hope that another book comes out for people to enjoy.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 8 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670910571
Author:
Jon Scieszka and Lane Smith
Publisher:
Viking Children's Books
Illustrator:
Smith, Lane
ill.:
Smith, Lane
Author:
Scieszka, Jon
Author:
Smith, Lane
Location:
New York
Subject:
Children's 4-8 - Picturebooks
Subject:
Science
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Poetry
Subject:
Schools
Subject:
School & Education
Subject:
Science & Technology
Subject:
Children s-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback - picture book
Series Volume:
46
Publication Date:
20040931
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 2 up to AND UP
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
40
Dimensions:
11.40x11.24x.47 in. 1.27 lbs.
Age Level:
04-08

Other books you might like

  1. Thanks & Giving: All Year Long Used Hardcover $1.98
  2. The Red Book Used Book Club Hardcover $6.95
  3. The Secret of Castle Cant Used Hardcover $9.95
  4. The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  5. The Voice That Challenged a Nation:... Used Hardcover $4.95
  6. Looking for Bobowicz: A Hoboken... Used Hardcover $7.50

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Humor
Children's » Nonfiction » Science and Nature » General
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
Children's » Picture Books » General
Children's » Poetry » General
Children's » Science and Nature » General

Science Verse Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 40 pages Viking Books - English 9780670910571 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A beautifully designed book — intelligent, irreverent, inviting, and downright irresistible."
"Review" by , "A fun read for kids from grade school to college and every science nut in your family."
"Review" by , "Fans of Scieszka and Smith will be in heaven, but the book will appeal to one and all."
"Synopsis" by ,
"Amoeba"

Don't ever tease a wee amoeba

By calling him a her amoeba.

And don't call her a him amoeba.

Or never he a she amoeba.

'Cause whether his or hers amoeba,

They too feel like you and meba.

What if a boring lesson about the food chain becomes a sing-aloud celebration about predators and prey? A twinkle-twinkle little star transforms into a twinkle-less, sunshine-eating-and rhyming Black Hole? What if amoebas, combustion, metamorphosis, viruses, the creation of the universe are all irresistible, laugh-out-loud poetry? Well, you're thinking in science verse, that's what. And if you can't stop the rhymes . . . the atomic joke is on you. Only the amazing talents of Jon Scieszka and Lane Smith, the team who created Math Curse, could make science so much fun.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.