We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | June 15, 2015

    Matthew Quick: IMG Portia Kane's '80s Metal Mix



    Two of Love May Fail's main characters, Portia Kane and Chuck Bass — now in their early 40s — still love the metal music that was... Continue »
    1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Love May Fail

      Matthew Quick 9780062285560

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse Horror- General

More copies of this ISBN

Dracula's Guest: A Connoisseur's Collection of Victorian Vampire Stories

by

Dracula's Guest: A Connoisseur's Collection of Victorian Vampire Stories Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Before Twilight and True Blood, even before Buffy and Anne Rice and Bela Lugosi, vampires haunted the nineteenth century, when brilliant writers everywhere indulged their bloodthirsty imaginations, culminating in Bram Stoker's legendary 1897 novel, Dracula.

Michael Sims brings together the very best vampire stories of the Victorian era—from England, America, France, Germany, Transylvania, and even Japan—into a unique collection that highlights their cultural variety. Beginning with the supposedly true accounts that captivated Byron and Shelley, the stories range from Edgar Allan Poe's "The Oval Portrait" and Sheridan Le Fanu's "Carmilla" to Guy de Maupassant's "The Horla" and Mary Elizabeth Braddon's "Good Lady Ducayne." Sims also includes a nineteenth-century travel tour of Transylvanian superstitions, and rounds out the collection with Stoker's own "Dracula's Guest"—a chapter omitted from his landmark novel.

Vampires captivated the Victorians, as Sims reveals in his insightful introduction: In 1867, Karl Marx described capitalism as "dead labor, which, vampire-like, lives only by sucking living labor"; while in 1888 a London newspaper invoked vampires in trying to explain Jack the Ripper's predations. At a time when vampires have been re-created in a modern context, Dracula's Guest will remind readers young, old, and in between of why the undead won't let go of our imagination.

Synopsis:

For fans of Bram Stoker and Stephenie Meyer alike comes a scintillating collection of gems from the golden age of vampire stories, written by such luminaries as Edgar Allan Poe, Guy de Maupassant, and Sheridan Le Fanu.

About the Author

Michael Sims is the author of acclaimed nonfiction such as Apollos Fire: A Day on Earth in Nature and Imagination and Adams Navel: A Natural and Cultural History of the Human Form, as well as the editor of several literary collections, most recently The Penguin Book of Gaslight Crime. He lives near Pittsburgh.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780802719713
Author:
Sims, Michael
Publisher:
Walker & Company
Subject:
Anthologies (multiple authors)
Subject:
Horror - Anthologies
Subject:
Vampires
Subject:
Horror tales, English
Subject:
Horror - General
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
20100631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
480
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.50 in

Other books you might like

  1. The Weed That Strings the Hangman's...
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  2. The Fourth Bear: A Nursery Crime
    Used Trade Paper $9.95
  3. The Tower, the Zoo, and the Tortoise
    Used Trade Paper $5.50

Related Subjects

» Fiction and Poetry » Anthologies » General
» Fiction and Poetry » Horror » Anthology
» Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
» Humanities » Mythology » Vampires

Dracula's Guest: A Connoisseur's Collection of Victorian Vampire Stories New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.00 In Stock
Product details 480 pages Walker & Company - English 9780802719713 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , For fans of Bram Stoker and Stephenie Meyer alike comes a scintillating collection of gems from the golden age of vampire stories, written by such luminaries as Edgar Allan Poe, Guy de Maupassant, and Sheridan Le Fanu.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.