The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »
  1. $16.77 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Love Me Back

    Merritt Tierce 9780385538077

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z

This title in other editions

Black Dog: A Crime Novel

by

Black Dog: A Crime Novel Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Every once in a while a new writer comes along with the voice, the passion, the originality, and the humanity to become a star. Such a writer is Stephen Booth, whose debut suspense novel Black Dog is already a bestseller in Britain.

It's a long, hot summer in Northern England's Peak District, where police helicopters darken blue skies and drown out the sound of birdsong. Fifteen-year-old Laura Vernon, smart, sexy, and the keeper of many secrets, is missing. Possibly she has run off to London. Possibly she's dead. The police search, the wealthy parents wait by the phone. Detective Constable Ben Cooper quietly dreads the worst.

When retired miner Harry Dickinson and his black Labrador find the body lying in the woods, Harry's strangely obstinate refusal to cooperate with the investigation raises more than a few eyebrows.

What about the parents? Graham Vernon is a man who knows all about secrets. What are he and his glamorous wife holding back?

Ben Cooper, who lives with a personal tragedy and who has known the villagers all his life, finds himself uneasily teamed with an ambitious newcomer, Detective Constable Diane Fry, who has her own secrets. As Ben and Diane begin a complicated dance of suspicion, attraction, and frustration, they discover that to understand the present, they must also understand the past. Loyalty, betrayal, friendship, family — what do they mean, and what happens when loyalties clash?

In the tradition of Reginald Hill, Minette Walters, Barbara Vine, and Peter Robinson, this richly textured, evocative, stylish novel marks the auspicious debut of a major crime-writing talent.

Synopsis:

Every once in a while a new writer comes along with the voice, the passion, the originality, and the humanity to become a star. Such a writer is Stephen Booth, whose debut suspense novel Black Dog is already a bestseller in Britain.

It's a long, hot summer in Northern England's Peak District, where police helicopters darken blue skies and drown out the sound of birdsong. Fifteen-year-old Laura Vernon, smart, sexy, and the keeper of many secrets, is missing. Possibly she has run off to London. Possibly she's dead. The police search, the wealthy parents wait by the phone. Detective Constable Ben Cooper quietly dreads the worst.

When retired miner Harry Dickinson and his black Labrador find the body lying in the woods, Harry's strangely obstinate refusal to cooperate with the investigation raises more than a few eyebrows.

What about the parents? Graham Vernon is a man who knows all about secrets. What are he and his glamorous wife holding back?

Ben Cooper, who lives with a personal tragedy and who has known the villagers all his life, finds himself uneasily teamed with an ambitious newcomer, Detective Constable Diane Fry, who has her own secrets. As Ben and Diane begin a complicated dance of suspicion, attraction, and frustration, they discover that to understand the present, they must also understand the past. Loyalty, betrayal, friendship, family — what do they mean, and what happens when loyalties clash?

In the tradition of Reginald Hill, Minette Walters, Barbara Vine, and Peter Robinson, this richly textured, evocative, stylish novel marks the auspicious debut of a major crime-writing talent.

About the Author

Stephen Booth was born in Lancashire, England, and brought up in Blackpool. A newspaper and magazine journalist for more than twenty-five years, he is now deputy editor of a regional newspaper group and a Web site developer. In 1999, he won the Lichfield Prize at the Lichfield International Arts Festival for an unpublished work of fiction. Black Dog, his first novel, will be published in Germany, Holland, Italy, and Japan, as well as the United Kingdom and the United States. He is now at work on the second book in the series, Dancing with the Virgins. He and his wife Lesley live in a former Georgian dower house in Notting-hamshire. Visit Stephen Booth's Web site at: www.stephen-booth.com

Product Details

ISBN:
9780684873015
Author:
Booth, Stephen
Publisher:
Scribner
Location:
New York :
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Country life
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Detective and mystery stories
Subject:
Peak district (england)
Subject:
Peak District
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Edition Number:
1st Scribner ed.
Edition Description:
SCRIBNER
Series Volume:
RCP131
Publication Date:
20001017
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
9.46x6.35x1.14 in. 1.44 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Night Work Used Mass Market $5.50
  2. Bare Bones: A Novel Used Mass Market $2.50
  3. Fuzzy Logic: Get Fuzzy 2 Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. Mexican Hat Used Trade Paper $5.95
  5. Death and Restoration (Art History... Used Mass Market $5.95
  6. Tularosa Used Mass Market $3.50

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Black Dog: A Crime Novel Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.95 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Scribner Book Company - English 9780684873015 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Every once in a while a new writer comes along with the voice, the passion, the originality, and the humanity to become a star. Such a writer is Stephen Booth, whose debut suspense novel Black Dog is already a bestseller in Britain.

It's a long, hot summer in Northern England's Peak District, where police helicopters darken blue skies and drown out the sound of birdsong. Fifteen-year-old Laura Vernon, smart, sexy, and the keeper of many secrets, is missing. Possibly she has run off to London. Possibly she's dead. The police search, the wealthy parents wait by the phone. Detective Constable Ben Cooper quietly dreads the worst.

When retired miner Harry Dickinson and his black Labrador find the body lying in the woods, Harry's strangely obstinate refusal to cooperate with the investigation raises more than a few eyebrows.

What about the parents? Graham Vernon is a man who knows all about secrets. What are he and his glamorous wife holding back?

Ben Cooper, who lives with a personal tragedy and who has known the villagers all his life, finds himself uneasily teamed with an ambitious newcomer, Detective Constable Diane Fry, who has her own secrets. As Ben and Diane begin a complicated dance of suspicion, attraction, and frustration, they discover that to understand the present, they must also understand the past. Loyalty, betrayal, friendship, family — what do they mean, and what happens when loyalties clash?

In the tradition of Reginald Hill, Minette Walters, Barbara Vine, and Peter Robinson, this richly textured, evocative, stylish novel marks the auspicious debut of a major crime-writing talent.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.