Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | April 8, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Gabrielle Zevin: The Powells.com Interview



Gabrielle ZevinThe American Booksellers Association collects nominations from bookstores all over the country for favorite forthcoming titles. The Storied Life of... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

    Gabrielle Zevin 9781616203214

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Cooking and Food- Gastronomic Literature

This title in other editions

Caviar: The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World's Most Coveted Delicacy

by

Caviar: The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World's Most Coveted Delicacy Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Cod and Olives: a fascinating journey into the hidden history, culture, and commerce of caviar.

Once merely a substitute for meat during religious fasts, today caviar is an icon of luxury and wealth. In Caviar, Inga Saffron tells, for the first time, the story of how the virgin eggs of the prehistoric-looking, bottom-feeding sturgeon were transformed from a humble peasant food into a czar?s delicacy?and ultimately a coveted status symbol for a rising middle class. She explores how the glistening black eggs became the epitome of culinary extravagance, while taking us on a revealing excursion into the murky world of caviar on the banks of the Volga River and Caspian Sea in Russia, the Elbe in Europe, and the Hudson and Delaware Rivers in the United States. At the same time, Saffron describes the complex industry caviar has spawned, illustrating the unfortunate consequences of mass marketing such a rare commodity.

The story of caviar has long been one of conflict, crisis, extravagant claims, and colorful characters, such as the Greek sea captain who first discovered the secret method of transporting the perishable delicacy to Europe, the canny German businessmen who encountered a wealth of untapped sturgeon in American waters, the Russian Communists who created a sophisticated cartel to market caviar to an affluent Western clientele, the dirt-poor poachers who eked out a living from sturgeon in the aftermath of the Soviet collapse and the ?caviar Mafia? that has risen in their wake, and the committed scientists who sacrificed their careers to keep caviar on our tables. Filled with lore and intrigue,Caviar is a captivating work of culinary, natural, and cultural history.

Review:

"Inga Saffron is a journalist who knows how to tell a story... [her] book that tracks the fate of these fascinating eggs from peasant fare to the ultimate luxury, from the Black Sea to San Francisco, from abundance to near-extinction. Along the way, she introduces scenes and characters with a journalist's passion for detail." Washington Post

Review:

"Fascinating....affecting...Part natural history, part culinary history....a modern parable about greed and loss...Saffron has done a nimble job of dramatizing it in the most vivid of terms, leaving the reader with a understanding of how the fate of a fish has been determined by the vicissitudes of politics and business, by technological advances and shifting cultural appetites." Michiko Kakutani, New York Times

Review:

"Here's whatever is worth knowing about Romanoff and Petrossian and the remarkable history of beluga, osetra, or sevruga eggs, all in this one basket, served with much style." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"In her new book, CAVIAR, Inga Saffron...has done her homework and legwork, and she writes a nice, clear, fleet prose.... This is a dandy book." Richard Lourie, New York Times Book Review

Review:

"Part natural history, part culinary history, part John McPhee-like anatomy, the book not only regales us with the mythology and romance surrounding the delicacy but also turns the tale of a fish and its coveted eggs into a modern parable about greed and loss.... although much of the information in this book...is familiar..., Ms. Saffron has done a nimble of dramatizing it in the most vivid of terms...." Michiko Kakutani, New York Times

Synopsis:

In the tradition of "Cod and "Olives: a fascinating journey into the hidden history, culture, and commerce of caviar.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780767906241
Subtitle:
The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World's Most Coveted Delicacy
Author:
Saffron, Inga
Publisher:
Libri
Subject:
General
Subject:
Essays
Subject:
History
Publication Date:
October 2003
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8.06x5.24x.63 in. .52 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Search for the Giant Squid: An... Used Trade Paper $8.50
  2. Song for the blue ocean :encounters... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. The Work of Wolves Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. Contemporary Photography #3: Sahel:... New Hardcover $74.95
  5. Finders Keepers: The Story of a Man... Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. How the Earth Works: 60 Fun... New Novelty $16.25

Related Subjects

Cooking and Food » Food Writing » Gastronomic Literature
Cooking and Food » Reference and Etiquette » Historical Food and Cooking

Caviar: The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World's Most Coveted Delicacy Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Broadway Books - English 9780767906241 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Inga Saffron is a journalist who knows how to tell a story... [her] book that tracks the fate of these fascinating eggs from peasant fare to the ultimate luxury, from the Black Sea to San Francisco, from abundance to near-extinction. Along the way, she introduces scenes and characters with a journalist's passion for detail."
"Review" by , "Fascinating....affecting...Part natural history, part culinary history....a modern parable about greed and loss...Saffron has done a nimble job of dramatizing it in the most vivid of terms, leaving the reader with a understanding of how the fate of a fish has been determined by the vicissitudes of politics and business, by technological advances and shifting cultural appetites."
"Review" by , "Here's whatever is worth knowing about Romanoff and Petrossian and the remarkable history of beluga, osetra, or sevruga eggs, all in this one basket, served with much style."
"Review" by , "In her new book, CAVIAR, Inga Saffron...has done her homework and legwork, and she writes a nice, clear, fleet prose.... This is a dandy book."
"Review" by , "Part natural history, part culinary history, part John McPhee-like anatomy, the book not only regales us with the mythology and romance surrounding the delicacy but also turns the tale of a fish and its coveted eggs into a modern parable about greed and loss.... although much of the information in this book...is familiar..., Ms. Saffron has done a nimble of dramatizing it in the most vivid of terms...."
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of "Cod and "Olives: a fascinating journey into the hidden history, culture, and commerce of caviar.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.