Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$2.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

The Good Journey

by

The Good Journey Cover

ISBN13: 9780743223775
ISBN10: 0743223772
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $2.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Inspired by actual letters, andlt;Iandgt;The Good Journeyandlt;/Iandgt; breathes life into history with a richly imagined chronicle of twenty tumultuous years in the marriage of two American pioneers. andlt;BRandgt; Strong-willed Southern belle Mary Bullitt abandons her life of luxury in Louisville, Kentucky, when she marries General Henry Atkinson and accompanies him to his outpost on the Mississippi. Nothing has prepared her for marriage to this attractive older man — or for the realities of frontier living. Conditions are primitive, Mary knows virtually nothing about her husband, and the threat of attack from Indians is constant. A rough and resourceful general, Henry is engaged in a long and historic clash with a great Native American leader, and his deeply conflicted feelings about Indians mirror those he and his wife have for each other. andlt;BRandgt; In the tradition of Willa Cather and Edna Ferber, Micaela Gilchrist has crafted an exciting novel that is at once a love story and an action-packed depiction of the struggle for the West.

Review:

"Like that very good Civil War novel Cold Mountain...[The Good Journey] tells a historical story through the eyes of a memorable character. An absorbing and moving read." Yvonne Crittenden, The Toronto Sun

About the Author

Micaela Gilchrist is a lawyer who lives in Evergreen, Colorado, in the Rocky Mountains, with her husband and son. She is writing a sequel to The Good Journey.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

bzgreams1, December 19, 2009 (view all comments by bzgreams1)
I have to say this is probably the best book I've read on 19th century America. The writing is so vivid & rich you see the prairie stretch out in front of you. It has an ability to be read over and over again and each time make you notice new things.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780743223775
Author:
Gilchrist, Micaela
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster
Location:
New York : Simon & Schuster
Subject:
West (u.s.)
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Frontier and pioneer life
Subject:
Married women
Subject:
Romance - General
Subject:
Black Hawk
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Series Volume:
107-548
Publication Date:
20021131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Illustrated title page, 1 b/w map
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
8 x 5.25 in 14.35 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Sea Story (Brambly Hedge) Used Hardcover $4.95
  2. The Kingfisher reference atlas :an... Used Hardcover $6.95
  3. Rascal Used Book Club Paperback $2.50
  4. L'America Used Hardcover $9.95
  5. Blackbird House
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  6. Big Stone Gap
    Used Trade Paper $1.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » General

The Good Journey Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$2.50 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Simon & Schuster - English 9780743223775 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Like that very good Civil War novel Cold Mountain...[The Good Journey] tells a historical story through the eyes of a memorable character. An absorbing and moving read."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.