Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Best Books of the Year | December 9, 2014

    Aubrey: IMG Best YA Fiction of 2014



    So what is with all the hullabaloo about young adult literature these days? Do we have John Green to blame for getting us sucked in to the tragic... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $9.99
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z

Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan Novels)

by

Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan Novels) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

andlt;bandgt;The key to a modern murder lies in the sands of history.andlt;/bandgt; andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt; Examining a badly decomposed corpse is de rigueur for forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan. But puzzling damage on the body of a shooting victim, an Orthodox Jewish man, suggests this is no ordinary Montreal murder. When a stranger slips Tempe a photograph of a skeleton unearthed at an archaeological site, Tempe uncovers chilling ties between the dead man and secrets long buried in the dust of Israel. Traveling there with Detective Andrew Ryan, Tempe plunges into an international mystery as old as Jesus, and centered on the controversial discovery of Christ's tomb. Has a mastermind lured her into an elaborate hoax? If not, Tempe may be on the brink of rewriting two thousand years of history — if she can survive the foes dead set on burying her.

Review:

"Forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperance 'Tempe' Brennan gets caught in mysteries past and present when she's called in to determine if illegal antiquities dealer Avram Ferris's gunshot death is murder or suicide. An acquaintance of Avram suggests the former: he hands Tempe a photograph of a skeleton, taken in Israel in 1963, and insists it's the reason Avram is dead. Tempe's longtime boyfriend, Quebecois detective Andrew Ryan, is also involved with the case, so the duo head to Israel where they attempt to solve the murder and a mystery revolving around a first-century tomb that may contain the remains of the family of Jesus Christ. This find threatens the worldwide Christian community, the Israeli and Jewish hierarchy and numerous illegal antiquity dealers, any of whom might be out to kill Tempe and Ryan. Not that Tempe notices. She has the habit of being oblivious to danger, which quickly becomes annoying, as does Reichs's tendency to end chapters with a heavy-handed cliffhanger ('His next words sent ice up my spine'). The plot is based on a number of real-life anthropological mysteries, and fans of such will have a good time, though thriller readers looking for chills and kills may not find the novel quite as satisfying. Agent, Jennifer Rudolph Walsh. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Lots of witty dialogue keeps the plot moving along....[A] riveting thriller." Charlotte Observor

Review:

"Fans of murder mysteries, detective fiction and forensic drama, as well as those interested in religious fiction, all will find something to enjoy." Bookreporter.com

Review:

"Reichs devotes too much time at the novel's beginning to technical details, but those who wait out the first few chapters will be pleased by the engrossing story that follows. Recommended." Library Journal

Review:

"Unlike Tempe's previous forays into the world of crime, this episode isn't long on thrills....Yet another read-alike for Da Vinci Code fans." Booklist

Review:

"Such bloody good beach reading." USA Today

Review:

"Likely to leave you with the shivers of an ice storm." People

Review:

"The science is fascinating, and every minute in the morgue with Tempe is golden." Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review

Review:

"As good as Cornwell at her best." Detroit Free Press

Review:

"There's nothing like a morgue mystery to brighten up a summer day." Entertainment Weekly

Synopsis:

The key to a modern murder lies in the sands of history.

Examining a badly decomposed corpse is de rigueur for forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan. But puzzling damage on the body of a shooting victim, an Orthodox Jewish man, suggests this is no ordinary Montreal murder. When a stranger slips Tempe a photograph of a skeleton unearthed at an archaeological site, Tempe uncovers chilling ties between the dead man and secrets long buried in the dust of Israel. Traveling there with Detective Andrew Ryan, Tempe plunges into an international mystery as old as Jesus, and centered on the controversial discovery of Christ's tomb. Has a mastermind lured her into an elaborate hoax? If not, Tempe may be on the brink of rewriting two thousand years of history — if she can survive the foes dead set on burying her.

About the Author

Kathy Reichs, like her fictional creation Temperance Brennan, is a board-certified forensic anthropologist for the Laboratoire de Sciences Judiciaires et de Médecine Légale for the province of Quebec, a position she also held at the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, State of North Carolina. She is Vice President of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences and serves on the National Police Services Advisory Council in Canada. A professor of anthropology at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, Dr. Reichs received her Ph.D. at Northwestern University. She now divides her time between Charlotte and Montreal. Her debut novel, Déjà Dead, brought her fame when it became a New York Times bestseller, a #1 international bestseller, and winner of the 1997 Ellis Award for Best First Novel. Break No Bones, her ninth Temperance Brennan novel, is forthcoming.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780743453028
Author:
Reichs, Kathy
Publisher:
Pocket Star Books
Author:
Reichs, Kathy
Subject:
Israel
Subject:
North carolina
Subject:
Medical
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Brennan, temperance (fictitious character)
Subject:
Montreal (quebec)
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
B107
Series:
Temperance Brennan Novels
Publication Date:
June 2006
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
16-pg tsr
Pages:
496
Dimensions:
7.5 x 4.125 in

Other books you might like

  1. Death Du Jour: A Novel Used Mass Market $1.50
  2. Bones: Buried Deep (Temperance... Used Mass Market $2.95
  3. Persuader: A Jack Reacher Novel
    Used Mass Market $3.95
  4. One Shot
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  5. Dirty Blonde Used Hardcover $2.25
  6. Back Spin (Myron Bolitar Mysteries) Used Mass Market $4.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan Novels) Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 496 pages Pocket Star Books - English 9780743453028 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperance 'Tempe' Brennan gets caught in mysteries past and present when she's called in to determine if illegal antiquities dealer Avram Ferris's gunshot death is murder or suicide. An acquaintance of Avram suggests the former: he hands Tempe a photograph of a skeleton, taken in Israel in 1963, and insists it's the reason Avram is dead. Tempe's longtime boyfriend, Quebecois detective Andrew Ryan, is also involved with the case, so the duo head to Israel where they attempt to solve the murder and a mystery revolving around a first-century tomb that may contain the remains of the family of Jesus Christ. This find threatens the worldwide Christian community, the Israeli and Jewish hierarchy and numerous illegal antiquity dealers, any of whom might be out to kill Tempe and Ryan. Not that Tempe notices. She has the habit of being oblivious to danger, which quickly becomes annoying, as does Reichs's tendency to end chapters with a heavy-handed cliffhanger ('His next words sent ice up my spine'). The plot is based on a number of real-life anthropological mysteries, and fans of such will have a good time, though thriller readers looking for chills and kills may not find the novel quite as satisfying. Agent, Jennifer Rudolph Walsh. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Lots of witty dialogue keeps the plot moving along....[A] riveting thriller."
"Review" by , "Fans of murder mysteries, detective fiction and forensic drama, as well as those interested in religious fiction, all will find something to enjoy."
"Review" by , "Reichs devotes too much time at the novel's beginning to technical details, but those who wait out the first few chapters will be pleased by the engrossing story that follows. Recommended."
"Review" by , "Unlike Tempe's previous forays into the world of crime, this episode isn't long on thrills....Yet another read-alike for Da Vinci Code fans."
"Review" by , "Such bloody good beach reading."
"Review" by , "Likely to leave you with the shivers of an ice storm."
"Review" by , "The science is fascinating, and every minute in the morgue with Tempe is golden."
"Review" by , "As good as Cornwell at her best."
"Review" by , "There's nothing like a morgue mystery to brighten up a summer day."
"Synopsis" by , The key to a modern murder lies in the sands of history.

Examining a badly decomposed corpse is de rigueur for forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan. But puzzling damage on the body of a shooting victim, an Orthodox Jewish man, suggests this is no ordinary Montreal murder. When a stranger slips Tempe a photograph of a skeleton unearthed at an archaeological site, Tempe uncovers chilling ties between the dead man and secrets long buried in the dust of Israel. Traveling there with Detective Andrew Ryan, Tempe plunges into an international mystery as old as Jesus, and centered on the controversial discovery of Christ's tomb. Has a mastermind lured her into an elaborate hoax? If not, Tempe may be on the brink of rewriting two thousand years of history — if she can survive the foes dead set on burying her.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.