The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $25.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Cross Bones: A Tempe Brennan Novel

by

Cross Bones: A Tempe Brennan Novel Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A gripping and explosive new thriller from internationally acclaimed forensic anthropologist and New York Times bestselling author Kathy Reichs, featuring Temperance Brennan and Detective Andrew Ryan on the trail of a modern murder and an ancient biblical mystery...

When an Orthodox Jewish man is found shot to death in Montreal, Temperance Brennan is called in to examine the body and to figure out the puzzling damage to the corpse. Unexpectedly, a stranger slips her a photograph of a skeleton and assures her it is the key to the victim's death. Before she knows it, Tempe is involved in an international mystery as old as Jesus, and one that could lead to the rewriting of two thousand years of religious history.

As Tempe investigates, she learns that the stranger's picture shows bones uncovered during an archaeological dig. She discovers the Montreal shooting victim ran an import business that just might have been a front for the trading of black market antiquities. Along with Detective Andrew Ryan and biblical archaeologist Jake Drum, Tempe travels to Israel to probe the origins of the skeleton and the ancient crypt in which it was found. Together they make a startling discovery that raises radical questions about Christ's death and places them squarely in the middle of a swirling controversy. Could one of the tombs really be Christ's last resting place? Are the bones in the ancient ossuary the last remnants of James, the brother of Jesus, as the inscription claims? Or has someone concocted an elaborate hoax?

Using her skills as a forensic scientist, Tempe plunges into the most controversial case of her career. The stakes have never been higher — the more she learns, the greater the danger. And though Ryan is sexier and more engaging than ever, he may not be able to protect Tempe in this place where there seem to be so many foes.

Cross Bones, with its lightning pace, intricately plotted story, riveting and state-of-the-art forensic detail, is Kathy Reichs's most compelling and dramatic novel yet.

Review:

"Forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperance 'Tempe' Brennan gets caught in mysteries past and present when she's called in to determine if illegal antiquities dealer Avram Ferris's gunshot death is murder or suicide. An acquaintance of Avram suggests the former: he hands Tempe a photograph of a skeleton, taken in Israel in 1963, and insists it's the reason Avram is dead. Tempe's longtime boyfriend, Quebecois detective Andrew Ryan, is also involved with the case, so the duo head to Israel where they attempt to solve the murder and a mystery revolving around a first-century tomb that may contain the remains of the family of Jesus Christ. This find threatens the worldwide Christian community, the Israeli and Jewish hierarchy and numerous illegal antiquity dealers, any of whom might be out to kill Tempe and Ryan. Not that Tempe notices. She has the habit of being oblivious to danger, which quickly becomes annoying, as does Reichs's tendency to end chapters with a heavy-handed cliffhanger ('His next words sent ice up my spine'). The plot is based on a number of real-life anthropological mysteries, and fans of such will have a good time, though thriller readers looking for chills and kills may not find the novel quite as satisfying. Agent, Jennifer Rudolph Walsh. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"The science is fascinating, and every minute in the morgue with Tempe is golden." Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review

Review:

"Lots of witty dialogue keeps the plot moving along....[T]he novel offers plenty of Reich's trademark humor. That, her attention to forensic detail and the swiftly moving plot...serve to make Cross Bones a riveting thriller, and another likely bestseller for Reichs." Charlotte Observer

Review:

"Reichs devotes too much time at the novel's beginning to technical details, but those who wait out the first few chapters will be pleased by the engrossing story that follows. Recommended." Library Journal

Review:

"[A] fun and interesting whodunit with religious implications but without being preachy or even very religious in nature itself. The writing is solid and the pace is just right....[A] good mix of fiction and nonfiction presenting many alternate theories about the life of the historical Jesus." BookReporter.com

Review:

"Unlike Tempe's previous forays into the world of crime, this episode isn't long on thrills....Yet another read-alike for Da Vinci Code fans." Booklist

Synopsis:

New York Times bestselling author and world class forensic anthropologist Kathy Reichs delivers perhaps her most exciting book yet, set in Montreal, North Carolina and Israel, where a murder in the present lead to a controversial discovery in biblical archaelogy that will have vast implications for the Judeo-Christian world.

Synopsis:

A gripping and explosive new thriller from internationally acclaimed forensic anthropologist and New York Times bestselling author Kathy Reichs, featuring Temperance Brennan and Detective Andrew Ryan on the trail of a modern murder and an ancient biblical mystery...

When an Orthodox Jewish man is found shot to death in Montreal, Temperance Brennan is called in to examine the body and to figure out the puzzling damage to the corpse. Unexpectedly, a stranger slips her a photograph of a skeleton and assures her it is the key to the victim's death. Before she knows it, Tempe is involved in an international mystery as old as Jesus, and one that could lead to the rewriting of two thousand years of religious history.

As Tempe investigates, she learns that the stranger's picture shows bones uncovered during an archaeological dig. She discovers the Montreal shooting victim ran an import business that just might have been a front for the trading of black market antiquities. Along with Detective Andrew Ryan and biblical archaeologist Jake Drum, Tempe travels to Israel to probe the origins of the skeleton and the ancient crypt in which it was found. Together they make a startling discovery that raises radical questions about Christ's death and places them squarely in the middle of a swirling controversy. Could one of the tombs really be Christ's last resting place? Are the bones in the ancient ossuary the last remnants of James, the brother of Jesus, as the inscription claims? Or has someone concocted an elaborate hoax?

Using her skills as a forensic scientist, Tempe plunges into the most controversial case of her career. The stakes have never been higher — the more she learns, the greater the danger. And though Ryan is sexier and more engaging than ever, he may not be able to protect Tempe in this place where there seem to be so many foes.

Cross Bones, with its lightning pace, intricately plotted story, riveting and state-of-the-art forensic detail, is Kathy Reichs's most compelling and dramatic novel yet.

Synopsis:

Bestselling author and world-class forensic anthropologist Reichs pens a tale set in Montreal, North Carolina, and Israel, where a murder in the present leads to a controversial discovery in biblical archaelogy that will have vast implications for the Judeo-Christian world.

About the Author

Kathy Reichs is forensic anthropologist for the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, State of North Carolina, and for the Laboratoire de Sciences Judiciares et de Médecine Légale for the province of Quebec. She is one of only sixty-eight forensic anthropologists certified by the American Board of Forensic Anthropology and formerly sat on the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences. A professor of Anthropology at the University of North Carolina-Charlotte, Dr. Reichs is a native of Chicago, where she received her Ph.D. at Northwestern. She now divides her time between Charlotte and Montreal and is a frequent expert witness at criminal trials. Her first novel, Deja Dead, brought Dr. Reichs fame when it became a New York Times bestseller and won the 1997 Ellis Award for Best First Novel. Death du Jour, Deadly Décisions, Fatal Voyage, Grave Secrets, Bare Bones, and Monday Mourning also became international and New York Times bestsellers. Cross Bones is her eighth novel featuring Temperance Brennan.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780743233484
Author:
Reichs, Kathy
Publisher:
Scribner Book Company
Author:
Reichs, Kathy
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Israel
Subject:
North carolina
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Medical
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Brennan, temperance (fictitious character)
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Subject:
Kathy reichs; temperance brennan; temperance brennan novel; booth; bones; bones tv show; Emily deschanel; david boreanaz; reichs; bones in her pocket; deja dead; bare bones; grave secrets; deadly decisions; bones of the lost; bones are forever; thriller;
Subject:
Kathy reichs; temperance brennan; temperance brennan novel; booth; bones; bones tv show; Emily deschanel; david boreanaz; reichs; bones in her pocket; deja dead; bare bones; grave secrets; deadly decisions; bones of the lost; bones are forever; thriller;
Subject:
; serial killer; forensic evidence; forensics; DC; FBI; investigation; spider bones; patricia cornwell; mary Higgins clark; janet evanovich; homicide; anthropologist; Tempe
Subject:
bones never lie; Kathy reichs; temperance brennan; temperance brennan novel; booth; bones; bones tv show; Emily deschanel; david boreanaz; reichs; bones in her pocket; deja dead; bare bones; grave secrets; deadly decisions; bones of the lost; bones are fo
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
Temperance Brennan Novels
Publication Date:
June 2005
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
9.25 x 6.12 in 19.53 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Manner of Death
    Used Mass Market $3.95
  2. Double Tap Used Hardcover $4.95
  3. Touching Evil Used Mass Market $2.50
  4. Coyote (Carlotta Carlyle Mysteries) New Mass Market $6.99
  5. The 5th Horseman (Women's Murder Club) Used Hardcover $6.50
  6. Crusader's Cross: A Dave Robicheaux...
    Used Mass Market $3.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Cross Bones: A Tempe Brennan Novel Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Scribner Book Company - English 9780743233484 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperance 'Tempe' Brennan gets caught in mysteries past and present when she's called in to determine if illegal antiquities dealer Avram Ferris's gunshot death is murder or suicide. An acquaintance of Avram suggests the former: he hands Tempe a photograph of a skeleton, taken in Israel in 1963, and insists it's the reason Avram is dead. Tempe's longtime boyfriend, Quebecois detective Andrew Ryan, is also involved with the case, so the duo head to Israel where they attempt to solve the murder and a mystery revolving around a first-century tomb that may contain the remains of the family of Jesus Christ. This find threatens the worldwide Christian community, the Israeli and Jewish hierarchy and numerous illegal antiquity dealers, any of whom might be out to kill Tempe and Ryan. Not that Tempe notices. She has the habit of being oblivious to danger, which quickly becomes annoying, as does Reichs's tendency to end chapters with a heavy-handed cliffhanger ('His next words sent ice up my spine'). The plot is based on a number of real-life anthropological mysteries, and fans of such will have a good time, though thriller readers looking for chills and kills may not find the novel quite as satisfying. Agent, Jennifer Rudolph Walsh. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "The science is fascinating, and every minute in the morgue with Tempe is golden."
"Review" by , "Lots of witty dialogue keeps the plot moving along....[T]he novel offers plenty of Reich's trademark humor. That, her attention to forensic detail and the swiftly moving plot...serve to make Cross Bones a riveting thriller, and another likely bestseller for Reichs."
"Review" by , "Reichs devotes too much time at the novel's beginning to technical details, but those who wait out the first few chapters will be pleased by the engrossing story that follows. Recommended."
"Review" by , "[A] fun and interesting whodunit with religious implications but without being preachy or even very religious in nature itself. The writing is solid and the pace is just right....[A] good mix of fiction and nonfiction presenting many alternate theories about the life of the historical Jesus."
"Review" by , "Unlike Tempe's previous forays into the world of crime, this episode isn't long on thrills....Yet another read-alike for Da Vinci Code fans."
"Synopsis" by , New York Times bestselling author and world class forensic anthropologist Kathy Reichs delivers perhaps her most exciting book yet, set in Montreal, North Carolina and Israel, where a murder in the present lead to a controversial discovery in biblical archaelogy that will have vast implications for the Judeo-Christian world.
"Synopsis" by , A gripping and explosive new thriller from internationally acclaimed forensic anthropologist and New York Times bestselling author Kathy Reichs, featuring Temperance Brennan and Detective Andrew Ryan on the trail of a modern murder and an ancient biblical mystery...

When an Orthodox Jewish man is found shot to death in Montreal, Temperance Brennan is called in to examine the body and to figure out the puzzling damage to the corpse. Unexpectedly, a stranger slips her a photograph of a skeleton and assures her it is the key to the victim's death. Before she knows it, Tempe is involved in an international mystery as old as Jesus, and one that could lead to the rewriting of two thousand years of religious history.

As Tempe investigates, she learns that the stranger's picture shows bones uncovered during an archaeological dig. She discovers the Montreal shooting victim ran an import business that just might have been a front for the trading of black market antiquities. Along with Detective Andrew Ryan and biblical archaeologist Jake Drum, Tempe travels to Israel to probe the origins of the skeleton and the ancient crypt in which it was found. Together they make a startling discovery that raises radical questions about Christ's death and places them squarely in the middle of a swirling controversy. Could one of the tombs really be Christ's last resting place? Are the bones in the ancient ossuary the last remnants of James, the brother of Jesus, as the inscription claims? Or has someone concocted an elaborate hoax?

Using her skills as a forensic scientist, Tempe plunges into the most controversial case of her career. The stakes have never been higher — the more she learns, the greater the danger. And though Ryan is sexier and more engaging than ever, he may not be able to protect Tempe in this place where there seem to be so many foes.

Cross Bones, with its lightning pace, intricately plotted story, riveting and state-of-the-art forensic detail, is Kathy Reichs's most compelling and dramatic novel yet.

"Synopsis" by , Bestselling author and world-class forensic anthropologist Reichs pens a tale set in Montreal, North Carolina, and Israel, where a murder in the present leads to a controversial discovery in biblical archaelogy that will have vast implications for the Judeo-Christian world.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.